Ad-Aware 10 Early Preview

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by phyniks, Jan 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Interesting reading, thanks.
     
  2. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,280
    Location:
    Germany
  3. Cecilia

    Cecilia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Sweden
    Yes, with the much wanted feature:
     
  4. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,047
    Good grief are people still using this..!
    I thought this program had died years ago just like spybot.
    From what i can recall it wasnt a particularly good program then.
    The free product was a complete waste of time as half of the functions did not work.
    I really cannot see this and spybot etc surviving for much longer considering the prevalence of emerging and more advanced malware.:argh: :argh: :ninja:
     
  5. Cecilia

    Cecilia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ad-Aware has changed a lot with version 10, it is now an antivirus program with full real-time protection even in the free version, so you can't compare it with Spybot S&D anymore. It has better test results than MSE regarding Protection in the test performed in August by AV-Test. Even if they have a long way to go before they reach the top, but they trying.
    http://www.av-test.org/en/tests/home-user/julaug-2012/
     
  6. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Yeah you guys needa reach to the top :(
     
  7. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,047
    Thank you for the update.
    I hope ad aware does improve.:thumb:
     
  8. dallen

    dallen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Posts:
    824
    Location:
    United States
    I did not know that Lavasoft was under new ownership. This would be good news in my opinion because the people previously responsible for the management of the company were...well [insert negative adjective of your choice]. That being said, I have to agree that their products are either inferior and/or obsolete. If you want to defeat spyware/malware, utilize sandbox and virtual machine technologies in conjunction with a good imaging solution.
     
  9. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    lol Where have you been, Captain America? :D
     
  10. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,047
    LOL.:D
    To be fair i did use adaware and spybot years ago and they were renowned programs to use.Unfortunately they do not seem to be able to keep up with other products in terms of detection etc.I for one would love to see ad-aware near the top again and i shall keep my eyes on it and see how it progresses.
    Take more than captain america to convince me to use it as of now.lol.:D
    Regards.:thumb:
     
  11. carat

    carat Guest

    How about version 10.3? :doubt:
     
  12. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    I tried 10.3.45.3935, it is fast as they said it is. :)
    Does anyone know if it still uses the Vipre engine?
     
  13. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,766

    Define fast. Are you talking scan speed?
     
  14. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    No, very responsive.
     
  15. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,766
    I just installed in a VM. There's a Sunbelt process running, so yes.
     
  16. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,119
    yeas it still uses Viper
     
  17. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    Ad-Aware 10 claims to have sandboxing in it's free version.

     
  18. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,850
    Hmm, if it's not heavy anymore I could see recommending it in the future, but not until their scores on AV Test improve. It didn't even get certification in the last test.
     
  19. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    For some reason it always performs very poorly when i give it a spin in VM.
     
  20. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,766

    It was flawless for me the other night, but I admit I did not test it a bunch a ton of links. Maybe only 10-15. Web blocker takes care of most. I was a little disappointed with some of its resources usage though. For instance ram use was 80-90 meg.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2012
  21. Cecilia

    Cecilia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Sweden
    See post #103:
     
  22. Pablo87

    Pablo87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    324
    it look like the gdata ui for me
    how is the detection rate?
    is this a high end security program?
    is it strong in protection?

    Regards
     
  23. carat

    carat Guest

    Not just in your tests, it's poor in nearly all tests. :doubt:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.