Ad-Aware 10 Early Preview

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by phyniks, Jan 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,850
    Can someone tell me if this is light, at least compared to the last AdAware? I'd kind of like to recommend this in my top 5 free AVs instead of Unthreat. Both use the Vipre engine but Lavasoft has a trusted name and there were some quirks when I tried Unthreat on a PC.

    Thanks.
     
  2. carat

    carat Guest

    It's lighter than Bloat-Aware 9 ... :)
     
  3. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    I would say keep UnThreat. At this time I find UnThreat overall better than Ad-aware.
     
  4. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,766

    I agree.
     
  5. carat

    carat Guest

    Which features? File protection? Anti rootkit?

    What does "Active Protection" mean? Basic protection?

    A lot of blah but no facts ... :D
     
  6. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    Basic and Advanced Realtime Protection only existed because of the Free version. Now that it includes Advanced Protection, they threw Basic out the window and simply renamed it Active Protection.
     
  7. carat

    carat Guest

    Wow, that's really innovative :D Where can I find a product comparison? :)
     
  8. LS Andy

    LS Andy AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    Gothenburg
    Hi,

    I'm Andy Browne from Lavasoft's Malware Lab.

    Lots of questions and comments - I can help flesh out some of the answers you're looking for. You can ask me in this thread, at Lavasoft's Support forum or on our unofficial IRC channel here (see my signature).

    Andy
    Lavasoft Malware Lab
     
  9. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,806
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Welcome Andy.
     
  10. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,280
    Location:
    Germany
  11. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    Standalone free version installer with this new version or still the 30 day trial & then converts to free version?
     
  12. carat

    carat Guest

    Does it still autoquarantine files without any warning? :doubt:
     
  13. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    Interesting that the change log mentions they are continuing to have it improved so it works with other AVs. I kinda thought they were moving away from the direction but I guess they are still keeping that an option. That would be interesting for the former CounterSpy uses if they can use the free Ad-Aware with their current av to replace the CounterSpy program they use to love.
     
  14. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    It's otherwise a cool app but i really hate this. Also why it keeps on saying that 10.0 is the latest version and not 10.1?
     
  15. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Theres actually an option to change this.. if you look closer....
     
  16. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    It seems like Ad-aware is causing the "No more IRP stack locations" BSOD. Not cool. After uninstalling it, it caused EVERY next security software install to end up with BSOD during installation.:rolleyes: I'm gonna check some more but it looks like Ad-aware is the cause for this dreadful issue.

    EDIT:
    I can confirm this. It's a real pain in the ass especially since Ad-aware installation doesn't make any System Restore checkpoint and you must remember on your own when it was installed so you can restore to the time before its installation. After doing so, installing any other app didn't get any BSOD with the above mentioned error. So the Ad-aware must be the reason for it.
    BEWARE before using Ad-aware!
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2012
  17. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    You should do a restore :thumbd:
    However, this issue didn't seem to happen to me
     
  18. carat

    carat Guest

    According to Lavasoft that BSOD problems should be fixed with version 10.1 :doubt:
     
  19. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    The version i expected it to be downloaded by the web installer but it wasn't. I again got the 10.0 even though 10.1 was already released. Another fail with the darn web installers because you never know what the hell you'll really get. Not to mention the program doesn't make any System Restore points!
     
  20. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,053
    here's a mini review of what 10.1 offers better.Review
     
  21. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    The interface is nice looking, and the detection rates are slowly, slowly getting there.

    I think they have a lot of potential.

    But in my opinion...

    I think the memory consumption is too high (At least in comparison to other security software), and I think it doesn't play nice with the Operating System (My opinion).
     
  22. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Though on-demand Full scan is slow as hell. I mean i have a SSD in my laptop and it still took over 1 hour before i just canceled it because it was taking so long. Others would finish it like yesterday...
     
  23. carat

    carat Guest

    I want to know that too :doubt:

    +1 :thumbd:

    Does version 10.1 still autoquarantine files without any warning? :gack:
     
  24. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,766

    It appeared to in my testing.
     
  25. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    They did pretty well in the last RAP tests though. Actually they have ok memory consumption (only 40mb) and that to now Rams are nothing
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.