ACTUAL difference of Incremental and Differential Bkups ?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Sunshine803, Mar 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sunshine803

Sunshine803 Registered Member

Hi everybody!...
    I am new to the forum which I think is a great source of info for all ATI users. I cannot stop thinking how little I know when I read the comments some of you experts here post. I have been using ATI for a few months, mainly to do total image bkups. I am confused with how ATI works regarding Incr and Diff Bkups.

I think I understand the idea behind both. In Incremental you get the baseline plus several incremental ones (2,3,4 etc). Therefore, if you wanted to get back to the stage you were when you created say no.3, you select no. 3 and your data is restored as at that date. This is why all the incrementals are kept.

In Differential, you get the baseline and one extra, no 2 which represents the changes against the baseline. It says in the manual that with the Diff you cannot recover to any intermediate stage, you HAVE to recover to the latest (or of course to the Baseline).

My questions are:
    1. Why does ATI create Differentials with numbers greater than 2 and also keeps the previous ones?

2. If during a Differential restore I select say no. 3, will I restore to the stage that I created no.3? If so, what is the difference to the Incrementak bkup?

3. In the Help Manual somewhere it states that Differential bkups take up more space than the Incrementals . Shouldn't that be the opposite (if my understanding of the two definitions is right)?

I look forward to your comments. BTW, I think that ATI is a super utility that no PC should be without it. It affords you peace of mind against anything that may threaten tour system and data. Well done to the Acronis Team.

2. Tabvla

Tabvla Registered Member

Hi Sunshine803, Welcome to the Forum....:D