active@ winpe problem

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by zfactor, Aug 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i keep having a issue with the newest version with the winpe disk. i have had this in 4 different machines now. when booting from the disk to do a fresh backup of a new installation of windows/office nothing else to keep aside i get a read access violation message pop up when trying to make a backup. anyone else have this problem or know the cause. ifw, macrium and sp winpe all work fine with the same systems.
     
  2. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I too have this message. I contacted support today, but have no, as of yet, received a reply. The previous version works perfectly fine.
     
  3. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i will email also but please keep us posted if you get a response as i will also
     
  4. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Sure thing. I'm actually relieved to know that there are others having thew same issue with this build.
     
  5. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    Any news on this yet? Interested from the support urgency perspective. (I have a copy of Active@ Boot Disk package.)
     
  6. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    dissapointed actually no responses yet
     
  7. Divenow

    Divenow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Posts:
    37
    I used Active Boot Disk 1 week ago, no problems with it. (Active Boot Disk Suite v5.3.3)
     
  8. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    not sure what the deal is. i have even tested this on a computer at a freinds house with the same error. i have also tried re making new win pe discs just to make sure its not the disk. no way its the system seeing as it does this on 6 different computers tested. the active@ full boot disk works fine (i have both to use) so it has to be something with this newest update causing this. i saw a couple more posts about this on other places also from people saying the same thing. and as n8 said the previous version works just fine no issues. that one was 5.3.1 on the winpe disc version number.

    im actually a bit ~ Snipped as per TOS ~ to be honest that i have not heard anything back from them at all yet not even a response saying they would look into it....
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 20, 2011
  9. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    apologize for the "offensive word" just was a bit upset. also i may switch away from this even though i really like this program..i got what seems to be a canned response so far nothing more
     
  10. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    IMO, this is a serious boo boo on LSoft Technologies part. If they don't provide decent support, why would users buy it? After recently buying/using the Boot Disk product, I was becoming a fan. But if support non-existent, I may have to re-evaluate things... :(
     
  11. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    I (somewhat firmly) rattled the chain to the sales dept of LSoft Tech and got an email reply. They have reproduced the problem in this thread and are actively working on it.
     
  12. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i was about to do the same today please keep us posted
     
  13. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    shame about the delay :ouch:

    even though i dont have any issues with the latest version, i emailed tech support yesterday and pointed them to this thread, they replied to me today asking for any logs that i might have. as i do not have any issues, i cant send logs. could anyone having issues send any related logs they have as that might speed up the fix.

    hopefully it gets resolved soon
     
  14. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i cant even start a backup or restore is the problem so i doubt it will be logged but i will check. all it does is load to the winpe and you click image to disk and go to select the image file and get the error. i will see what logs i have. not thrilled though it took so much to get them to respond imo. terabyte is almost instant when i have a issue. shame since that is why i dropped macrium from my many backup programs. i hope this is not normal from lsoft since i really like active@
     
  15. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Despite the fact that there is an obvious problem with this PE build, I have to say that active @ disk image PE is one of the best I've seen. It allows you tro image servers, which cannot be said for moist imaging applications (unless you buy the server edition). It also gives you a file manager, allowing you to run other portable applications, like Drive Snapshot. The same cannot be said for Easus Todo, Macrium Reflect, or any variation of Paragon's imaging software.

    Still, I wish support was more responsive.
     
  16. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    i will give them the benefit of the doubt regarding their delay in getting back to us on this issue as they are normally pretty quick to respond to me, they were probably inundated with support requests as the issue seems to be widespread.
     
  17. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    I agree that Active@ products are very nice (I bought the Boot Disk because I wanted the entire suite of apps.) After the email response I received yesterday, I'm feeling better about the support issue. Hopefully it will be fixed soon.
     
  18. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    Received an email from LSoft that they have an update to fix the access violation issue for Active@ Disk Image. The new version is 5.1.2 (5.1.1 is still the trial version on the website??)

    They gave me a download link but I am not sure I should post it here?? Safest bet is for anyone who has been a part of this thread to PM me and I will work it out that way...

    Got an updated email and it's ok to post the link. It will be good only for a week or so until they update the website.
    www.activeat.com/DiskImageWinSetup.exe

    Website now updated with the new 5.1.2 version!
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2011
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.