Active Virus Shield, new version released!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by kalpik, May 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. besafe

    besafe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Posts:
    222
    About 2 years ago I reccomended NOD32 to all my family members. Would they be equally protected with AOL AVS?

    My brother comes due for renewal soon. I know he will be asking soon what to do.
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,063
    well active virus shield is kav without pdm or webav.
    so it is very good.
    but now it uses aol servers which are rubbish.
    is he hasnt been infected with nod32 and the renewal is cheap get nod32 again.
    i did find out the other day that drweb is really really cheap and might be worth looking at.
    lodore
     
  3. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
  4. Bluenile

    Bluenile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    UK
    Probably a silly question but why is this just sat on AOL's download server without them bothering to officially release it?
     
  5. acr45

    acr45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    63
    Does anyone know when this will be actually officially released?
     
  6. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Agreed.. AOL update servers are rubbish.. I gave a quick fix on how to use kaspersky servers for updates here. That works quite well! :)
     
  7. KDNeese

    KDNeese Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    236
    I think I found out one reason why. This version is not ready for prime time. I downloaded and installed it, and it completely hosed my Internet connection and caused all kinds of DNS errors. I uninstalled it and reinstalled NOD32, and everything is back to normal. I'm not quite sure if it is adding a bad LSP or messing up the LSP sequence, but there's definitely a problem. Maybe it's different with broadband connection, but it sure didn't work with dial-up.
     
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Kaspersky doesn't use LSP's like NOD32 does... Works np here anyway...
     
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Wtf, i'm typing in browser and burning CD and all the sudden i get Security Center popup that AVS is turned off even though it was still running. Everything started lagging and not responding. omg!?:rolleyes: :eek:
     
  10. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Dunno! Working absolutely fine here! (both on XP and Vista) Did you shift to kaspersky servers?
     
  11. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    How do you switch to Kaspersky servers?It's just that i've never did that before.:rolleyes: Would this method be better than using AOL servers?
     
  12. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Check out kalpik's post .
     
  13. swifty7

    swifty7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Posts:
    23
    do I just add that entry under '127.0.0.1 localhost' or should I replace 'localhost' with 'download.newaol.com'?

    thanks!


    also is this newer version of AVS really worth the upgrade?

    AVS is only free for the first year...correct?
     
  14. Bluenile

    Bluenile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    UK
    Wrong. You can renew the free licence up to 10 times times using the same e-mail address.

    There is no paid version of AVS
     
  15. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    im waiting for the day when AVS is for AOL customers only,

    thats what i would do if i worked for AOL, its still a buisiness
     
  16. Bluenile

    Bluenile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    UK
    That's the day when I go back to using Avast. :D
     
  17. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    DO NOT touch any previous entries!
    Just goto the last line and ADD 127.0.0.1, then press a tab, then type download.newaol.com :)
     
  18. swifty7

    swifty7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Posts:
    23
    thanks!! that's what I did, just added that line without touching anything else.

    this what it looks like:


    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    127.0.0.1 localhost

    127.0.0.1 download.newaol.com
     
  19. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Perfect! :)
     
  20. swifty7

    swifty7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Posts:
    23

    you mean AVS will always be free as long as you keep using different e-mails after the 10 times are up?
     
  21. Bluenile

    Bluenile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, after you've had 10 years free from the first e-mail address just use a different one.
     
  22. swifty7

    swifty7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Posts:
    23

    :eek: GOD! NOOOOO!!!! Don't give them any ideas....PLEASE!!!

    ;)
     
  23. swifty7

    swifty7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Posts:
    23

    SWEET!!! thanks for the info.

    on a side note...how long do you think this freebie is going to last?

    Bluenile, I see in your signature a plethora of AV and Malware utilities, now! do you really use all of them at once or you're just listing your favorites?

    I myself use Kerio and AVS

    avoid Comodo like the plague that is if you want your broadband reduced to the speed of a 56k modem.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2007
  24. Bluenile

    Bluenile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    UK
    Not all at once, most don't normally use any resources.

    EG- At the moment I have running Kerio, AVS and Defender, and Firefox as my browser.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2007
  25. swifty7

    swifty7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Posts:
    23
    yep! my setup is the same except defender.

    what's the best setting for both Kerio and AVS if you don't mind?

    also are you going to keep using the free Kerio lite version after 25 days of full version or are you going to purchase it?
    There's quite a bit of difference between Free and Full version. I might end up purchasing it since I'm very happy with it and I don't want
    the free unsecured version either.

    What do you think?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.