Active Image Protector and Rollback Rx

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Solarlynx, Oct 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,917
    I tried to install Active Image Protector 3.1 free on my comp with Rollback Rx Professional 9.1 and Windows-7 cannot start. It went only to the start repair. Fortunately it was started to the stage when Rollback boot menu appeared and I could go back to the snapshot before the AIP install. I think it maybe some issues with Rollback Rx.

    I have tested a few imaging progs (Paragon, EaseUS, Acronis, Macrium) and never had any such problem.

    Does anybody use the Active Image Protector, esp with Rollback Rx?
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2012
  2. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    USA
    That seems to be the case... http://www.serifwebresources.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=16&forumid=554557

    Also, if you search this forum you will find older threads on AIP that may shed some light on this issue.

    Scott
     
  3. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,054
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Since AIP uses its own special UpperFilter driver to track changes in SECTOR (rather than FILE) utilization, I would suspect a conflict may exist between RBrx and AIP.

    Pick your poison...
     
  4. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    522
    Location:
    NY, USA
    Solarlynx,

    When I was still using Rollback I tried AIP Free and encountered a similar problem. After removing Rollback I again tried AIP and no longer had those issues, but decided against AIP Free because of what I considered to be an awkward boot (recovery) disk. In AIP's favor, I did find that it backed up substantially faster than DS or IFW (both of which I was trialing at the time)!

    Wendi
     
  5. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    522
    Location:
    NY, USA
    TRF,

    Is that to imply that you now consider both AIP and RBrx to be poisonous? :p

    Wendi
     
  6. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,054
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Greetings!

    When used together... yuppers! :eek:

    AIP is very effective in that it uses the same method as RBrx to track sector changes (minimal changes at backup time) but does so in an imaging way rather than a protected snapshot way like RBrx.

    I find RBrx much more versatile and flexible for everyday use, but of course use a good imaging backup to protect myself against the next nasty stage of creepy crawlie evolution. If snapshots weren't important to me, I would seriously consider AIP as an imaging backup solution.

    ...and yea, the AIP BOOT recovery disc does kinda suck.
     
  7. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    453
    Location:
    US
    Thanks RBF :) AIP sector tracking changes is interesting feature. I can see where it would conflict with something like RBrx. For an imaging app to utilize this kind of sector tracking similar to snapshot style apps, I think it is a good thing especially to reduce backup size, etc. I recently tried AIP free, but chose not to install the real time feature, although I can see how it could be of great benefit.

    Thank you for your thoughts on this. :)
     
  8. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,917
    Thank you for your answers. I didn't install AIP as I prefer to keep Rollback Rx. Though I see AIP is a decent choice.

    At other comp I have EAZ-FIX (it's the same as Rollback Rx I guess) and tested how Paragon free restores images. The restored image didn't load completely, only to the stage where Eaz-fix starts, I checked all snapshots how they load. And I found that the snapshots which contain windows update didn't load. All the snapshots before the windows update could load.

    EDIT: I've just looked at the image and found that I've imaged only the system partition and didn't included the "First Hard Disk Track".
    Maybe it happened because I didn't include the "First Hard Disk Track" and it's not the Paragon or Eaz-fix fault?
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2012
  9. The Shadow

    The Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    814
    Location:
    USA
    As I no longer use RB I just tried AIP (free version) and was astonished at how fast it created a backup image, but (as has been suggested by Wendi and TRF) its recovery disk is by far the worst I've ever used!

    TS
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2012
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.