acronis vs ghost compression engine

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by mantra, Dec 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    hi
    i bought ghost 9 , but i tried a trial versione of acronis 9

    i did an image , but i did notice that the compression engine doesn't work well
    i can't see a great different from normal at max
    the acronis image are more more more big then ghost images

    what would i like to know is , is because i have a trial version or because the compression engine isn't good like ghost?
     
  2. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    The trial version is the same program as the paid-licensed version.

    Nice to hear that Norton Ghost has a good comperession engine. AT least their getting something right. ;-)

    sh
     
  3. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    try to a compare with ghost & acronis
    in did a image ,with ghost 1.4 giga with acronis 2.6 !!
    1 giga in less for ghost!
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,798
    Location:
    Texas
    Moved to software and services. Comparison thread.
     
  5. nod32.9

    nod32.9 Guest

    Had TI 6.0 server and the compression was equivalent to Ghost. Unfortunately, I gave up on TI due to the constant tweaking. Again, the tweaks are necessary when you have a program that run in windows.

    The older Ghost runs OUTSIDE of windows, so it is largely immune from these mysterious anomalies. Currently, I'm using the Drive Image 5.0 and Bootit NG. Both are now-windows imaging proggies.

    If you have a decent PC, then the image creation speed should exceed 1.5GB/min. Expect at least 2.8GB/min for the restoration speed. Some applications will ignore the pagefile when compressing. This will result in a smaller image file. The final image size should be roughly 1/2 of the original size at maximum compression.

    For example, DI 5 will compress my 687MB primary active C partition to 345MB. I moved the pagefile to another partition on the HDD.
     
  6. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    by the way i did a clean install of only xp with the drivers , and i did an image with ghost 9 and Acronis 9
    the acronis 9 is bigger then 1 giga!!! is too much
    i used the boot cd to do the image

    i did not found many teaks in the setup of acronis..
     
  7. Pennhaven

    Pennhaven Guest

    I am seeing the opposite. Comparing primary partition backup images for two different PCs. In each case the TI backup image is smaller than the Ghost image.

    Case 1 - TI 9.0/Ghost 9.0: 15.5GB/16.3GB
    Case 2 - TI 9.0/Ghost 8.0: 6.97GB/7.31GB.
     
  8. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    working under windows or with the bootdisk?
     
  9. nod32.9

    nod32.9 Guest

    I've never had to use a boot disc/floppy to run DI 5 or Bootit NG, although I could if there is a need. Perhaps TI is not optimized for this environment. To me, TI is too big and complicated to be ULTRA reliable with the task of imaging data.
     
  10. Pennhaven

    Pennhaven Guest

    TI 9.0: Windows
    Ghost 9.0: Windows
    Ghost 8.0: Boot Disk
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.