Acronis version 9 bootable disk NG

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by prandy, Sep 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. prandy

    prandy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Each time I try to create a bootable CD/R I get an error message "Error burning bootable CD-R/CD-RW". I had no trouble with version 8. What gives?? o_O
     
  2. netlaw1

    netlaw1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Same error here, both as to CD or CDRW. I wrote to tech support but no reply as yet (362064). 24/7 My eye... what did tech support do... take the weekend in New Orleans? :(
     
  3. JustMeI

    JustMeI Guest

    Hello!

    Same problem here. This version is BADLY flawed.
     
  4. Atlast

    Atlast Guest

    My CD-RW burned and booted OK (on a DVD drive)

    Xp Sp2 Home 1 gig RAM

    Have never had trouble burning both CD RW or R with all versions

    Try the open drive trick - leave drive open and let TI close it when you click proceed (I don't have to do this for it to burn)
     
  5. prandy

    prandy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    OK, Tech Support got back to me. You need to open the drive and put a blank CD in it but do not close the drive door. Instead you click Proceed in the software and it closed the door for you and it seems to work. This needs to be fixed so that it works with a CD already in the drive of if you manually close the door.
     
  6. Technic

    Technic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    428
    Does NOT work here. I am glad it worked there.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello netlaw1,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please let me know your Acronis request # which can be found in the subject of the autoreply to your letter? I will find out the reason for the delay.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello prandy,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    I'm glad to hear that your issue has been solved.

    If you want us to change the behaviour of Acronis True Image in any way or add some new features to this product, please feel free to post any of your suggestions in Acronis True Image WISH-LIST thread.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  9. Allen L.

    Allen L. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    335
    Location:
    -Close-
    I've never had any problems with burning the boot CD. Always used a CDR however...why would you want to take a chance with a CDRW is beyond me anyway, as they are so unreliable. Sure wouldn't want to count on one for a critical situation like booting a crashed system!

    Allen
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello JustMeI and Technic,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please try to use the next tips to solve the problem:

    - Eject any disc from the burner prior to starting the application;

    - Proceed until the program asks for a disc and open the tray;

    - Insert a disc and then click the OK button to close the tray automatically as well.

    If that doesn't help then I would also recommend you to update third party CD writing software if any to the latest version available for free on its respective web site.

    Please also note that you should use a blank unformatted CD-R or CD-RW in order to create a bootable rescue disc. Please be aware that this is a normal situation when a DVD writer is shown as a CD burner in Acronis True Image. This doesn't affect the device's functionality and you can use DVD.

    If nothing of the above helps then please also try to create Bootable Rescue CD in Windows Safe Mode.

    If the problem still persists then please create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please also find the full version name and build number as it is shown here;

    Send all the collected files and information to support@acronis.com along with the information about your purchase of Acronis software (order number, e-mail, where did you purchase our product, etc.) and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  11. Technic

    Technic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    428
    Hello!

    No success here. Not even the safe mode enabled. :rolleyes:
     
  12. netlaw1

    netlaw1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Just thought I'd let everyone know the current status. I uninstalled Nero 6.6 and uninstalled Roxio EZ Media Creator 7. Installed EZ Media Creator 7.5. I was able to create the rescue disk. I'm not certain as to the conflict but it seems as if it has to do with a conflict with Nero.
     
  13. Allen L.

    Allen L. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    335
    Location:
    -Close-
    I've never had a problem burning rescue disks to CDR's with Nero v.5.5.10.56. I've never upgraded to v.6 of Nero as I have no need to burn DVD disks. In fact I believe I've used this same version to burn the recovery disk all the way from v.6xx of TI, including v.9 with no problems whatever. (Of course I've had all kinds of problems with v.9 and have gone back to the latest version TI 8.)

    ...Allen
     
  14. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Technic,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    If you cannot create Acronis bootable CD please send PM to me along with the confirmation of the purchase and we will definitely provide you with the iso file.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.