Acronis & VAT

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Biscuit, Jul 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    I recently bought True Image Home & received a bill from Acronis showing VAT charged. The bill did not show a VAT number (as required under EU law) so I email Acronis asking for the number. After a series of unhelpful replies, this is the latest response from Acronis "support".

    Can someone official from Acronis on this site please take the time to explain to the idiot in support that providing a VAT number is not optional?
     
  2. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    It depends where you ordered your TI from, but I think their payments agent handles the VAT. I have just checked this by looking at an invoice (for a license I recently purchased via the acronis site) on the digitalriver.com site. This does show a VAT number.

    F.
     
  3. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Thansk for your reply.

    I bought through the Acronis UK site, so I also paid via Digital River.

    Can you give me the VAT number please? It's a matter of legal public record so is not a security issue.
     
  4. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    You just need to go to their website and log in with with your order number and you can print off a pucker invoice with the VAT number at the top

    F.
     
  5. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    I logged on to the Acronis "My Account" section. There is no facility to download or view an invoice.
     
  6. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    The Digital River site just gives me the unlawful invoice that I already have:

    No Invoice number
    No VAT number

    A complaint email to acronis@digitalriver.com just bounces back:

    Reporting-MTA: dns; mx1.acronis.com
    Received-From-MTA: DNS; smtp.xxxx
    Arrival-Date: Fri, 27 Jul 2007 02:00:36 -0400

    Final-Recipient: RFC822; support@acronis.com
    X-Actual-Recipient: RFC822; newprov@acrostorage.acronis.ru
    Action: failed
    Status: 5.1.2
    Remote-MTA: DNS; acrostorage.acronis.ru
    Diagnostic-Code: SMTP; 550 Host unknown
    Last-Attempt-Date: Fri, 27 Jul 2007 02:00:36 -0400
     
  7. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Sounds like you either haven't logged into your digital river account or, if you have, you have selected "View Invoice" rather than "VAT Invoice".

    Have a look at :
    http://store.digitalriver.com/store/defaults/en_GB/DisplayDRContactInformationPage

    and stop being so angry :rolleyes:

    F.
     
  8. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    I'll try again....

    You're kidding, right?
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2007
  9. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
  10. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.