Acronis Universal Recovery

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by MrChris, Mar 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MrChris

    MrChris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Where can I find information on Acronis Universal Recovery? As far as how it works? Also Is it a Addon to TrueImage 9.1? Is it the same as Omni Restore? How much does it cost can I get it if I already have a license for TI 9.1? And how do I use it?

    Thanks,

    MrChris
     
  2. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    Yes its the same as omni restore and costs 299 dollar.

    You will see it when you buy one of the 9.1 coporate product versions.



    Thanx in Advance
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2006
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello MrChris,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Server Disk Backup Software.

    Yes, jeremyotten is right. I should clarify one thing about the price, it is different for different products. The price is available when you place an order for the product during the purchase procedure.

    Acronis Universal Restore technology provides an efficient solution for hardware-independent system restoration by replacing the crucial HAL and hard disk controller drivers.

    You can find the detailed information about Acronis Universal Restore utility in the respective User's Guide which you can download from the Documentation section of our web site.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  4. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    Is it possible to buy Acronis Universal Restore after you bought True Image 9.1 Corporate products?

    Thanx in Advance
    Jeremy Otten
    Netherlands
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Jeremy,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Corporate Products.

    Yes, it is possible. At the moment, you can purchase Acronis Universal Restore separately only by contacting our Sales Team at sales@acronis.com. However, in the nearest future it will also be available for purchasing as a separate item in Acronis Corporate Online Store.

    Please be aware that there is no point in purchasing Acronis Universal Restore separately if you do not own a corresponding Acronis True Image version. Acronis Universal Restore is distributed as an optional feature and therefore can not be used without having the corresponding Acronis True Image version (component) installed. You can find more information on how to install and use Acronis Universal Restore in the respective Acronis True Image version User's Guide.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  6. dobbelina

    dobbelina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    54
    Scuse me, but what is omni restore ?
    Tried google it, came up dry.....
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dobbelina,

    Please note that Omni Restore was the name of Acronis Universal Restore before its release. You can find additional information about Acronis Universal Restore at http://www.acronis.com/enterprise/products/

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  8. Forellenblau

    Forellenblau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Germany
  9. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    If you have what will now be the 'home' edition of TI, I'd suggest waiting for the new version to become available as an upgrade - just in case AUR is included in some form of cut down version, or if it isn't, even though it now looks as though the engine is going to be the same on the corporate and home versions, there may still be a difference in AUR between home and corp versions.

    I think to answer your other question either the marketing team/website admin have been busy without telling the support team or the buy licence button is for simultaneous purchase of TI9.1corp and AUR - and sales have to be contacted with licence # etc for separate purchase - now that answer was really helpful of me wasn't it? :)

    Colin
     
  10. Forellenblau

    Forellenblau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi!

    I have tried it... The license to buy there (of AUR) is fully functional with TI WS 9.1 english. No problems here. When burning a recovery disk you can include AUR and it is then available on it. Very cool feature!

    Forellenblau
     
  11. Cat-21

    Cat-21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Posts:
    60
    I have also seen this universal restore feature as well at a friends place of business. I actually am going to help test it with him moving servers and workstations to different hardware to see if it works. Stay tuned..........
     
  12. linuxlad

    linuxlad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    14
    Yes, I'm very interested in your results of trying it on different workstations and servers hardware.

     
  13. twincode

    twincode Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Do you have AUR distr? Can you send it for testing?
    To email twincode@netman.ru.

    2 Acronis support team:

    Привет всем, вопрос следующий:
    Имя купленный у вас ATIS 8 как мне затестить вашу новую технологию AUR?
    И после этого принять решение о покупке. Кота в мешке или демо во флеше мало чем устраивают.

    Жду ответа спасибо.
     
  14. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    The problem with Russian is that it's all Greek to me :D

    Sorry - couldn't let it pass.

    Colin
     
  15. twincode

    twincode Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Second part of my message in russian cos many people from acronis support team know russian language.

    P.S. And i only ask about demo version - Acronis Universal Restor.
     
  16. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Erm it was a joke and a play on words of an English saying - OK back to serious stuff now.

    Colin
     
  17. TonioRoffo

    TonioRoffo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    Questions about Universal restore:

    * Is it independent from the backup? For example, can I buy, as a reseller, a TI with Univ. Restore, resell a normal TI to the client and use my license to restore the machine to new hardware if ever there is a problem?

    * Can "old" images built with 8.x version be restored using 9.0 boot disk *and* use universal restore in the process?

    * If it is independent, will there ever be a stand-alone version of universal restore, in the form of a disaster recovery program? (dead hardware, remove disk, build it in another machine, fix HAL & drivers, boot?)

    Thanks for the info.
     
  18. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    1. Officiale the customer has to buy one itself because acronis does not have a technician license.

    2. YES

    3. Its added into the bootcd option of TrueImage 9.1 when you install it.
     
  19. TonioRoffo

    TonioRoffo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    Jeremy, does (3) mean that it's possible to use *without* doing an actual restore?! That would be great for transferring disks to new systems!
     
  20. twincode

    twincode Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    It's very interesting situation 4 me. How can i test this super AUR if acronis have no demo on there site? May be i must by it ,test it and if my servers never up on different hardware acronis corp give me my money back? o_O :thumbd:
    And give money for testing? Beta testing:)
    So i still try to find AUR for test.
    Can anyone help me?
     
  21. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    No the universal restore "Trick" is done after the image restore.

    It cannot be done seperately
     
  22. TonioRoffo

    TonioRoffo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    Too bad...

    But that's not really a problem, one can easily put a disk in a new system, do a backup from bootable CD there and universal restore to a shiny new disk :D
     
  23. live_lwoh

    live_lwoh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    ПРЕВЕД!!! Красавчеги форумщики!!!
    Превед, Американчеги!!

    Американчеги, по-русски?

    Я тоже хочу протестить AUR.

    --
    Medved
     
  24. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello twincode!

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please check your Private Messages.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
  25. MrChris

    MrChris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    I was reading the help docs on universal restore. It says it will search \Windows\INF for drivers for the new system. Is this the Windows\INF folder that is located inside the image itsself?

    If the backup image is that of a AMD system/SCSI and I end up restoring the image to a Intel P4/SATA and the restore is unable to locate drivers it will prompt me for them. If I dont have those drivers handy where can I get them from if they are not in the image? I mean how could I get them into universal restore? If im in the middle of doing a restore and it forces me to find the drivers and I dont have them, then what do I do? If I download them from the vendor how do I get them on the system if the system wont boot?

    Thanks,

    MrChris
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.