Acronis True Image WISH-LIST thread

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Dysthymia, Aug 10, 2004.

  1. Michel Merlin

    Michel Merlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Versailles (France)
    The forum is the last area of truth remaining - don't kill it!

    I agree with most of your points, but firmly disagree with your request of removing the forum. Doing so would remove the only area left where we still see a bit of truth about these products; and Customer Service, then freed from the tiny control it still has, would automatically drop even lower.

    Versailles, Fri 27 Mar 2009 12:03:30 +0100
     
  2. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    A fix is urgently needed to build 9709 True Image Home 2009. Beware of a potential data disaster.

    When editing a scheduled task, if the storage target is not attached & available, TI will switch the backup location target to something that does exist and the user may not have knowledge of the change. This will cause the backup location to occur elsewhere--and possibly append to a wrong backup archive.

    At the very least, the user should be notified very clearly that the backup storage location has been changed. But, why is it changed at all?
    edit-backup_location-new.gif
     
  3. milt2009

    milt2009 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    The possibility to base a backup (incremental or differential) on a full backup that is in another place of the desire backup location. For example, I have a full backup named MyBackupFULL in C:\ drive; want to make differentials backup start from this backup but in the folder L:\. This is very useful for space economy and to preserve a full backup of, for example, first installation of windows. (in case of consolidation and other).

    Thanks.
     
  4. Maxwel

    Maxwel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    I'd like to see default settings for every backup job. For example, the various email settings will probably be the same for every job.
     
  5. Gortzh

    Gortzh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Borrego Springs, CA
    The user interface sucks. Specifically,
    1. The system goes into a "do-nothing" state when Next is pressed.
    2. The Secure zone full warning occurs after the process has been running, so the backup fails to complete.
    3. Remaining time estimates (when and if they finally appear) are inconsistent - progressing from days to minutes!
    4.
     
  6. jldindc

    jldindc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I just purchased a few copies of True Image Echo Workstation through Dell when we purchased our new computers for our office.
    I've updated the TI Echo to build 8206, but VERY disappointed that it cannot notify me of backup operations using an SSL email account. Since we (and many other) corporate clients are now using gmail for business, this is a huge disadvantage to using TI Echo for business. I have no interest in purchase of any other Acronis server products - we are a small business with less than 20 users, and a simple email notification from the Workstation Echo product is all I need.

    Sadly, I see in the forums that the "home" edition of True Image does in fact allow the user to use SSL.

    Sadly, we wont' be buying any more copies of this software.
     
  7. Rogman

    Rogman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    UK
    1. The optional ability to automatically delete logfiles of successful backups
    2. The ability to manually move backup sets to another location and thus force the next differential/incremental backup to be a full one - and not just fail because files are missing.
     
  8. bbarry

    bbarry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    92
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I agree with all your points except number 1. The expertise lies with the forum members, not the incompetent and non-caring Acronis support personnel. When I had a major restore problem a couple of weeks ago, it was members of this forum who helped me recover. I got exactly zilch from the Acronis support staff and/or the program documentation.
     
  9. simonthegeek

    simonthegeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Right here we go:

    1: The 'alternative' bootable media should be available as a download from the website. I have never managed to get any drive to restore using the boot disk included with the product and have to contact support every time for the latest version. Why do this? Just make it available for everyone! Or make the normal one actually work. Or are you too worried about losing all of the support contract/pay per incident money? If I pay £350 for the server product, why should I have to pay another £80 on top just to be allowed to contact support and get a disk that makes the product actually work like it should have done in the first placeo_O! That is a rip off.

    2: Make the restore process less painful and much quicker! Why do I have to wait 4 hours for it to analyse the partitions? Then when it has done that, why do all of the next steps in the process just go dead when you hit the 'next' button for like an hour each time, with no sign of life and no kind of progress bar or even a 'please wait' message. Just seems to hang doing nothing. Not good enough.

    I have now spent 72 hours onsite at my clients premises trying to get a straightforward restore process done. The sales pitch/website makes out that these things can be done in 5 minutes! Rubbish! It would be quicker (and cheaper) for me to reinstall Windows and all the apps from scratch. Doesn't that defeat the entire object of this software?

    Not impressed really, sorry, I want to love it but I can't. Backing up is great, but completely pointless when the restore process is such a nightmare/totally broken.
     
  10. NBAustin

    NBAustin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    OK...how about a backup software package that actually WORKS as advertised?
     
  11. NBAustin

    NBAustin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    "Backing up is great, but completely pointless when the restore process is such a nightmare/totally broken."

    Hear Hear!!
     
  12. dcomiskey

    dcomiskey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I'll jump in and HOPE YOU GUYS LISTEN!

    1) Why is there no option to set the date for an archive to start? I just read one of the support tech's instructions on doing a two-week rotation. How do you do it? Either you have to wait a WEEK to set the second rotation or temporarily change the date and time on the computer. Well, I can't do that on our production SQL/Finance server. That could really mess thing up! Are you kidding??

    A basic "Date to begin" option should be very simple to add.

    2) WHY CAN'T WE APPEND THE DATE AND TIME AUTOMATICALLYo_O Again, this should be a no-brainer option, Wilder. I shouldn't have to go scouring around for third-party scripting utilities to do this.
     
  13. Cape Dave

    Cape Dave Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Amen to default options, such as email, etc. And amen to a backup software that works, and that means restores. How can I sell this to clients if it only restores 50% of the time? I have looked for similar/better software and there are a few out there, but Acronis sure has an advantage in number of users. Anyone have any recommendations as to the most RELIABLE imaging/backup software out there? Dave
     
  14. NHN

    NHN Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Urrrmmmm wish list

    Well only have one wish, I wish for a version that actually works as it advertises it should, since v8-9 I've been using & even with updates issues dont get resolved & new features dont work properly
     
  15. Cape Dave

    Cape Dave Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    1: The 'alternative' bootable media should be available as a download from the website.

    Amen to that.
     
  16. roberts-end

    roberts-end Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    WANTED- Simple option to exclude swap & hibernation files
    Hi,
    I use TrueImage 11 a lot to make full images for program test & development work. Since the PC has 2GB memory, what should be a 1Gb image ends up at over 6GB unless I remember to exclude pagefile.sys and hiberfil.sys.

    Could you either include an option to the list of exclusion options (Exclude all Hidden files, Exclude System files/Exclude files matching..) to exclude pagefile.sys and hiberfil.sys (and possibly temp files & recycle bin), or else arrange for the list to be made sticky when booting from Acronis secure zone?

    I know I'm lazy, but it would be a great help.

    Thanks
     
  17. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Page files and hibernation files are already excluded. Only "Place Holders" are kept so the OS knows where they should be recreated on restoration.

    I have no idea where your 5GB excess is coming from.

    Xpilot
     
  18. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    THat could happen if you inadvertly created files named pagefile.sys or hyberfil.sys that are not the ones actually used by the OS.

    SEarch ALL your drives for such extras, and delete as needed.

    But firt, to identify the pagesfiles being used, run PageFileUsageMonitor.
     
  19. Karl Snooks

    Karl Snooks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    A side-comment: If you do not use the hibernate feature, and many of us don't, you can completely eliminate the hiberfil.sys file.

    The procedure for eliminating the hiberfil.sys file is different depending upon whether you have Win XP or Win Vista. With WinXP you can wade through Control Panel |Power. With Vista, you can run cmd.exe with adminiatrative priveleges and enter following:
    POWERCFG -H OFF
    and hit the Enter key

    To exit from CMD.EXE, type EXIT and hit the Enter key.

    Restart you computer and you should find hiberfil.sys is gone.

    To view files in your root directory with the S (system) attribute,
    Once again run CMD.EXE and :
    C: hit Enter key (assuming C is your drive letter)
    CD \ hit Enter key (ChangeDirectory to the root directory)
    DIR /AS hit enter key (will list all files in root with the System attribute)
    EXIT hit Enter key (to exit from CMD.EXE)


    karl




    karl
     
  20. Martinus

    Martinus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Posts:
    29
    What I would like to have is a full 64bit client of Acronis True Image 2009.

    When I upgrade to Windows 7 in 64bit, I would like to have a 64bit client for it.

    Martin.
     
  21. sneuberg

    sneuberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Back up status in the taskbar notification area

    I would like to see the status of the last back displayed in the taskbar notification area, e.g., green for success; red for failure.
     
  22. MSH

    MSH Guest

    Want to display the performance (xy MB/s) like in ShadowProtect.
     
  23. richardk

    richardk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Please, please provide a way to remove the "Backup" context menu item in the Explorer shell extension!

    This was requested way back in 2003; I can't believe you guys haven't gotten around to it it. I wholeheartedly agree with the original thread:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=180316
     
  24. odns

    odns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I wish Acronis would make a Windows System State backup before it takes a image with out the need for me using a seperate backup program 1st.

    I also wish Acronis would give me the option to commit the exchange logs after making a backup Image.

    Yes, yes- I know that Acronis Exchange backup does this but most of my clients do NOT need to restore individual mail boxes. If they have this need then obviously we use Acronis Exchange.

    If someone know how to manually get exchange to commit the logs without having to run a seperate backup please let me know
     
  25. Mase444

    Mase444 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I wish Acronis would not only support "creating backup upon windows shutdown" but rather that it also allows to define on which days the backups are beeing made.
    For example "Create Backup every Monday and Wednesday upon windows shutdown"