Acronis True Image WISH-LIST thread

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Dysthymia, Aug 10, 2004.

  1. Blitzkreig75

    Blitzkreig75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    Fix the problem of TI suddenly not cloning from Windows.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=162542

    You can work around this problem by booting from a rescue CD, but that's not what the program is supposed to do. I, (and a few others), have had success cloning from Windows until recently.

    Some kind of software/program/update or something appears to be preventing Acronis from loading the required data to perform the cloning when booting from the source HDD.
     
  2. 800ster

    800ster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Posts:
    207
    Currently there is an "acpi=off noapic" workaround required for some PCs.

    Specifically for restoring the system drive there a 3 options:
    1. From Recovery CD - the workaround is to either press F11 to enter the extra parameters or get a fixed CD from Acronis support.
    2. Using Startup Recovery Manager with an edited F11.cfg. This option is no good if you use a 3rd party multi-boot manager as they fight over the MBR.
    3. Restoring through the Windows GUI (and the system needs to reboot to restore) there is no workaround and the system just hangs on rebooting (and there is no way to enter the workaround or get a fixed boot image etc.).

    Option (1) is slow and manual while (3) is by far the quickest and most convenient. My wish would be for an option that can be set to enable this. E.G. an option in the GUI settings that sets "acpi=off noapic" (e.g. switches to use an alternative Acronis boot loader like the alternative CD in 1 does) so that on the reboot the restore can complete.

    I know this has been discussed in the past but I hope this suggestion makes logical sense. Thanks
     
  3. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    One off-topic post removed. Please keep in mind that this "sticky" thread is for requested features etc.
     
  4. KeithP

    KeithP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    I was able to clone a 160Gb drive to an identical 160 Gb drive using TI 10 from XP. It does reboot from the new drive (after changing jumpers on the drives). BUT, it does need a health warning:rolleyes: It takes about 1 hour for every 10Gb to complete the cloning. So be prepared not to use the PC for some time:'(
    It would be very helpful if there was a warning from the program that it can take that long with an option to cancel, even the progress bar has no indication of time as such, only after 5% shows can you work out that it will take 16 hours:mad:
     
  5. mfabien

    mfabien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    227
    Location:
    Montreal
    ...and some say they prefer cloning to imaging for archiving purposes, go figure!
     
  6. KeithP

    KeithP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    I would have liked to image that disk, but since the disk had some bad sectors that was not possible. You need to have some bad sectors before you discover this:( Cloning does have its uses!
     
  7. chrizio

    chrizio Guest

    I would like TI supports file name filters together with backups of complete partitions.
     
  8. chrizio

    chrizio Guest

    My previous wish not realizable.
    Indeed, if TI makes those backups on sector level it isn't possible
    to apply file filters.

    I would then wish user has option to attach to files/directories
    image some boot sectors required for ability to mount the backups.
    Browsing file/dir backups by copying its content is nice
    but not in case of GBs of data.
    Maybe this will be more simple to implement ?
     
  9. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    More off-topic/bashing posts removed. I suppose I'll just ask to refer to my last post.
     
  10. brekelbende

    brekelbende Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    - copying schedules
    - creating media sets/template for scheduling
    - retention period with incremental backups
    - auto date/time format in filename or folder
     
  11. Robasto

    Robasto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    A (afterwards) possibility to add a specific driver when using the rescue disk would be nice.

    Used Norton Ghost 8 before. Worked fine. After renewing my configuration Ghost 8 was not sufficient anymore. Tried several newer (trial) versions of Ghost and PowerQuest without any luck. Creating images worked fine, but when - using the boot cd - the S-ATA drivers seems to be missing. So no possibility for restoring.

    Am trying TI 10 now, but same case. Of the 5 HD’s (1x SATA II, 2x SATA and 2x IDE) I need to address the SATA II disk (WD Raptor). Maybe something like installing a third party driver feature as in WinXP when using the boot cd could do the job?

    If it can be done via BartPE, why shouldn’t be an included TI possibility?
     
  12. keykey

    keykey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    i want support for ati AHCI Compatible RAID Driver
     
  13. drdolittle

    drdolittle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Having an encrypted file to backup, I would like to save it decrypted to insure that I can retrive the data if I lose my credentials (which has happened in the past). This works fine if I schedule the backup, but not if I select "Do not start automatically".

    What prevents supplying credentials in this case? Or why was this option of supplying credentials disabled?

    The reason "Do not start automatically" seems appropriate for me is because there may be many days where there are too few changes to warant a backup.
     
  14. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Not sure I understand your post. ATI allows password protection, but this has nothing to do with encryption. Or, are you saying that you are doing a file backup and you have already encrypted it. If so what does this have to do with ATI?

    More info required please.

    F.
     
  15. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    Add compatibilty with Utimaco Safeguard Easy to your Bartpe plugin
     
  16. juustomies

    juustomies Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    :blink: Please advise an old user of Acronis thinking of buying ver 10: Does this product support producing a bootable dvd with tib files on one disc? I have several machines that could be imaged to a single DVD that is bootable, but I can't make any of the procedures listed in the forums work consistently with ISO files etc as described. I want to work without fuss out of the box. This was on the wishlist in 2004.

    Regards Z
     
  17. Tsu

    Tsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Posts:
    61
    ATI revison and change history

    Alex, why can you folks not put information such as this in the change history instead of these ridiculous comments:

    Better hardware support
    GUI fixes

    and I do mean that changes noted as above are worthy of ridicule.

    ... Love Tsu ... a satisfied user running more than a dozen 8.0.937 Workstation and Server versions, refusing to upgrade to 9 or 10 after frustrated testing, installing, uninstalling resulting in retrofitting 8.0.937.
     
  18. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello juustomies,

    I've replied to the same question you posed in the thread titled <How to create bootable rescue DVD(s):>.

    Regards
     
  19. rpn1000

    rpn1000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Not sure if this was already posted but multiple email addresses supported inemail notificaitons
    <address1@company.com> <address2@support.com> etc.

    And as may others have suggested, more robust support on the bootalbe version.
     
  20. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Have you tried delimiting the addresses (say) with a comma ?
    Shame if they haven't implemented this, it is very straightforward to do.

    F.
     
  21. DavidTyson

    DavidTyson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    So far the ONLY thing I would want to have in True Image which should be there is the ability to manually add drivers onto the bootable media disk.

    That would put the icing on the cake
     
  22. mfabien

    mfabien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    227
    Location:
    Montreal
    You can do that if you create your own BartPE bootable CD with TI plugin. And ATI operates much faster than with the Rescue disk which is Linux based.
     
  23. drdolittle

    drdolittle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Sorry about the confusion. I want to do unscheduled backups of my data which includes an encrypted file. I want it unscheduled because I may not have made enough changes to warrant a backup on a regular schedule. If my system disk dies and needs to be replaced, I could lose my encryption credentials that were on the original disk. If this happens, I may not be able to read my encrypted file. (This has happened to me before.) Therefore, I wanted to take advantage of the option to decrypt my encrypted files before backing up. All of this TI permits unless the "Do not start automatically" schedule option is selected, in which case TI will not perform the decryption before backup. This information is conveyed in a popup window with the following message:

    "You have not scheduled the current task. Also you have selected to decrypt encrypted files before they are backed up. This option will be disabled because during the operation credentials for decryption will be required. If you schedule the task, you will provide credentials and the option will not be disabled. Are you sure you want to skip the task scheduling?"

    Maybe I don't understand why Acronis decided that this action was necessary. But I was wishing that they could explain their reasoning or reconsider and remove this restraint.

    With a scheduled backup, a password must be supplied. However, for an unscheduled backup, the password screen is skipped. (Why?)

    I admit this is a small issue, but it is one I don't yet understand.
    Thanks for your considerations.
     
  24. d.chatten

    d.chatten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Posts:
    115
    Location:
    UK
    I think it would be nice if we could have an option so we can select to reboot our computer in to the recovery consul when we attempt to perform a backup of a HDD/Partition from within Windows instead of performing the backup within Windows (we would then have the choice to backup in Windows or the recovery consul).

    The reason for this is, when a backup is performed from within Windows on a Vista based machine and you then restore the said backup, Windows at boot says that Windows wasn't shutdown properly, but, if you perform the backup from the recovery consul all is well, and you don't receive the said message.

    Also, it would be nice if there was an option to create tasks to perform a recovery, this would make things a lot easier as you wouldn't need to go through all the options every time you need to restore your system from Windows.
     
  25. PastorMichael

    PastorMichael Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Outlook 2007 and the rest of office 2007

    Office 2007, especially Outlook 2007 must be supported soon!o_O
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.