Acronis True Image not Restoring Image

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Davo711, Jul 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Davo711

    Davo711 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    I have created a image of my harddrive to an external drive.
    I then boot the Acronis recovery CD/DVD and choose Full Version
    Recovery-> Restore disks/partitions ->NTFS (C) -> I then choose unallocated space. I have tried both using Active and Primary partition types.

    It just sits there with NO progress....


    What is the go ?

    I also want to be able to backup the drive inc OS to DVD and be able to restore the whole partition from DVD to another drive. That possible?
     
  2. Davo711

    Davo711 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Edit: Should say that i can restore if i boot into windows on the drive im wanting to restore and then go through the same progress. But what happens if the harddrive wont boot and i have to do it all Via the external harddriveo_O
     
  3. Davo711

    Davo711 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Anyone? So i am the ONLY one having this issue?
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    When you boot from the TI CD, have you tried the quiet acpi=off noapic option detailed in Section II of the PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST thread?

    What version and build of TI are you using?
     
  5. Davo711

    Davo711 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks for the reply. Using v9.5.
    I tried that command and still the same result.

    Edit: if i try the quiet acpi=off noapic same result
    If i try acpi=off noapic it loads up a heap of commands and then stops with a command promt
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2008
  6. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Do you have the latest build of version 11?
     
  7. Davo711

    Davo711 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Using build 8072 :thumb:
     
  8. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    8101 is the latest.
     
  9. Davo711

    Davo711 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    I have the latest for the Echo Server Edition. You should not need to have the latest to fix this problem. Surely a program with as many revisions as they should not have such a fundamental problem.
     
  10. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Are you restoring to the same drive or a new blank drive?

    How many partitions on your system drive? Are you doing a disk restore or a partition restore?

    Does your backup image include all partitions on the system disk as displayed in Disk Management? What OS is involved.

    Many, many posters have had difficulty trying to use DVD for their backup storage and attempted restore via a direct burn.

    You should be able to boot from the TI Rescue CD and overlay (restore) a single or multiple partitions; or restore the entire disk.
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Davo711,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Server Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please make sure you use the latest build (8115) of Acronis True Image Echo Server for Windows. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Don't forget to recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    If the latest build doesn't solve the problem, please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will do our best to investigate the problem and provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.