Acronis True Image Home 2009 Startup

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by maxmc, Nov 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maxmc

    maxmc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    I have Windows Vista Home Premium and installed TI Home 2009 on my system. I click on the icon to start my TI2009 and it is taking over 4 minutes to start application. Once it comes up I can close it and when I start it again it comes up immediately. If I restart my computer and try starting app again it is still taking 4 minutes again to start. Anyone having this problem or know what is causing this?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    See if the instructions in this post help. The same problem affects TI 11 and TI 2009.
     
  3. maxmc

    maxmc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    I tried the steps and I am still having the problem. I even did a reinstall with that service disabled and same problem.
     
  4. mranybody

    mranybody Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Posts:
    87
    Hi maxmc,

    I have the same issue. I also disabled "Distributed Link Tracking Client", but there was no improvement.

    Have you seen this thread?

    Are you using Kaspersky Internet Security 2009?
     
  5. dwalby

    dwalby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Posts:
    174
    Location:
    SoCal
    During the 4 minute wait launch Task Manager and see what kind of load is on your system.

    I had this happen to me once with Disk Director, which starts out with the same "analyzing partition" phase as TI (I think that is probably where you are waiting for it to start). In my case the CPU was basically idle, and the memory usage was consistent with nothing running. It took 30-40 minutes to finally launch the tool.

    I haven't seen it happen again since, and that time was immediately after moving a couple of partitions around, so the DLTC theory may have applied in my case since a lot of file references would have changed. I disabled it anyway just in case I move things around again.

    FWIW, I'm running TI11 under Vista Home Premium and also Kaspersky, but KAV2008 not KIS2009. And I've never seen this happen with TI11, just Disk Director.
     
  6. jaystak

    jaystak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Posts:
    48
    Hi there maxmc. I"m having the same problem, as are others. We're working on it on another thread which is here. How about we all post there and hopefully we can come up with a solution :)
     
  7. mranybody

    mranybody Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Posts:
    87
    I've just put some info on the other thread about the startup issue here

    No solution unfortunately.

    Anybody any ideas?
     
  8. mranybody

    mranybody Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Posts:
    87
    Now, some good news (I hope) on the thread mentioned above.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Actually, this issue is too complex and we are unable to provide you with 100% workaround at this step of investigation. However, there are several solutions which may help:

    First of all, please make sure you use the latest build, which is available at our web site . To get access to updates you should first register Acronis software here.

    1. Disabling the Distributed Link Tracking Client as mentioned above (check this thread

    2. Could you please check the disks for errors?

    - Go to the Command Prompt (Start -> Run -> cmd)
    - Enter the command: "chkdsk DISK: /r"
    where DISK is the partition letter you need to check. Please note, that
    checking the C: drive may require you to reboot the machine.

    3. To exclude Windows environment as reason of the issue, please try to perform the operations using Acronis Bootable Media. To create it please follow: Tools -> Create bootable rescue media. Then boot your machine from it and you will be able to use Acronis True Image Home without booting any OS.
    Acronis Bootable Rescue Media is a standalone version of Acronis True Image Home, burned onto a CD and based on a Linux operating system.

    If the issue still persists, please create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Could you please do the following?

    1. For XP family

    - Download and unpack the Device Tree application

    - Run the application;
    - Completely unfold the \Driver\Disk and \Driver\FtDisk branches;
    - Move the margin to the right in order to see all the items;
    - Make a screen shot

    2. For Vista family

    - Download and unpack the Device Tree application

    - Run the application from "i386" folder (run the 64-bit version of Device tree from "x64" folder if you have Windows Vista 64-bit);
    - Completely unfold (click on all plus signs) the \Driver\partmgr and \Driver\volmgr branches;
    - Move the margin to the right in order to see all the items;
    - Make a screen shot

    Please note that the application may crash the system when you exit, so we recommend you to save all your work and close other programs prior to running it.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. To expedite the resolution we recommend you to use our Live Chat service after that. We will do our best to investigate the issue and provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexander Nikolsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.