Acronis True Image 9.1 - Backed up now no programs work!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by briconz, Jul 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. briconz

    briconz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Ok so i made an image of my drive, reinstalled windows, then installed all my drivers and windows update bla bla bla and then it came to restoring my image. i just wanted to restore specific programs so thats what i did, on top of my documets folders etc. but now no programs work, they all tell me that i have missing DLL files or that the program is not properly installed. considering i have about 30 some odd programs, i dont see how i can reinstall them all.

    is there something else i need to restore from my image to make these work?
     
  2. aoz

    aoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    223
    I don't think the problem is acronis.

    When you restore a program folder, that unfortunately does not have the complete program info (if you restored from c:....program files....

    The program files, when you install a program, install to many other folders (system 32, windows, etc), and the registry.

    If you have the image of BEFORE you did a new xp install, I'd restore that image, and then think about what it is that you want to do.
    If it's a new XP install, then you are indeed stuck with probably re-installing teh actual programs.
    There are some software out there that can do drive migration, but that is out of the scope of imaging/backup.

    Hopefully this is of some help.
    Nick
     
  3. dobbelina

    dobbelina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    54
    After your windows re-installation, install all your programs (manually) until you are satisfied this is something you could fall back to in case of system failure.
    Now image this and use as a rescue option if something bad or unforeseen happens.
    If you don't wanna do that, cause you have some proggie that you are missing the installer to etc.
    You can always use the first image you made to return to "how it was" before you re-installed windows.
    You have 2 choices here:
    1. Go back to square one and install the first backup you made.
    2. Re-install windows and all the programs you wanna have, and make an image afterwards

    I'd go with the second choice if possible.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2006
  4. briconz

    briconz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    i had figured that the registry wouldn't be up to date, i was more or less hoping that i wouldn't have to do the inevitable of reinstalling all these programs and then go through the slew of updates most of them require. i still have the old image that i can restore fully, and am debating whether or not to do it... i think i might just reinstall the programs manually, i might be able to ween a few out that i dont need when i go through them all too. it is all probably for the best. and of course ill remember to make an image of the drive immediatly after i have it the way i want it before i do anything else. thanks for the input everybody.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.