Acronis True Image 2009 - Sits at 'Idle' in backup manager.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jackbrennan, Feb 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jackbrennan

    jackbrennan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,

    My system:
    Core 2 quad
    Radeon Graphics in Crossfire
    Windows Vista x64
    6gb Ram
    500gb HD

    AV - Eset Nod32 Smart Security

    Problem: After doing a fresh install of windows enterprise x64 i decided to use the acronis software to do a FULL backup of the HD so i can restore when i want. But when i tell acronis to do i full backup the backup sits in the manager with status IDLE and will not start (I left it there while i went to work and when i came home it was still sitting at idle).

    I right click the task and click start, and it still wont start. I tried to reinstall the application and i still recieved the same problem.

    Any suggestions as to what might rectify this issue.

    Thank you

    Jack.
     
  2. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    One first place to start would be to test the TI Restore CD by performing a full disk backup when booted from the CD. If the CD does not work, you are unable to restore your system when needed. Make sure the CD is functional.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Jack and GroverH,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Jack, what is the build number of the program? The list of the latest builds is available here

    If you already have the latest build please do the following:

    Please make sure that Acronis Scheduler2 Service (Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services) Startup Type is set to Automatic. Otherwise, please set it to Automatic yourself and reboot your computer.

    Also, you can do the following:

    - Download the file;
    - Start the Command Prompt from Start -> Programs -> Accessories menu;
    - Run the following commands in the folder you saved the file to:

    schedmgr task zap
    schedmgr service stop
    schedmgr service uninstall
    schedmgr service install
    schedmgr service start

    This should delete all Acronis scheduled tasks on the PC.

    You should manage your scheduled tasks from the scratch.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  4. mprezgot

    mprezgot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Kingston, ON CANADA
    Are you starting ATI from within Standard User Account (only providing Administrator's password when UAC asks for it)?
    If so I might be able to provide a solution.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.