Acronis True Image 2009 Beta

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Modred, Aug 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for that, got it :)
     
  2. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    Any reason why not to install this in Vista alongside ATI 11?
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,485
    Location:
    California
    Even if it would install properly while TI 11 is installed (which I doubt), it's not a good idea to have two versions of TI installed at the same time. It would also not be a good test of the program because conflicts could arise that would not have if installed by itself.
     
  4. WFO

    WFO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    First, I would like to remind everyone any and all bug reports, comments and suggestions should be sent to Acronis via this e-mail:

    ATIH2009beta@acronis.com

    Any comments here appear to be in violation of the EUE. :eek: I know. I know. Almost no one reads them. :D I didn't read this until after posting in another thread on the subject. :(


    "The enclosed Software is Confidential Information. Licensee will not disclose Software or any comments regarding Software to any third party without the prior written approval of Acronis. Licensee will maintain the confidentiality of Software with at least the same degree of care that you use to protect your own confidential and proprietary information, but not less than a reasonable degree of care under the circumstances. Licensee will not be liable for the disclosure of any Confidential Information which is: (a) in the public domain other than by a breach of this Agreement on Licensee's part; or (b) rightfully received from a third party without any obligation of confidentiality; or (c) rightfully known to Licensee without any limitation on use or disclosure prior to its receipt from Acronis; or (d) independently developed by Licensee's employees; or (e) generally made available to third parties by Acronis without restriction on disclosure."

    Perhaps this thread should be closed unless Acronis Support says otherwise. ;) Follow the same steps with regard to System info in Windows, the Acronis report Utility and problems with the rescue media in this post for your initial report...

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=55317

    That is the best way to make sure your hardware is supported in Acronis 2009. :cool: Let's help them get this one right the first time. :thumb:
     
  5. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    976
    Do most users know what a tib file is? Most freeware decompressors can handle rar files already, and they could easily include a basic rar decompression tool. Rar is more robust and compresses better.
     
  6. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.

    To my mind this EUE is actually for their normal beta testing regime, as beta testers are not supposed to make themselves known around this forum. However, it would seem to me that writing comments here, is slightly different in this particular instance as the beta is public, whereas normally the beta is restricted and private.

    My two bobs worth.

    Colin
     
  7. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    I'm with Bodgy on this one. :thumb:
     
  8. tuttle

    tuttle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    376
    That's a spurious comment. They don't need to know anything about tib files, since the ATI backup tool they purchased creates and manages them without issue. Users don't need to find a separate tool to handle the TIB files, since ATI takes care of them. The issue under discussion is what other format ATI could create. I believe they made a good decision by choosing the well-known and well-supported ZIP.

    I don't know about "most". My tools don't handle rar; I need a separate tool for rar. Moreover, many versions of Windows handle ZIP archives natively without need of a separate application. Even if RAR has some technical advantages, ZIP is a better choice from the customer perspective.
     
  9. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    976
    If the backup tool handled rar, they wouldn't need to know anything about rar files, since "since the ATI backup tool they purchased creates and manages them without issue". Nothing else handles tib files either, so your argument doesn't hold water.

    Data integrity is a much more important issue than whether there are more freeware tools that can handle the format. All Acronis has to do is include a basic unrar utility and the issue is moot.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2008
  10. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    I created an image of my XP system partition from XP and stored it on an external drive. I then tried to initiate a restore from XP, but on reboot I got a fatal error - Boot drive (partition) not found. Press Enter to try to boot your OS... Fortunately XP did reboot when I pressed Enter.

    I then tried to boot to the rescue CD, but in Full Mode I got 'Unable to load initial ramdisk', and in Safe Mode it booted but couldn't see the external drive.

    As has been said, the user interface needs a bit of attention too.

    I hope Acronis isn't considering dropping this into the marketplace just yet ....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.