Acronis True Image 11 Last version

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by prattjo, Jul 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. prattjo

    prattjo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Why does the program take so long to start up, it seems it is frozen but at last startsup after more then 2 minutes. The system is Windows Vista Business SP1. Thanks
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Is it scanning the drives while it appears frozen?

    Acronis True Image sometimes takes a long time to scan the drives on the computer. In some cases, this can be over 30 minutes. However, at the end of that time, it works normally. The cause has often been found to be the Windows XP and Vista "Distributed Link Tracking Client service."

    To fix the long time to analyze partitions, you can disable (or set to manual) the Distributed Link Tracking Client service as described in this post (https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showp...&postcount=11).

    The Distributed Link Tracking Client service has no use unless you are on a network controlled by a domain controller computer such as in large organizations.
     
  3. tuttle

    tuttle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    376
    Are you sure? I read on some support sites that it also maintains links and shortcuts to files within a computer, so that if you move the file the link or shortcut will still work.
     
  4. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    I don't think that is correct.

    By default, this service is disabled in Win XP Home because Home cannot be used on a domain controller network. It is set to Automatic by default in XP Pro which is where the problem comes up with TI on some systems.
     
  5. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    It's only on networks and then, only those that acutally implement the service -- most don't.

     
  6. tuttle

    tuttle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    376
    If that is so, then there are a lot of help sites that have inaccurate information.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.