Acronis True Image 11 build 8053

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Thamuz, Nov 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    The new change log is interesting.

    The above entry is a little annoying.

    I just did an experiment. I used Control Panel/Add remove Programs to uninstall the following programs in the order listed:

    1. Disk Director Suite 10.0. Rebooted. (I removed this program because it also depends on the Acronis snapman service.)

    2. TI 11 build 8053. Rebooted.

    3. BartPE Plugin add-on for TI 11.

    4. Safe Media add-on for TI 11. Rebooted.

    I did see some improvement in what was removed, but the uninstaller still needs serious work. Following is a list of the services used by TI 11:

    1. AcrSch2Svc. (The scheduler service was removed.)

    2. tdrpman. (The Try&Decide service was removed.)

    3. snapman. (The Snapshot Manager service was left running. Snapman UpperFilters were left in place.)

    4. tifsfilter. (The TI File System Filter service was left running.)

    5. timounter. (The TI Mounter service was left running. The timounter UpperFilters were removed.)

    Leaving the snapman service installed has been a very big problem. Not all uninstalls go the same way. Sometimes snapman.sys gets removed from C:\Windows\System32\Drivers, but the registry entries are left behind. This causes Windows to fail to boot with a BSOD. If you don't understand the problem, it is very difficult to figure out and correct. The snapman service will also conflict with Shadow Protect causing a BSOD during SP backups. Uninstalling True Image should fix the problem, but it does not. The snapman service has to be manually removed. If you don't do it properly, you get a BSOD on Windows boot. I understand that removing snapman is a more difficult because DD also uses the service. However, leaving snapman running when DD in not on the system is a very bad practice.

    The Backup location registry key at HKCU\Software\Acronis\Fomatik\PlaceBrowser\FavoritePlaces was left in place. This is an effort to keep backup locations if you decide to reinstall True Image 11. The problem is that leaving this behind has been known to cause many problems with Backup Locations.

    I'm sure tons of other registry entries are also being left behind, but these are the important ones.
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    mustang, could you please submit an official request for technical support with the subject indicating that you want to contact Alex Bogomolov. Please save Windows System Information on your machine after the uninstallation of Acronis True Image 11 Home Build 8053, attach it to your request and provide the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem in order to forward it to our development.

    Thank you.

    Best Regards,
    Alexey Bogomolov
     
  3. TonyDownUnder

    TonyDownUnder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    I must say that I am astounded by the response of Alexey to Mustangs post.

    It is self evident is it not? The uninstaller doesn't uninstall the program elements. I had the same problem when uninstalling 8027 from Vista. The "leftovers" prevented Windows from booting even into safe mode.

    I must say that I am entirely unimpressed with TI11 in all respects. I bought it after trialling TI10 which was both faster and lighter.

    Check the forum - it has major problems.:mad:
     
  4. Ritchie

    Ritchie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Posts:
    4

    Indeed TI11 does have major problems, Acronis knows it, we know it, but all that is offered is to submit support tickets. I know that by doing this it may in the future assist Acronis producing a product that could actually do what they say it will, but I have lost all faith/trust in True Image period, and for that matter Acronis other products as well, shame because once there was no better champion of Acronis than I.

    I work in the IT business the same as a lot of members on this board. I am asked constantly what kind of product would be in my professional opinion to use in this set of circumstances or to perform this task. When once I advised Acronis for OS image backups and ease of use, what do I tell them now, I wonder. Could I in all honesty tell them to use TI and consequently lose professional respect, even get myself sued and lead them to this farce? I think not.

    I come here in the last gasp hope that in lieu of any form of refund from Acronis they might just put out an update that will do what it sez it will.

    I have stopped using TI on any production machine and run it on a spare machine for testing purposes, and it will be a long time before I ever trust/purchase/champion Acronis again. I suspect many others are of the same mind set.

    Cheers

    Ritchie
     
  5. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    I have similar incomplete-uninstall problems with Adobe programs, like Acrobat, and Nero, and a number of others. Installing and uninstalling big programs is just one of the more embarrassing parts of the "state of the art" in computer programming for home and small business users.

    One thing that helps an uninstall to get all or mostly all elements is to stop any services and processes that are running that are related to the program before doing the uninstall -- you'd think that the uninstaller would take care of this, but there you go. This doesn't always ensurethat the installer/uninstaller will get everything (and even avoid having to reboot in many cases to finish the uninstall) but it often. MUI registry entries and HKCurrent User entries aren't something to be concerned about.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2007
  6. Bubba1

    Bubba1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    Deep Woods
    Well, I just arrived for information on build 8053, which I'd just prior discovered and downloaded.

    I see.

    I will continue to use v10 .. (though I'm also using DriveImage XML and, very much, like it)

    You know, I've done this in a cart pre horse sort'a manner. I purchased v11 not long after release, then came here BEFORE attempting it's install. A good thing. I've never installed my purchased build 8027 .. now I won't install 8053. Must admit, it's a first for me.

    I'm sorry, I can not afford to beta test on my single machine that is, very much, depended upon. So, I'll check back on how you guys are fairing in another few months.

    edit: an omission .. I intended to also say thanks to those of you still hanging in there, like hairs on a biscuit, beta testing for all those like me!
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2007
  7. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    By George they've got it.

    ISO 11.8052, which reportedly has some things not included in 8053, works on my Intel raid. This is the first iso, out of 8027, 8040, 8048, 8053 and finally 8052 that works on my machine and it uses the newer linux loader that works. Methinks they are getting closer, however - - -

    I was encouraged enough to backup my system disk and then purge ATI 10 and install 11.8053 and give it a spin. Full disk backups worked okay but I couldn't get a My Data backup to run if it had more than a few directories or very few files -- otherwise it did a total hang at about 240kB. I tried diff directories, I tried setting the write speed slower, I tried all kinds of stuff for several hours. No dice.

    So I ended up doing a restore of the disk back to how it was with ATI 10 on it. With 10, I can backup and restore disks and files--since I can't wtih 11, I can't have it on my machines.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2007
  8. controler

    controler Guest

    I just reformated and did a fresh Windows install with all updates.

    I did not have the USB removal problem untill I created a secure zone.
    That is when the problem occurs on my system.

    I insert USB stick
    then when done using the stick
    I click the removal tray icon
    click stop
    then get an exception error every time.
    An exception occured while trying to run shell32.dll, Control_RunDLL hotplug.dll

    Is anyone else seeing this.
    I on a Dell Demension 4600
    Windows XP with all updates and no other programs installed whatsoever.
     
  9. wokoenig

    wokoenig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Posts:
    49
    Hello Forum,
    does somebody know if the new update does now work fine with try&decide and a program with needs to reboot after instrallation.
    In the older Version it doesn`t do.

    Arrg..hope that my old english teacher does not read my text:)

    6- setzen:blink:
     
  10. controler

    controler Guest

    With this build , 8053 if you are running try & decide mode and reboot, The program youn installed will be gone, unless you set to save changes.
    That is why you can't really test a program that requires reboot with try & decide active.
    I should say, if you reboot yourself, you will get a pop up from ATI asking to keep or remove changes, I don't know if a program that you installed wll give the pop up when it reboots the system.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 22, 2007
  11. mango

    mango Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Posts:
    82
    so should stay with 10 4942 , and does 11 work fine with older backups?
     
  12. wokoenig

    wokoenig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Posts:
    49
    Hi controler,
    thats exactly the problem of TI 11 Try&Decide that a reboot give me only the choice between "Keep the change or loose the change".

    What says the support here about this old problem?
     
  13. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    It appears to happen on some machines that have had ATI 11 installed or recoveries done with ATI 11. I haven't ever created a secure zone except on a test machine and that'snot hte only one with the prob. Whatever it is, it isn't necessarily assciate with the secure zone.

     
  14. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  15. jwerh

    jwerh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1
    I will submit the stated requested items, but why does Acronis Disk Director Suite detect the hard drives (RAID 0+1 with Promise card), and TruImage Home does not detect ANY drives?
     
  16. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    They have different Linux kernel drivers!

    Weird I know!


    Colin
     
  17. port50side

    port50side Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=176066

    Controler -

    Check out this thread re your USB issue particularly the page 2 comments.

    In my case a repair install of Windows XP took care of the issue.

    Let us know how you get on.

    Acronis Support is still trying to replicate the problem however it seems to be happening quite regularly on user's systems.

    Regards
     
  18. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    It seems to have happened on only a handful of systems -- only 3 or 4 reports afaik on this forum -- so it must be relatively rare. So far the only sure fix is either a repair install of windows (which, of course means hundreds of updates have to rerun) even if you've slipstreamed sp2 onto you windows install disk. Personally, I'd rather live with the error messages.

    Or alternatively, Controller's method in the thread port50side noted above (viewing hidden devices and updating the storage devices, generic drives) works and doesn't requires massive updating to the system files.

    Those device drivers would also get updated in a windows repair install and I suspect that its the generic drive drivers that are at the heart of the issue -- these drivers include drivers ATI installs.

    I wonder, if you do a repair install, does the problem recur if you restore again with ATI 11? I'd have to install ATI 11 again to find out.

    Anyway, thinking about it a bit more. the ATI drivers listed after the attempted update under device manager appear to be the same as those listed before the update -- which suggests the problem has to do with how the drivers are installed and not the driver files themselves -- something in the registry when ATI installs.


    sh
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2007
  19. srdgeo

    srdgeo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,

    Over the weekend, I updated from build 8027 to 8053 but now, doing a "My Data" backup of the C drive hangs halfway through the backup process and requires the process to be killed via Task Manager.

    I've uninstalled, reinistalled, uninstalled, reinstalled repeatedly both 8027 and 8053 and the hang during a "My Data" backup of the C drive only occurs with build 8053. Build 8027 works fine. This is with WinXP and backing up to an external USB drive with the contents of C being about 7 GB with the resulting backup archive being about 2.6 GB.

    Has anyone else seen this problem or can anyone else duplicate this problem?

    Steve
     
  20. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    I have the same problem. I tested that build and found that full backups worked but the MY data backups hung like old sausage on a hot summer day.
    About halfway through it froze so badly, I had to use Win Task Manager to stop the TrueImageHomeServcie.exe process. Normal methods would not work.

    Tech Support asked me to try the snapman install, but I couldn't get that to work wither. Now they're trying to figure out why snapman.mis isn't working for me. If you contact TechSupport, you might get the snapman.msi and it might work for you. Worth a try.

    BTW, after testing, I used ATI 10 to restore my disk to pre-ATI 11 condition and I continue doing backups, full disk image and My data with ATI 10.
     
  21. Marty1024

    Marty1024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    London
    Confirmed. Mentioned this [thread=188421]here[/thread] as well but nothing has come of it :(

    All I can add is that this happens even when backing up a single file! I'm just glad it was only a trial...
     
  22. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Yes. It's not a particular file that hanging things up--that much has been confirmed.
     
  23. svcdesk

    svcdesk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    hello.
    i tried acronis 9 on an xp system. it failed a bunch, i figured it was because it was old...
    i received acronis 11 as a gift today and was very excited as i was told it was very good software.

    So i had just finished a clean install of xp with nothing but hardware drivers installed. I install acronis 11... i install the most recent updates online, and I finally able to create a full backup!
    everything was going great!. So i'm going through the software and decide to try out the secure zone thing... so i followed the wizard and created a secure zone, having left a partition the same size as the partition i wanted to backup.
    this is on an IDE drive. It makes the partition, and creates a secure zone with success. i follow the wizard to make the backup. I do a restart and get the following message...

    Acronis Loader Fatal Error
    Boot Drive (partition) not found
    press [enter] to continue with os..
    :blink:
    i hit enter and the same message keeps appearing.
    i go into bios... the drive and partitions are still there.
    i do another restart... same error.
    :ouch:
    I do a restart with my acronis boot disk.
    same message.
    o_O

    it took doing another reinstall to fix everything...
    now i have a nice clean install... and still, a need to create a reliable disk image... but now i am afraid of this software.
    which seemed to work for a basic disk image... but i guess i need to stay away from the secure zone feature?
    o_O
    any suggestions?


    thanks much.

    svc
     
  24. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    SZ crippled my Vista system and had to be removed. So did Startup Recovery Manager. Now I just use ATI 11 in manual mode and that's ok - no nasty side effects.
     
  25. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    The SZ was an excellent feature in the days when an external usb drive was out of reach for most people. Now that they are so cheap, using the SZ is like playing russian roulette unnecessarily. Combine that with the poor rendition of version 11 and you have the makings of a disaster.
    So keep it simple, keep it safe ... don't use the SZ, get an external drive for your backups and use the Rescue CD for your basic Backup, Recovery, and Clone functions.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.