Acronis True Image 10.0 just released

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by hardhead, Oct 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Olderthanthat

    Olderthanthat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Australia
    I bought TI 9 TODAY as a download, and paid for it through Digital River by credit card. I hope I can get a free upgrade to TI 10, as it looks like 9 was already out of date when they collected my cash...
     
  2. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Hi Olderthanthat

    they normally honour a free upgrade if you have bought the previous version within 30 days before the new was released.

    However you will have to badger them for it - they won't come and offer it to you.

    F.
     
  3. Olderthanthat

    Olderthanthat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks foghorne for the good advice. I'll be nice I promise, at least at first.
     
  4. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967

    I hope that the fixes won't be just:

    - Better hardware support
    - GUI fixes

    :D :D :p :p
     
  5. aussiegtc

    aussiegtc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Olderthanthat,

    I purchased TI V9 about 10 days ago. You're entitled to an upgrade to the new version if you bought an older version in the last 30 days.

    Just drop an email to support and they'll send you a license key for a free upgrade to V10. Just register the serial number they provide you and download the upgrade.

    I haven't tried V10 yet, but hope the bug in V9 that corrupted file restores when booting from CD and restoring to a different location has been fixed - I'll report more this weekend when I get home and test.

    Hope this helps.
     
  6. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    i unfortuneatly bought ti9 home in november last year & have been awaiting the promised fix for sata2 drives, now less than a year later i am being asked to pay yet again for an update to the new version. does it even support sata2? anyone within their year of purchase should get a free upgrade. :( the 30 day limit is derisory and insulting.

    <snip>

    not a happy bunny right now.

    <snip>

    edited to remove excessive bashing/speculation - Detox
     
  7. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    It's not uncommon for software makers to come out with new versions annually. A years allawance to a free upgrade would put a real dent in revenues.

    For any software I am considering purchasing, I look for the releease date of the curently available software and then decide if I want to wait until 12 months formthat date to buy or to buy now. If they have a grace period for free upgrades, that makes the decision easier.

    sh

     
  8. trydit

    trydit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Are all the features advertised for V10 really new? ...non of them on V9?
     
  9. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Can anybody point me to where the limitations of the trial version can be found?
     
  10. 660207

    660207 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Germany
    German Version
    You can test it 15 days
    You can't create images with the rescue CD
     
  11. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Looks like same as previous versions.
     
  12. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Thanks. I couldn't find anything on the site. I think this will be risky enough as it is.
     
  13. 660207

    660207 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Germany
    You're right. They forgot this information.
    Welcome to another round of Beta-testing called 10 :D
     
  14. br1229

    br1229 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    I am waiting to see if anyone from acronis is going to respond. Surely they must be reading this. I, for one, would like to hear what they have to say for themselves. Maybe they just don't care.

    br1229
     
  15. Crappopotamus

    Crappopotamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    Illinois
    After just buying Ti9 Home a little under 3 months ago and finding the SATA thing as well (and not fixed), I'm just a little warm about the situation myself.

    C'mon in Acronis Rep we know you frequent here.
     
  16. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Perhaps the support team are on 'FAQ's' course on TI10, else how would they be able to even attempt to answer problems. They may also be getting up a database of problems and will answer in bulk once a 'swathe' have appeared.

    Colin
     
  17. Crappopotamus

    Crappopotamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    Illinois

    I was referring moreso to the fact that many of us bought this VERY recently, some have unresolved issues and now we're told to upgrade to 10 for $29.99 with no guarantees of anything it seems.
     
  18. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,820
    Location:
    Canada

    I bought ATI 9.0 6-7 weeks ago, and I for one will not spend $29.99 for something that should be a UPDATE.:(
     
  19. Mascot

    Mascot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    64
    I hear you. I actually snorted when I realized it was a "major version update" at a price of $29.99. Luckily it has zero features I need, and I'm not bothered by any of the TI9 bugs.

    I do know I'll look very hard for alternatives to ATI if I ever move to Vista and need a new piece of software for compatability. They haven't exactly impressed me with professional behaviour when it comes to quality control, user interface design etc.
     
  20. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    I'm sure I've read here that some have True Image running on Vista. I'm almost tempted to try it myself if it weren't for the size of the Vista download.
     
  21. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Hi Ralphie,

    sorry if I have the wrong end of the stick, but isn't that the point - i.e. V10 is intended to be Vista compatable.

    F.
     
  22. It'sme

    It'sme Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    Middle Earth, NZ
    Just got this in overnight...

    I didn't have to badger them. Good on ya Acronis ..:cool:
     
  23. AlaninKY

    AlaninKY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    14
    Does True Image 10 work? Any bugs?:blink:
     
  24. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,909
    Location:
    USA
    I feel the same way, and I don't mind TI9s bugs that much.
     
  25. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Well one would certainly hope so ... but we know the track record of these products, don't we. :cool: :cool:
    Come on Vista users ... let's hear from you.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.