Acronis TIH 2009 build 9646 Vista Bug?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dlevens, Nov 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dlevens

    dlevens Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    I have a problem on my Vista machine where .tib files are not associated with any application. As a result if you double click a .tib file you get the standard Vista prompt that no program is associated with this file type.

    If you run Acronis and right click on the backup image and choose explore you get an error "This file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action. Create an association in the Set Associations control panel."

    On my XP system .tib files are associated with explorer. I have already tried associating .tib with all of the various acronis .exe's and also with explorer.

    If you associate .tib with explorer your system will no longer boot. All attempts to associate it have failed.

    So I have uninstalled several times, including uninstall and reboot and then deleting all folders and registry entries and reboot and install from scratch.

    I have a case open with Acronis but so far they have not been able to help.

    Dennis
     
  2. dlevens

    dlevens Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    bump

    am I the only one using vista? Or the only one using vista with this problem?
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I have not run into that problem on any of my TI 2009 Vista installations. Have any other programs ever shown any association problems?
     
  4. dlevens

    dlevens Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    No this is the first for me on this Vista box. Also, I have no idea how to fix it. .tib is associated with explorer on my XP box and setting it to explorer on my Vista box made it no longer bootable.

    Dennis
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dlevens,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Could you please let us know your Acronis request number (e.g. [Acronis #123456]) which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? We will find out how the investigation of your issue is going. If you have not received an autoreply then please send us a Private Message containing your e-mail address.

    From the issue description it seems that shell extensions are not installed properly.

    The following registry keys are related to Windows shell extensions used by Acronis True Image:

    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.tib (refers to tibfile)
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\tibfile
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\tibfile\Shell\open\command (file association)
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\tibfile\ShellEx\ContextMenuHandlers (refers to the context menu handler)
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{C539A15A-3AF9-4c92-B771-50CB78F5C751} (the handler)
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers\{C539A15A-3AF9-4c92-B771-50CB78F5C751} (the handler)
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\.tis (refers to tisfile)
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\tisfile
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\tisfile\Shell\open\command (file association)

    Please check that those entries are created properly after installation. If some are missing, please make sure that the corresponding branches have proper permissions set by right clicking on each and choosing "Permissions". Administrator and System accounts must have "Full control" set for those branches. After setting the proper permissions, please uninstall the program, reboot the computer and install again.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.