Acronis TI Home 2009 Cannot Backup

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by longbelly, May 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. longbelly

    longbelly Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    This is becoming a regular thing - trouble installing the software and creating a rescue disc and now I cannot create a backup.

    I have the latest build of Acronis on a Vista PC and a Buffalo External 500GB HDD reformatted to NTFS

    Whenever I try and create a backup I get the following error message "Failed to execute - error 1364 - A specified authentication package is unknown (0.FFF0)"

    I've already had to dig in my BIOS, don't tell me I now have to dig in the registry - never dared to do that!!?
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Since True Image is known to be very picky when it comes to hardware, I would do a chkdsk /r on the drive and maybe also a memory check. The consensus here is that you might have to run the memory check, using memtest, overnight for any errors to show up.

    Don't know what else to suggest. Are you trying that backup from within Windows or from the Rescue CD?
     
  3. longbelly

    longbelly Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    I have been backing up from the Acronis Windows installation
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    In that case, try it from the bootable CD.
     
  5. longbelly

    longbelly Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    I have now grasped the nettle, taken the bull by the horns and entered the unknown realm of the registry - carried out an edit as per the link below - and I can now create backups without a problem. Acronis is now back in my good books!!

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/887493
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello longbelly and DwnNdrty,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    longbelly, to resolve the issue please re-start Acronis scheduler, it appears that the scheduler service has been installed improperly.

    - Download a special Acronis utility;
    - Start the Command Prompt from Start -> Programs -> Accessories menu;
    - Run the following commands in the folder you saved the file to:

    schedmgr task zap
    schedmgr service stop
    schedmgr service uninstall
    schedmgr service install
    schedmgr service start

    This should delete all Acronis tasks on the PC. You should manage your tasks from the scratch. Execute a backup operation and see if the issue remains.

    If the issue persists, please download Acronis Scheduler, which is a special utility to update the scheduler service. The link is available here

    Extract the downloaded file, run install.bat and wait for the process to be completed. The utility will automatically update the service. Reboot the computer and re-create the task. The issue should be resolved.

    Please let us know the results.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  7. longbelly

    longbelly Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Thank you but does this mean I should not have edited the registry (as reported in my last post).At a loss to know what to do, I raised a websupport case with Acronis Support and that is what they told me to do - ie: edit the registry. I thought that had solved the problem?
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2009
  8. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    If it's working now, I'd leave it at that and be glad a single registry entry did the trick. the kin doferror message you had points toward the registry fix anyway.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.