Acronis TI Home 2009 - All Backups Fail

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by gwwishart, May 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gwwishart

    gwwishart Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    After 2 weeks of working, backups suddenly kept failing with error relating to volume of backup drive being unavailable - retry/cancel etc.

    Deleted all backup files and tasks, and now completely unable to do any backups (even first system state backup). Backups fail at end of Stage 1 - "Creating Image"

    Error message is simply "Operation Failed", log gives 2 following lines:

    "Operation with partition "2-0" was terminated. |Details:|MFT bitmap corrupted (0x7001:cool:| Tag = 0x89D94B01B483E192"

    "Operation has completed with errors"

    Formating backup drive F: and restarting has no effect.

    Any ideas please? Currently running Build 9709.
     
  2. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    Welcome to the forum.

    After no backups for 2 weeks I would want a backup.

    So I suggest that before anything else you do a backup using the Acronis boot disk. Doing a backup outside of windows will isolate any problems caused by windows.

    Do this first and see if this works.
     
  3. gwwishart

    gwwishart Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Exactly the same problem when trying to do the backup from the boot disk - "Backup Operation Failed" window message, with same error event in the log.

    Anything else I can try? Backup drive is a 5 month old Iomaga 500GB External model on USB 2.0. I used to run EMC Retrospect (free with the drive), but started to get backup fails on that also, so moved to ATIH2009.

    Hardware problem?
     
  4. Joa

    Joa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Do you have checked both (all) drives - the Source- and Targetdrive; e.g. with 'Chkdsk'?
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image Home 2009

    Acronis Bootable Media detects Iomega REV drives as CD/DVD drives, which are available only for read access. Iomega REV drives use a UDF file system. Linux kernel used in Acronis Bootable Media (full version) does not support writing to a UDF file system.

    Thus, you can only restore a backup archive from an Iomega REV drive, but you cannot save it there. When running Acronis products in Windows, Iomega REV drives should be available both for read and write access.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  6. gwwishart

    gwwishart Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Hi,

    Binned the Iomega drive and replaced with a Seagate external eSATA drive.

    More issues unfortunately. Windows and ATIH recognise the external drive, and the system backup and a further incremental backup worked, but when I tried to run ATIH to check on settings, it flashes an error message at the initialisation phase advising that it cannot read a file on the external F: drive. I have to abort the process, and the F: drive then vanishes from Windows explorer, and even unplugging and replugging won't make it re-appear.

    Restart PC and can log back in to ATIH, but home page shows that a System Volume Backup has not been done and displays a red icon. Log shows last incremental backup has completed successfully, but calendar shows today's incremental backup as a "Blue" scheduled task, not a "green" successful one.

    What's wrong with this program? That's 2 separate issues on 2 completely different installations, with 2 completely different external hard drives.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello gwwishart,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    To resolve the issue please re-start Acronis scheduler:

    - Download a special Acronis utility;
    - Start the Command Prompt from Start -> Programs -> Accessories menu;
    - Run the following commands in the folder you saved the file to:

    schedmgr task zap
    schedmgr service stop
    schedmgr service uninstall
    schedmgr service install
    schedmgr service start

    This should delete all Acronis tasks on the PC. You should manage your tasks from the scratch.

    If this doesn't help, please re-new the archive database. Acronis True Image Home 2009 creates the archive database file upon the first startup. Information about every backup created with Acronis True Image Home 2009 is recorded into this database. The database file is named archives.xml and is located in:

    Windows 2000/XP: Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Acronis\TrueImageHome\Database

    Windows Vista: Program Data\Acronis\TrueImageHome\Database

    Delete the archives.xml file and use "Browse for backup" button to add the archives to the database. See if the issue remains.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.