Acronis TI 10 Rescue disk will not find drive.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by M_H, Sep 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. M_H

    M_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    12
    Hello,

    I just picked up a Toshiba Satellite M305D-S4831 laptop running Vista Home Premium 64 bit. The processor is an AMD Turion X2 RM-70.

    The version in question is the latest build for TI 10 (4942).
    After wiping all the junk off the system, I tried to boot from the rescue disk to create an image. Once TI booted and loaded, the following error was returned:

    E000101F4: Acronis True Image Home has not found any hard disk drives.

    Installing TI 10 in windows went fine, as did the subsequent image created to a network drive. Boot disk (created on laptop) will still not find the drive.


    The same thing happened for Disk Director Boot Disk 10 (E000101F4: Acronis Disk Director Suite has not found any hard disk drives.).

    Any ideas?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Martinez

    Martinez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Most probably your rescue disk have problem with hard disk controller. Probably he cannot load working driver. Standard rescue disk is based on Linux system and there is a lot of problems with working drivers or other conflits. Solution for you is contact with support team, they should provide you rescue media working with your PC.
     
  3. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    The Rescue disc for ver 10 will not see some Sata drives. You can download the Trial of version 11, make the bootable CD and see if that boot cd will see your drives.

    BUT, if it does and if you do not want to keep ver. 11 on your system, (since it is only a Trial), be sure to create a Windows Restore point before you install ver 11. After you make the ver 11 boot cd, uninstall ver 11 via the Control Panel/Add Remove Programs, run the Windows Restore point you made, then re-install ver 10.

    You can then continue to make Backups with ver 10 and do Restores with the ver 11 boot cd.

    Many users prefer to use Version 10 over Version 11 as their installed software.
     
  4. bbent

    bbent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    You might want to read the thread for my problem, which is similar to yours: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=1314533#post1314533

    Good Luck,
    bbent
     
  5. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Acronis has to die one death...
    They choose Linux with the rescue-CD. That is ok but the users must be aware that newest hardware is not supported.

    In that case I prefer to create a BartPE-Boot-CD with the plugins from Acronis (Ti) and the member 'Mustang' (DiskDirector).
    They works fine and prevent to the case that the old Linux-Kernel does not recognise new hardware.

    BTW:
    But what I cannot understand is that Acronis doesn't provide their products with the newest Linux kernel.
     
  6. M_H

    M_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks to all who have answered. After reading some of these posts, I realized that I had not tried the Safe Version option. When I did, I found that both DD and TI now recognize the drive.

    That said, I always thought that the Full Version had more driver support, thus, if the FV didn't work, the SV wouldn't work either?

    Again, thank you for your responses.
     
  7. M_H

    M_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    12
    As an update, I found that the Safe Version of the v10 boot disk would not recognize the DVD drive or network. Acronis chat was able to provide me with a boot disk that will recognize the drives and DVD, but still does not recognize the network shares.

    I guess I can live with that, as the restore from DVD drive was the most crucial issue.

    Thanks for all your inputs!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.