Acronis Support Website is NOop?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Tom Brown, Sep 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    The latest public released English language build for TI v11 is 8101, dated 3 July 2008.

    Colin
     
  2. LaryW

    LaryW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Yes, I know that's what the web site says now, but I know it announced an update that was going to be released Sept 14th at 10pm EDT. That announcement is no longer there.

    Also, support said the system state backup problem had been fixed and I asked in a reply on 9/12 if I should just wait until the 9/14 update as it might fix my problem. Their reply was to continue with creating the reports they needed.

    Lary
     
  3. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    871
    Actually, I saw that too. However, it was for the new website...and that is still not working!
     
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    it is getting very close to October/November time, I doubt that there will be a public release of a new build of TI 11 (apart for special builds for some people) unless TI 12 (2009) goes very wrong, or it going to get a longer test period than previous versions.

    Colin
     
  5. CAOgdin

    CAOgdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    87
    Okay, it appears to be working as a site this morning. I was able to "re-register" with their clumsy procedure, and to find my products.

    However, instead of showing TrueImage 10 update as "N/A" it says, "Get Update," and then you discover they're getting you to download TrueImage 11...for which your license is not valid.

    Overall, a much, much poorer support experience.

    For instance, in the list of product/license/action-button, they don't SHOW the build number you're about to download (which, in fact, you may already have). You have to first "Get Update" then read the file name to see the build number to decide whether to "Save" or "Cancel."

    Did the people to design this site even BOTHER to test it against real customers?
     
  6. Forellenblau

    Forellenblau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Germany
    Have i to reenter all my sn's?
    That's really not what i expect from a website update!

    And where are the entries for older Acronis products? TrueImage 10,9,8...

    Forellenblau
     
  7. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    CAOgdin and Forellenblau after you have logged in are you clicking on "Registered Products" as shown in the screen shot, this what gets you to the updates and re-download section of those products you have registered. This works on the UK site!
     

    Attached Files:

  8. 357mag

    357mag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Posts:
    59
    Yeah I noticed also that my registered products have disappeared. But I just re-registered and they are back again.

    Sorry to hear so many people have had nightmares using Acronis. So far for me it's worked quite well.

    At the moment I'm trying a trial version of Norton Ghost 14 just to see how well it would work. But you must use a Recovery CD with that. It's not optional like Acronis is. So if the trialware does not include the ability to burn a Recovery CD, then I will be less than satisfied.
     
  9. Forellenblau

    Forellenblau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes, that's right, but in the European Sites you'll get the License Server version of Echo WS. That's not the solution i want.
    Well it must be possible for Acronis to get work their site :mad: .

    One more thing:
    I changed the password on the US-Site to login. This password doesn't function with all other sites, including Australia, UK, Germany and so on.
    It seems that the US-site is split off from the other sites and have not the same database as the others. Why ever...

    Forellenblau
     
  10. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    I'm really surprised that they've been mucking about with the servers they use for the public without having made the server update bullet-proof first on another machine. This has been going on for what a week or two? Whoever is at the helm at Acronis must be asleep -- isn't htat the kindest interpretation? How could he let the company operate this way? Acronis used to have the best reputation in the business for this class of software.
     
  11. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    Which one is asleep, perhaps they all are link Unless they all have been watching by the financial situation in the US and elsewhere.
     
  12. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Follow the link supplied by Kron.
    https://www.acronis.net/my/index.html

    If you have already registered, login in using the upper right corner login.

    I just finished logging into my account and it had all my past purchases (8-9-10-11) and the updates were available.

    If you get a certificate error, go ahead and accept the certificate anyway. In other words, go ahead and override the error so you can get to the proper site.

    The transaction was slow for me (using 56K dialup) but I had all the options available as in the past.
     
  13. Tom Brown

    Tom Brown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Posts:
    12
    Didn't work for me:
    Code:
    Your registration e-mail
    or password is incorrect.
    ... and if they think I'm going to accept a self-signed certificate to enter personal information into an unencrypted form, they are as crazy as the Wall Street billionaires who are asking for a golden parachute out of the Bush Administration.

    Acronis is dead. Let it die.
     
  14. laserfan

    laserfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Posts:
    117
    FWIW I went to the support website a few days ago (looking for the BartPE plugin) and encountered the "re-register" request and the (new?) "You are opening a page w/both secure and insecure..." stuff. Re-registered and none of my registrations appeared!!! After mucking about several more times, I gave-up, disgusted. Today I logged-on and all my regs are there again!?

    Must have been a caching problem somewhere I suppose...
     
  15. reddog66

    reddog66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    I can not believe these people, I am still getting the run around concerning the problems they are having with there site. I think it's time to move on. No one seems to have the answers too why, and when this crap is going to come to an end. I was able to use an overseas site last week, but that to has stopped working for me. Does anyone know just what in the heck is going on besides the same old crap, " there site is going through some changes. If I remember wright that was all suppose to have ended on about the 14 of Sept. I may be wrong. I do know that I am not able to download, or update any of my products registered to Acronis. I know putting this down on this forum will not change squat, but I know am not the only one having this problem, and besides it's good to vent now and then. Have a good day.
     
  16. AaronAnderson

    AaronAnderson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    65
    Site appears to be down this evening. The eu.acoronis site has been working for me.... can't they just copy that database or wtf ever and get this going again? It's not like I had nearly every product registered on there for 300 of my clients who use Acronis products.
     
  17. AaronAnderson

    AaronAnderson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    65
  18. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    lol. Well, that's one more explanation.
     
  19. Tom Brown

    Tom Brown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Posts:
    12
    In the spirit of fairness, the U.S. site now appears to know me again, along with all of my registered licenses along with their serial numbers and original dates of registration.

    There is still an SSL problem, in that the "my account" pages are all a mixture of "secure and insecure" content (hrefs to images not https).

    Looks like the company may still be stirring around a little, however.

    It would still take some convincing for me to ever buy or recommend Acronis True Image again.
     
  20. Forellenblau

    Forellenblau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes, i saw it yesterday that the website is working again quite well. I had to login with my old password, the new one i saved is gone.

    Forellenblau
     
  21. pbniel

    pbniel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    It's not that the websight was down. This could happen to any company. The things that bother me are:

    1. It was malfunctioning for a very long time - at least a month and a computer oriented company making a backup product could not fix it?

    2. When you tried to get help from their support they either did not answer or gave the wrong answer.

    3. When they said they were going to get back to you they just dropped the ball.

    It is almost like they were in totally disorganized - not a good face to present to the public or to inspire my confidence.

    Not a company to do business with over the long haul.
     
  22. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Well, Acronis is a company that loves to makes changes but, unfortunately, not a company the makes changes well. I'd say change is Acronis's weak point.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.