Acronis Startup Programs

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ronbo613, Nov 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronbo613

    ronbo613 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    North SD County, CA
    I use Acronis 9 to clone the boot drive of my computer. On startup, there are three "parts" of the Acronis software that are running in the background. Since I don't use any of the restore features of Acronis, only the cloning feature, can I disable these three items with msconfig without screwing anything up?
     
  2. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Yep, you can. Also it might be better to start using the Rescue CD to do the TI procedures. You never know when there will be something like a Windows update, or even an instal of another program, which will interfere with TI when you run TI from within windows.
     
  3. ronbo613

    ronbo613 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    North SD County, CA
    I'm not sure I understand. If I make a Rescue CD as you suggest, does that mean I can clone a hard drive using only the Rescue CD?
    Since I'm using TI only to clone hard drives, I would like to install only the cloning feature, if that is possible. It is easier and quicker to swap drives than go through the whole image/restore deal. When I have a problem, I have to have the computer back up and running ASAP because I use it for my business.
     
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Whilst TI will still operate without its' background services, you should be aware that;

    1. Without TimounterMonitor running, you won't be able to mount images.

    2. With schedul2 stopped, no scheduled backups will occur and you won't be able to run a backup or image from within Windows.

    3. Disabling schedhelp will prevent TI from running if you actually logon log off using passwords or have TI set up for multiple users.

    4. TrueimageMonitor allows you to cancel or start tasks from the system tray and is responsible for showing the progress bar.

    There is really not much point in stopping, or making them a manual start as unless they are running, they take up no RAM or CPU time.

    The list in Task Manager is just that a list of addresses kept in a part of RAM that is going to be allocated when the task is going to start. This memory space is to all intents going to be allocated to the system, whether there are any tasks to run or not - just the way the memory manager. kernel and x686 chips work.

    Colin
     
  5. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318

    You certainly can perform the clone process from the rescue CD and you do not even have to keep TI installed on your computer.

    In a mission critical situation I would not choose cloning as a backup solution. It means both the source and target drives are connected to the computer at the same time. This will be a period of extra vunerability where both drives could be compromised leaving you with nothing. I know it is only a small additional risk but it is one which can be avoided.
    There is also no ability to go back in time to find deleted items or indeed restore the whole computer to an earlier date following a severe infestation.

    The physical handling of your drives is important. The donor drive should be replaced by the clone. Swapping their functions in the BIOS is not really sufficient.

    IMHO the best way is to install an exchangable rack system to allow easy and reliable disk changes.

    I actually use a combination of imaging to a fixed drive and restores to exchangable drives. The imaging is scheduled to run when the computer would otherwise be idle. The user time overhead is therefore nil. Before the computer is used again the main drives are swapped out and the just created image is restored. This is one of the quickest TI processes. The validation process is redundant.

    The ability to recover from a hard disk failure will be the same as direct cloning. One just has to shut down, swap the drives and reboot. It takes me 3 minutes in total without a screwdriver in sight!

    This combination method is just about as reliable as one can get and has the advantage over cloning in that the archive images can be explored and copied from back in time.


    Xpilot
     
  6. ronbo613

    ronbo613 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    North SD County, CA
    What I do is clone the boot drive of my computer and put the cloned drive in a file cabinet. If I have trouble, I just swap drives, do any antivirus/antispyware updates, then clone the fubared drive. It only takes a few minutes. The boot drive doesn't fail that often and I only need to "re-clone" the backup drive every couple months, or after a major software installation(which is not that often).
    All my data is on other drives and they are backed up to external drives as well. I usually build my computers with a smaller boot drive with only the OS and programs on it, data storage on other drives.
    I'm going to check out the Rescue Disc, see how that works out. Thanks for your input, it is a big help.
     
  7. Phenny

    Phenny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    As of TI Home 10 b4940:

    no? i can mount images just fine without

    this one starts up when starting TI, as long as it's set to 'manual' (keeps running afterwards, till next reboot)
    if you don't use scheduling you don't need it running all the time

    too much hassle on my system to check this one, but it's deactivated aswell

    progress bars are fine / think i'd trade the taskbar-functionality for an autostart entry...and why for christ's sake does this function have to be a separate autostarting program?

    sorry for this post having a rant-ish flavour but i still remember how disappointed i was, upgrading from TI6 and all of a sudden finding all this junk in autostart;
    if there's something like software-etiquette, then using unnecessary autostart tasks is on the no-no list for sure
    no matter if it's eating up only little resources, the decrease in overview of the tasks is reason enough to not want that
     
  8. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.