Acronis Ransomware Protection

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by mood, Jan 25, 2018.

  1. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,566
    Acronis_AntiRansomware.png
    Active Protection:
    File-level continuous backup to Acronis Cloud:
    Acronis Ransomware Protection v1.0.1310.0 (January 24, 2018)
    Website
    Release Notes
    Knowledge Base
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,950
    All I want from Acronis is a reliable and fast backup and restore. All they have done is clutter up the program with garbage.
     
  3. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,566
    The Ransomware Protection ("Active Protection") seems to be included in the backup program Acronis True Image
    Found it in the FAQ
     
  4. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    10,682
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Interesting stuff, can't wait for Cruelsister's test. :thumb:

    EDIT: Just tried to install it via Sandboxie, but it only makes my GPU go crazy, doesn't give me a lot of faith.
     
  5. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,566
    I wouldn't install such applications with Sandboxie (for example it is preventing kernel drivers from being installed or it may prevent the communication between sandboxed/unsandboxed processes).
    A VM is much better for this and you might have less issues.
     
  6. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,359
    Location:
    Paris
    Rasheed- I'm actually working on it now (sadly it will take many hours). Although I personally like it, Ophelia (my cat) thinks she can breach it quite easily in a number of ways.

    We'll see...
     
  7. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    10,682
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes I understand. But a lot of similar apps will at least install correctly. The ones that don't usually install themselves too "deeply" into the system. For example, AppCheck install just fine, the GUI runs correctly, but it won't work because the driver isn't installed obviously.

    LOL, I bet your cat is pretty cool. BTW, what is your opinion about ZoneAlarm Anti-Ransomware, has it been improved?

    https://www.zonealarm.com/anti-ransomware/
     
  8. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,566
    Acronis Ransomware Protection review
    January 29, 2018
    https://www.ghacks.net/2018/01/29/acronis-ransomware-protection-review/
     
  9. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    526
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Greetings/Salutations,

    I read that some individuals where having problems trying to uninstall Acronis Ransomware Protection.
    If you need to uninstall for any reason. Simply, use the same download that you use to install the
    Acronis Ransomware Protection. Double click on the install, but this time it will say Uninstall. That is it!

    Always the best,
     
  10. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,048
    Location:
    UK
    It is possible for the software to work on other Windows operating systems, but it is not guaranteed.

    Has anyone tried it on xp or vista
     
  11. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,359
    Location:
    Paris
    Rasheed- I had a chance to check out ZAM AR. Perhaps in a couple of weeks. It would be an easy (and short) video to make, if you catch my drift...
     
  12. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,566
    Acronis Ransomware Protection v1.0.1340.0 (Build 1340) Released (January 30, 2018)
    Website
    Release Notes
     
  13. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,359
    Location:
    Paris
    The previous builds installed Bonjour by Apple (zero configuration networking service); the new build has dropped this. Fortunately protection is the same as I already completed a video.
     
  14. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,950
    Can't wait
     
  15. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    526
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Can you install over the previous version and/or do you need to uninstall?
     
  16. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    10,682
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Interesting that they are monitoring code injection, but apparently it's prone to false positives and it needs an internet connection to function correctly, major turnoff!

    OK thanks. BTW, how many ransomware variants are you using in your tests? I was checking out this site, and it recognizes 544 variants, but I suppose most of them are working about the same?

    https://id-ransomware.malwarehunterteam.com/
     
  17. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,566
    Acronis Ransomware Protection v1.0.1470.0 (Build 1470) Released (March 13, 2018)
    Website
    Release Notes
    What’s new
    • Issue fixes and other improvements.
    Fixed issues
    • Several folders and registry keys are not deleted after the product uninstallation.
    • On Windows 8.1 with one CPU and no video card drivers installed, AcronisRansomwareProtectionSetup.exe consumes 100 percent CPU during the .net installation.
    • The notification "Active Protection service is not available" appears during update.
    • The application plays the Windows navigation sound when minimized to the icon in the Windows notification area.
    • The application processes sometimes lead to 100 percent CPU usage after rerunning the processes automatically.
    • It is possible to manage processes in the permission list when Active Protection is turned off.
    Known issues
    • [ARP-1050] An application previously blocked in the permission list is blocked again after the product reinstallation.
    • [ARP-1025] If you update the product and then sign out, the login field is not autocompleted.
    • [ARP-1020] Some elements are missing from the main window if the screen resolution is changed to a lower one.
    • [ARP-949] The drop zone becomes inactive after creating a backup.
    • [ARP-861] The backup statistics are not cleaned up after the backup deletion.
    • [ARP-740] After reboot, the blocked processes from the permission list reappear as monitored ones.
    • [ARP-233] The sign-in window is truncated when scaling the display 150 percent or more.
     
  18. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,876
    Location:
    US
    I tend to agree. I got their software Acronis True Image and it's not what I expected.
     
  19. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,876
    Location:
    US
    And...Acronis failed me for a 2nd time to restore a validated windows image.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.