Acronis Home 2009

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by pepegot1, Jul 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pepegot1

    pepegot1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    57
    Just installed Acronis Home 2009

    1. Does this software restore Acronis Ver 9.0 tib's?
    2. When an image is created in Home 2009, no MBR option is presented. Does the backup image include the MBR. If I restore from this image will I be able to boot up?
    Ver 9.0 gives MBR option-this one does not.
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Even though Acronis only guarantees restoration of 1 version previous, their record is much better than that. You should not have any problem with TI9 archives.

    Yes, the MBR is still backed up in the same fashion and there is an entry in the retore wizard to check if you want to restore it.
     
  3. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    As seekforever stated in the above posting, the restore will give you the option to include the MBR. Here's a picture of the restore wizard.
    7-29-2009 08-48-50.jpg
     
  4. pepegot1

    pepegot1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    57
    What concerns me is not the option for MBR upon restoration, but when you create the initial backup image. Ver 9 gave the option to backup MBR, but I did not see it with Home 2009. Therefore, upon restoring there could be a serious problem.
     
  5. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    The MBR is included in the backup. This is different than prior versions. There should not be any problems related to this doing a restore, I have done many.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2009
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello pepegot1,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis True Image Home 2009

    Acronis guarantees one-version-back compatibility for different versions of the same product. This means that current product version will work with backups created with one-generation-older version. E.g. Acronis True Image Home 2009 will work with backups created by Acronis True Image 11 Home. Restoring backups created by older versions (Acronis True Image 9.0 and older) is also possible, but error-free data recovery is not guaranteed.

    Check the following KB article for more information.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.