Acronis Help please

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Chocksaway, Aug 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chocksaway

    Chocksaway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I need some HELP please. I have backed up my D: drive onto an external drive and it has been saved as 24 *tib files. Now, after a HD format I need to restore the D: Partition. However, Acronis 10 reports that the first *tib file is corrupt! All the other 23 seem OK. Is there any "fix" available or tip to enable me to restore, even partially, the data from this backup. Even trying to restore individual files does not work because Acronis asks for the first file to be used!
    Hoping very much,
    Sincerely,

    Gordon Webb
     
  2. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    long shot - are you able to right mouse click on the first tib and choose mount ?

    as this is D: I'm assuming that it is data and not your system ? perhaps it will mount and allow you to copy the data ?

    If that doesn't work then can you copy all tibs to a partition on your hard drive and try to restore from there ?
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2007
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Chocksaway,

    Can you please post the filenames and the sizes? (If you don't want to post them all, at least the first 5 or so.) A screenshot would do nicely.

    Does the 2nd part say "Part 2 of..." and the 3rd part say "Part 3 of..."?
    What is the message displayed when you have the first TIB file selected from the list for a restore, mount or validate?

    If it's just a filename problem, then you might be able to fix it. If the TIB file is actually corrupted then you're probably out of luck. TI needs the first and last files in the splits to be valid in order to work properly.
     
  4. Chocksaway

    Chocksaway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Hello again, I'm beginning to feel a bit negative about this! Still, I do appreciate your helpful comments. I have attached a screen shot of the tib files. It shows the names and sizes of the files.
    Chocks Away Chaps!
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    Chocksaway what happens if you click right mouse button on any of the tibs and then choose mount ?
     
  6. Chocksaway

    Chocksaway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks very much, Chaps (or Chapesses!)
    We have tried right clicking on several of these tib files, selcting "mount" and in every case, the procedure starts and then ends with a red cross icon and the message "Cannot assign a drive letter to a partition for the backup archive". If we right clicked and selected "explore", several times, the end result was an apparently empty file! When we tried the same things with another set of valid tib files from another (OK Acronis backup of a separate partition) the individual files were revealed. This leads us to think that we have reached the end of the road with this particular lproblem. The tib files show the normal size but appear to be empty! In future I will always make Acronis backups after booting with the recovery CD. This should ensure that no program operating in the background (antivirus etc.) could interfere with the Acronis processes!
    Thanks very much everyone!
    Chocksaway!
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    When you select to Validate the image and select Aug161.TIB, does it show the message below or a different message? (Note: I have renamed the file so it long longer matches in order to display the message.)
    part1.jpg

    You might try renameing Aug161.TIB to Aug16.TIB and see if it makes a difference. I usually try to avoid ending with numbers because of the way TI adds them. Aug16_ or Aug16- would be better so you end up with Aug16-1, Aug16-2... Aug16-24.

    ----

    Edit: Make sure you're using the latest build of TI 10 (4,942).
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2007
  8. Chocksaway

    Chocksaway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    It seems to work for a while, with various levels appearing, including a choice of letters for the mount partition, then the dreaded red cross appears with the message "Cannot assign a drive letter to a partition for the backup archive". [Incidentally, when I follow the same procedure with a tib file from an archive that is OK it does mount and all of the individual folders and files in the original partition are available!
    Thanks for the suggestion!
    Chocksaway Chaps!
     
  9. Chocksaway

    Chocksaway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Yes, I'm using the latest buid.

    Thanks for your advice but we are on the point of giving up now!
    Chocks Away Chaps!
    Chocksaway
     
  10. jazzzman

    jazzzman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Hmmm.. I'm no expert, but am currently experiencing a similar issue with what appears to be corruption. I reinstalled a fresh copy of XP on my system drive and ran chkdsk /F on my backup drive. It is still running (Huge 750G drive), but has "replaced bad clusters in file #xxxxx of name \C_driv~2.tib". I'm hopefull this is what was preventing my recovery from completing and it will be fixed once it's done..

    Jazzz
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.