Acronis hangs up on backup

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by matarvai, May 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. matarvai

    matarvai Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    We have couple customers that are using Acronis True image software to backup data to our ftp site. Acronis hangs up on 99%, on these sites. And it won't start at the next day, unless you reboot your server/workstation were Acronis is installed.

    What could cause this problem? We have the same problem on three different sites, with two TrueImageServer Echo and one TrueImageWorkstation.
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello matarvai,

    Thank you for your post.

    When the backup is saved on FTP server there are several limitations and recommendations you should take into account. Here are they:
    - FTP-server must allow passive mode for file transfers;
    - it is recommended that you change the source computer firewall settings to open ports 20 and 21 for both TCP and UDP protocols;
    - it is also recommended to disable the Routing and Remote Access Windows service on the source computer.
    So please check them and try to save backups with the recommended settings. Please make sure also that the computers under consideration have the latest builds of the respective Acronis software on them.

    Thank you
    --
    Nikita Sakharov
     
  3. matarvai

    matarvai Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    I have latest builds, FTP-server allows passive transfers and source computers don't have firewall, but I will the routing and remote access settings and check if that helps.
     
  4. matarvai

    matarvai Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    Routing and Remote Access Windows service isn't enabled on source workstation. It is disabled, and still I cannot use backup.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello matarvai,

    Thank you for your answer and for the provided information.

    As the reasons of the issue can differ we need some diagnostic information. So could you please be so kind and provide us with it? Please submit a request for technical support with the detailed issue description and the link to this thread. Support engineer will answer in the nearest time and tell you what information is necessary for issue investigation. Please be sure we'll do our best to help you as soon as possible.

    Thank you
    --
    Nikita Sakharov
     
  6. matarvai

    matarvai Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    Problem seem to be with ftp server. When we created new ftp server with different software backup started to work.
     
  7. matarvai

    matarvai Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    New ftp server didn't help. With small backup files it works, but when we create larger files it will hang up and doesn't create backup.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello matarvai,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please notice that the build (8115) of Acronis True Image Echo was recently released. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Please don't forget to update all installed components as they need to be the same build in order to interact properly.

    If the latest build doesn't solve the problem, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please collect the application log of the operation:
    - run the program;
    - select Show log on the toolbar or from the Tools menu;
    - select the corresponding log;
    - click "Save the log entry to file" (the diskette icon).

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will do our best to investigate the problem and provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  9. matarvai

    matarvai Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    New version didn't help so I sended log files to Acronis. What could cause the ftp problem, I have tried three different ftp servers, with different softwares and machines. Also with different dsl lines and public ip addresses have been tried.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello matarvai,

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Could you please let us know your Acronis request number (e.g. [Acronis #123456]) which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? We will find out how the investigation of your issue is going. If you have not received an autoreply then please send us a Private Message containing your e-mail address.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  11. matarvai

    matarvai Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    number is Acronis #1615988
     
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello matarvai,

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Thank you for clarification. Could you please collect some additional information?

    Please collect ftp log of the operation the following way:
    - Run regedit from Start -> Run;
    - Open HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Acronis\DebugLogs registry key. (If the DebugLogs key does not exist, please create it);
    - Add ftp value (Type: DWORD; Data: 1);
    - Reproduce the problem;
    - Collect the ftp.log file from Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Acronis\DebugLogs folder.

    Please also collect Dr. Watson log the following way:
    - Click the Start button, choose Run, type drwtsn32 and press Enter;
    - In the dialog that appears check the "Log File Path" and "Crash Dump" file name, then click the OK button;
    - Reproduce the problem;
    - Collect the drwtsn32.log and user.dmp files from directories specified in "Log File Path" and "Crash Dump".

    Please send the collected files with a reply to the message with your Acronis request number.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  13. matarvai

    matarvai Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    I sended following log files to acronis in email attachments.
     
  14. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello matarvai,

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    As I can see, your problem is being worked upon, and Santiago will contact you as soon as possible.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  15. matarvai

    matarvai Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    Problem solved, using other software for sending images to data center, using acronis as backup and recovery and 3rd party file transfer software.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.