Acronis doesn't see my USB hard drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by pbuenz, Jul 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pbuenz

    pbuenz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    My hard drive crashed this weekend and I installed a new one. I have a complete image of the drive on an external hard drive using my USB port. When I run the recovery CD and then restore, Acronis does not see the external hard drive.

    Ideas?

    Peter
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    please refer to this post
     
  3. tronic592001

    tronic592001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    Wales uk
    pbuenz hi

    Have you made a safe mode disk!! then boot from that..

    Thats the way i do it as with full disk i got same problems, so i just boot with the safe mode CD disk. Ive not tryed it with version 903 yet have you?
    :eek:
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello pbuenz,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure Acronis Bootable CD is created with the latest build (903) of Acronis True Image. If so please try the "acpi=off noapic" workaround and if it doesn't help please create sysinfo.txt and send it to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread (please see Acronis post for the detailed instructions).

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  5. howie123

    howie123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    48
    Hmmm... I have found that the "safe mode" boot disc does not load any USB, Firewire or Optical drive drivers and only sees internal hard discs... Is my safe mode CD not working correctly?
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello howie123,

    Please note, the Safe version contains a bootable image based on DOS and only supports devices that have direct BIOS support such as floppy disk drives, CD-ROM drives, DVD drives and IDE hard disk drives.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  7. howie123

    howie123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    48
    Thanks!
    I was pretty sure that Safe Mode did not support USB or Firewire (IEEE1394) devices...
     
  8. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Not entirely true. A number of newer motherboards do have BIOS support for USB devices. Hence, as tronic592001 and other users have found, the "Safe" bootable rescue CD (using a combination of DOS and motherboard BIOS routines) can work with external USB HDs on some systems.

    Regards
     
  9. howie123

    howie123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    48
    Thanks for the info! :)
     
  10. tronic592001

    tronic592001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Menorcaman& & Irina


    If i use the full version of the boot disk then it does not see my USB external hard drive: but with the safe boot disk it does, so ive no option but to use the safe boot.

    but the job gets done so ive no problems with safe boot disk:
    :-*
     
  11. pbuenz

    pbuenz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks for all these hints. Can someone tell me how to create a safe mode disk?
     
  12. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    in the main acronis window, there should be an option to create a rescue boot disk. when u start ur comp off the boot disk, there should an option to load all drivers or just some (safe mode).
     
  13. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello pbuenz,

    You may create Safe version of Acronis Bootable CD by choosing the appropriate version in "Create Bootable Rescue CD" wizard. There are options: "Create full version" and "Create safe version".

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.