Acronis Disk Director: SnapAPI drive is skipped due to an error

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by resident_eagle, Nov 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. resident_eagle

    resident_eagle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,

    I have set up a task for repartitioning, so I clicked on Commit. It went to restart and while loading Acronis it warned me about some error - it couldn't get handle to some object with some ID or something like that.

    After that I have booted Windows (win 7) up and reviewed Acronis's log. There it says a few dozen times:

    Code: 1.098.852(0x10C464)
    Module: 16
    Message: 1098852, 0, 16080907881207046595, , SnapAPI drive is skipped due to an error. 1098759, 0, 16080907881207046594, , TEXT_FDISK_ERROR_WINDOWS_CONSTRUCTING_DISK_SNAPAPI_GETDRIVEINFO. 65520, 3489660933, 13630423262120753350, ,

    Code: 1.098.849(0x10C461)
    Module: 16
    Message: 1098849, 0, 16080907881207046603, , SnapAPI drive is skipped as zero-track

    and amidst all of that one slightly different event:

    Code: 1.098.852(0x10C464)
    Module: 16
    Message: 1098852, 0, 16080907881207046595, , SnapAPI drive is skipped due to an error. 1098759, 0, 16080907881207046594, , TEXT_FDISK_ERROR_WINDOWS_CONSTRUCTING_DISK_SNAPAPI_GETDRIVEINFO. 9, 3221225480, 12391010412141252161, , The handle is invalid

    Does anyone know what that is, exactly?

    Any help much appreciated.
     
  2. resident_eagle

    resident_eagle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    Even though I do not usually like to reply to myself... :)

    I have booted the machine up with the medium created through Director. From there it went better and I could see operation steps performed. The first three of four steps passed without any error, but in the fourth one it reported that the file system is corrupt and that I should run chkdsk, even though it showed new and desired drive size. So I booted to Windows and did just that. It found some (minor) errors and fixed them during the following start up.

    Then, I was in another peril - Disk Management and DiskPart (basically the same thing) showed new, increased size, and Windows Explorer and Command Prompt showed the old one. I was puzzled until I found the solution in one forum. DiskPart has one more (let's say hidden or not adequatly documented) command - "extend filesystem". While "extend" really extends only a partition or a volume, "extend filesystem" does it to a filesystem itself. After that even Explorer and Cmd reported the new size.

    Hope this will help somebody.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.