acronis cd burning

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dave7x, Jan 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dave7x

    dave7x Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    im pretty new to ti9 but thought i was getting on with it pretty well til i tried to burn a backup to cd, where it will not allow me to do so. i get two errors, which i will have to attach in separate posts. my spec is an intel celeron 700MHz cpu, 256 MB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP Pro SP2 and Goldstar 16x CDROM. i also have nero burning rom 6.6.0.18 installed, and have disabled XP cd recording as advised elsewhere. any ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 22, 2006
  2. dave7x

    dave7x Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    i forgot to mention that altho i cannot backup to cd, the bootable media burns perfectly. and hers the other relevent screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 22, 2006
  3. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    Do you mean that when you boot with the TI bootable CD that you can then burn an image to a CD?

    CD media have to be formatted for packet writing in order for TI to be able to burn directly to them.
     
  4. dave7x

    dave7x Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    If I could then id be happy, but I meant that TI can burn the bootable CD without problems - so why the hell does it have a problem burning to a CD directly? Especially considering I'm using CD-Rs, not RWs - I've NEVER heard of having to format a CD-R
     
  5. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi Chutsman,

    Me thinks you've become confused :D. DVDs need to be preformatted but CDs just need to be blank.

    Regards
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dave7x,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    First of all, please note that you do not need to format CDs in order to be able to write your images to them directly.

    Please also note that Acronis True Image 9.0 utilizes it's own CD recording module and so can burn images to CD both from under Windows and when booted from Bootable Rescue CD.

    As for the problem you have encountered, please make sure that you use the latest build (2337) of Acronis True Image 9.0 which is available at: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/

    To get access to updates you should create an account at:
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/
    then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

    Please uninstall any previously installed build by following Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs -> Acronis True Image, prior to installing build 2337.

    Note that you should create new Bootable Rescue CD after installing the update.

    If the problem still persists with the latest build (2337) of Acronis True Image 9.0 then please provide us with the following information:

    - Create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post;

    - Reproduce the problem and collect Acronis True Image 9.0 log which can be saved from Tools -> Show Log -> Diskette icon;

    - Describe actions taken before the problem appears step-by-step.

    Could you please also do the following?

    - Start command prompt;

    - Go to \Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\CDRecord folder;

    - Run "cdrecord –scanbus > scanbus.txt" command and send us the scanbus.txt file.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the information about your purchase of Acronis software (order number, e-mail, where did you purchase our product, etc.) and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.