Acronis Build 2009.9796 vs 2009.9709

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by cranheim, Jul 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cranheim

    cranheim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    I am presently at the 9709 build level. Is there any advantage to go to 9796? I have heard there were some problems with the new 9796 level, and wanted to wait until it has been out long enough to be stable, if there is any good reason to go with the latest version. If it looks safe to go to 9796, can I just download it and install it over the existing 9709? I have heard there are horror stories trying to completely delete some levels. Please give me some advise on this issue. I am not a PC GURU, just a basic user. If it makes more sense to stay at 9707, I will probably stay there.
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    If 9709 is working for you, with no problems in Windows or Rescue CD then there is nothing in the latest version that you need.

    OTOH, if you've had problems with the Secure Zone or USB problems, or the Rescue CD can't play with your hardware, then you should at least try out the latest build.

    In theory you can just install it over the top of your exsisting installation, but I think you'd be better off uninstalling and re-installing, especially if you've had problems with the Windows based version.

    Your tasks won't be deleted and they should be recognised once TI is re-installed.
     
  3. pot2pan

    pot2pan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Posts:
    54
    In my case build #9796 fixed the "system state" backup that was not working in #9709. It also allows me to start a backup with my USB HDD plugged in (which was not possible with #9709 as TI refused to initialise when the USB drive was connected).
    TI still does not initialise with the password-protected part of my USB HDD connected, so I backup that partition with other software.
    I have not yet seen any "new" problem with build #9796.

    The majority of problems that I see reported with build #9796 are related to installation. I believe that is often due to #9709 not getting properly removed.
    In my case I found that installing over #9709 was not an option as the resulting application would not work at all. Removing build #9709 via the control panel did not work either and ended up in failure. I had to use Acronis cleanup tool to remove cleanly the previous version before I could get a working install. That resulted in losing all the previously recorded tasks and schedules and rebuilding them after the new installation... a pain.

    The cleanup tool is at http://kb.acronis.com/content/1727, however I agree that there is no point to update if your current build does all you need it to do.
     
  4. cranheim

    cranheim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    You have convinced me not to install the latest build. My biggest fear is the deletion of my 9709 level. It sure sounds complicated to me. Not being a PC guru makes this task sound impossible, especially the part where I would have to install two other programs in order for the Acronis removal program to work properly. It would be a lot better if the Acronis uninstaller program included all the necessary software to allow it work as a stand alone program, making it foolproof.
     
  5. cranheim

    cranheim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    I fear the day will come when I will have to delete my Acronis 2009. You have posted references on how to do this. Because of my limited experiences, it is difficult to read between the lines on exactly how to go about downloading the required additional programs, where to install them, and executing them at the correct time, so the Acronis removal program will be able to delete Acronis 2009. I would appreciate it if a more experienced person who has done this procedure, write a detailed step by step set of instructions on how to do the deletion before updating Acronis. I don't want to get half way through it and discover I made a mistake that can't be easily corrected. Telephone support would be great for this, but it looks like that possibility is out.
     
  6. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    I think you're working yourself up into a lather over nothing :)

    First - uninstalling TI in the standard Windows style is normally OK for most people.

    Second - if you do uninstall and you find a subsequent version either won't install, does strange things with previous tasks (with some exceptions) or either won't operate properly or causes strangeness with your PC, then you can use the utility mentioned in the sticky Product Links and FAQ's

    Once downloaded you only have to run it like you would a normal program - it doesn't actually install, so you would need to remember which folder you downloaded it to and then double click on the executable file.

    After this has removed remnants of registry settings, you'll need to reboot the PC as Windows machines are basically dumb as far as registry alterations are concerned whilst they're booted (yes I know there are exceptions), then install the new version/build and all should be well.

    The problem of registry entries not being removed on uninstall is not only an Acronis thing, run any registry checking utility and you'll be amazed at the amount of programs that leave bits of themselves everywhere - it is partly due to the way Windows works.
     
  7. cranheim

    cranheim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    Will the Acronis Removal Programs listed remove Acronis 2009, which I think is version 12? Version 9,10, & 11 seem to be mentioned in the write-ups, but not version 12.
     
  8. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi cranheim

    It says so here Knowleedge Base

    Take Care
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  9. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    If you clicked on the link I gave you'll see two links listed one above the other.

    One says
    You then have a 50/50 chance of selecting which one is most likely to be the one you require.
     
  10. cranheim

    cranheim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    Colin,
    I tried to digest what I read in the above posts. This is my understanding of what I may need to remove Acronis:

    1727: Acronis Clean Up Utility (Updated May 26,2009)

    Two additional components are required to use the utility:

    DevCon - command-line utility that is an alternative to the Windows Device Manager. DevCon is included in Windows Vista by default. Read more in Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 311272. (I am using Windows XP Home Edition. Do I have to download and install this before using the Acronis Clean Up Utility?)

    Msizap.exe - command-line utility performs cleanup operations on the Windows Installer configuration management information. Msizap.exe is a part of Windows Installer CleanUp Utility. (Do I have to download and install Windows Installer CleanUp Utility from MS?)

    If there is no DevCon in the system, you can download it from Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 311272, and place it in Windows\system32. Or you can just run Acronis Clean Up Utility, and will offer to remove Acronis True Image Backup Archive Explorer manually:

    It looks like I need DevCon and Msizap.exe for the Acronis Clean Up Utility to use, or I can delete items manually from the Windows Registry. Being a novice with limited experience, I would not feel comfortable going down this road without having someone on the phone helping me. I have had bad experiences deleting directory items suggested by Dell and Gateway support. They both buried my machine to the point I had to reload everything.
    Again, I wish Acronis had a stand-alone removal exe that would not require me to have the above things in place first. I wish I had your experience, but I do not.
    Thanks again for your time and suggestions, Charles Ranheim
     
  11. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Why not take it one step at a time?

    Only worry about the acronis cleaner utility if you need to use it.

    You know it is available if any of the mentioned problems occur after uninstalling TI. As I said, MOST of the time TI will uninstall and not create any further problems.

    You won't know if you need to download the 'helper' programs until you go to run the CleanUP utility - it will then tell you you are missing the files - if that happens then we can all go on from there.

    It is also true that many people find installing a build upgrade or version over the top doesn't cause any problems.

    I suspect that the problems are more likely to occur for those of us who like to tinker around with programs and often have many utilities running in the background.

    If you are really really worried, then make an image before you upgrade (good practice anyway) - just make sure that you have made and tested the Rescue CD on your system.
     
  12. cranheim

    cranheim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    I worry about the fact I may not be able to completely remove Acronis if it becomes necessary to get my machine back into an operational state after doing a recommended update. As you well know, if you ever go to tech support online, their first recommendation will be to go to the current build level. If this process takes my machine down to the point I can no longer get to the Internet, I am screwed without a clear cut plan in place to remove the potentially bad Acronis. I would never try to delete registry entries to fix this problem. Again, I can only hope Acronis will add the necessary software routines to its removal progam so that it will work stand-alone, and not require me to download concurrent exe files or routines from other programs.
    Thanks again for your comments and interest in my concerns
     
  13. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    I have today successfully upgraded today from build 9709 to 9796.

    I backed up everything before I made the move.

    I installed over the top of 9709. No uninstall or clean up.

    I decided that I wanted to have the latest version and latest User's Guide.

    I have done a full backup and restore of my C: drive containing Windows XP sp3 and all the programs. I have also done a full scheduled backup.

    I was surprised that it all works. No problems with serial numbers, build numbers or existing scheduled backup scripts.

    So after 8 hours of basic testing I can say that so far build 9796 works on my hardware. I hope that it also will work on yours.
     
  14. pot2pan

    pot2pan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Posts:
    54
    Thanks for testing with a full restore, jehosophat. I had not been game to do that. I feel more confident now.
    I had to use cleanup as installing on top of #9709 did not work for me (but I have the UK build and you have the US build, which could be one possible explanation). Other than this build #9796 appears to work better for me than #9709 did (System State backup now works, and the non-protected part of my USB HDD can remain plugged in when TI starts).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.