Acronis Bsod"s Comp Occasionally!!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by fishmaster, Jul 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fishmaster

    fishmaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    42.25N -89W
    Someone else reported this before. I sent the scripted support answer kiddies a dump file but cared not to play 'Beta' trouble shooting games anymore. 'cause I haven't the time. and yes it is their latest 'buggy' build.


    ATI Build: #9796 BSOD's occasionally when inserting usb thumbdrive. Likely culprit: tdrpm228.sys


    [Case 00228404]
    ATI Build: #9796
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2009
  2. fishmaster

    fishmaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    42.25N -89W
    Based on all the new threads, I recon there's Whole lot going on.
    -bump-
     
  3. jbn75

    jbn75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I get a BSOD referencing tdrpm228.sys if I insert a card into my USB card reader. Using build 9796 on Vista SP2 x64.
     
  4. fishmaster

    fishmaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    42.25N -89W
    Well You just confirmed why I am hesitant on sticking a thumb drive in me 64 bit!!
    I suppose you sent in a report to the 'scripted' answer kiddies? I did, but cared not to play their silly 50 point process crap. I figure the dump file I sent is sufficient. They can get off their duffs and do it themselves or get the 'beta' testers to do it. I am fed up with 'Beta' testing RTM software.

    My BSOD was on the 32 bit Vista.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2009
  5. TomTinsley

    TomTinsley Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Same here BSOD inserting a USB Flash Drive

    Code:
    KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED (8e)
    This is a very common bugcheck.  Usually the exception address pinpoints
    the driver/function that caused the problem.  Always note this address
    as well as the link date of the driver/image that contains this address.
    Some common problems are exception code 0x80000003.  This means a hard
    coded breakpoint or assertion was hit, but this system was booted
    /NODEBUG.  This is not supposed to happen as developers should never have
    hardcoded breakpoints in retail code, but ...
    If this happens, make sure a debugger gets connected, and the
    system is booted /DEBUG.  This will let us see why this breakpoint is
    happening.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: c0000005, The exception code that was not handled
    Arg2: 8220283b, The address that the exception occurred at
    Arg3: a747c660, Trap Frame
    Arg4: 00000000
    
    Debugging Details:
    ------------------
    
    PEB is paged out (Peb.Ldr = 7ffd400c).  Type ".hh dbgerr001" for details
    PEB is paged out (Peb.Ldr = 7ffd400c).  Type ".hh dbgerr001" for details
    
    EXCEPTION_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc0000005 - The instruction at 0x%08lx referenced memory at 0x%08lx. The memory could not be %s.
    
    FAULTING_IP: 
    nt!ObpQueryNameString+56
    8220283b f00fb137        lock cmpxchg dword ptr [edi],esi
    
    TRAP_FRAME:  a747c660 -- (.trap 0xffffffffa747c660)
    ErrCode = 00000003
    eax=0fccbbdf ebx=0052002b ecx=0fccbbdf edx=00520037 esi=0fccbbe0 edi=00520037
    eip=8220283b esp=a747c6d4 ebp=a747c758 iopl=0         nv up ei pl nz na po nc
    cs=0008  ss=0010  ds=0023  es=0023  fs=0030  gs=0000             efl=00010202
    nt!ObpQueryNameString+0x56:
    8220283b f00fb137        lock cmpxchg dword ptr [edi],esi ds:0023:00520037=????????
    Resetting default scope
    
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x8E
    
    PROCESS_NAME:  svchost.exe
    
    CURRENT_IRQL:  0
    
    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from 8203c918 to 820e2b0d
    
    STACK_TEXT:  
    a747c220 8203c918 0000008e c0000005 8220283b nt!KeBugCheckEx+0x1e
    a747c5f0 8206083a a747c60c 00000000 a747c660 nt!KiDispatchException+0x1a9
    a747c658 820607ee a747c758 8220283b badb0d00 nt!CommonDispatchException+0x4a
    a747c674 8205d685 00000000 805d1120 a700c698 nt!Kei386EoiHelper+0x186
    a747c774 8aa3068f 00520054 b800de08 00000080 nt!ZwClose+0x11
    WARNING: Stack unwind information not available. Following frames may be wrong.
    a747c798 8aa35637 00000080 85481d20 84989a94 tdrpm228+0x2a68f
    a747c7ac 8aa29e14 a747c7f8 00520054 00000001 tdrpm228+0x2f637
    a747c7cc 8aa2c74b 00000000 000000e0 a747c800 tdrpm228+0x23e14
    a747c7e4 8aa2a05e a747c7f8 00520054 94d2e5a0 tdrpm228+0x2674b
    a747c800 8aabde8b 00000000 8aa355a8 00520054 tdrpm228+0x2405e
    a747c83c 8aa3540f 84f7fbc0 84989a94 94d2e5a0 tdrpm228+0xb7e8b
    a747c924 8a5bb9d5 94d3ed90 ac7c6588 ac7c6950 tdrpm228+0x2f40f
    a747cb88 8203cc98 17825606 fffffffe a747cc28 fltmgr!FltpFsControl+0x5b
    a747ccfc 8221afc3 02bff8cc 00100000 02bff890 nt!KdpReport+0xf9
    a747cd44 8205fc7a 02bff8cc 00100000 02bff890 nt!NtOpenFile+0x2a
    a747cd44 77185e74 02bff8cc 00100000 02bff890 nt!KiFastCallEntry+0x12a
    02bff8c4 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 0x77185e74
    
    
    STACK_COMMAND:  kb
    
    FOLLOWUP_IP: 
    tdrpm228+2a68f
    8aa3068f 8bf8            mov     edi,eax
    
    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX:  5
    
    SYMBOL_NAME:  tdrpm228+2a68f
    
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner
    
    MODULE_NAME: tdrpm228
    
    IMAGE_NAME:  tdrpm228.sys
    
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  49e5f894
    
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  0x8E_tdrpm228+2a68f
    
    BUCKET_ID:  0x8E_tdrpm228+2a68f
    
     
  6. fishmaster

    fishmaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    42.25N -89W
    Gee...are we the select few aye? Gotta love those BSOD's...aint nothing like it when your actually doing work on your comp.

    Anyway, I mentioned in another thread 'bout ATI taking long time to analyze drive E (thread is locked now because I referenced it to this driver issue...)

    Well when I'm wrong...I am wrong. Apparently when formatting my Second drive initially into a couple of partitions, I seemed to have produced a couple weird gaps. 1 or 2 is normal depending on how you may set the drive up...but 4?!?. That's what caused ATI to be stuck analyzing for such a long time. It's all straightened out now. So I have to nullify my statement about thinking it was related to the driver. (this was on my Vista 64 bit btw)

    However, my experienced 3 BSOD's in reference to tdrpm228.sys stands firm.
     
  7. TomTinsley

    TomTinsley Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    The worst part is I have a RAID and everytime (90%) windows crashes the RAID goes into a verify state. This usually takes a few hours to verify.
     
  8. TomTinsley

    TomTinsley Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    @fishmaster

    Do you know if Support will look at this thread or do I need to create a new one.

    I do not think I should pay for support for broken products. I agree with charging for "how do I do this" support.
     
  9. fishmaster

    fishmaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    42.25N -89W
    Think I'll just keep bumping this thread. Possibly they are too scared to see and acknowledge their goof...
     
  10. TomTinsley

    TomTinsley Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Is support always this slow to respond?
     
  11. fishmaster

    fishmaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    42.25N -89W
    I think it's above their head...the ones that come in here anyway and the ones that you get via email.
     
  12. CAOgdin

    CAOgdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    87
    Responses from Acronis in this forum are the exception, rather than the norm. And, as you'll see by inspecting these fora, their response is usually, "Do all these complicated steps to debug our product and sent it to us..." The unspoken part is, then, "...we might take a look at it and tell our developers, if we're in the mood, but don't expect any substantive response from us."
     
  13. TomTinsley

    TomTinsley Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Oh, so this is just something so we can all gripe and complain to ourselves? I was hoping for more from Acronis. Well, they have my dump in this thread. Maybe one day in the not so near future they will address it.
     
  14. fishmaster

    fishmaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    42.25N -89W
    U say it so much nicer than me :p
     
  15. tommyt

    tommyt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I'm having the same problem.

    I had some time today and needed to reinstall Windows on one of my PCs. I loaded Vista and tested my USB drive. It worked fine. I couldn't get it to blue screen.

    I then installed ATI (latest build) and the error started occurring. I then uninstalled ATI, rebooted and the error went away. So I had a PC that literally only had a plain Windows install which worked. I installed only one application - Acronis - and the error started occurring. I then uninstalled and the error went away.

    Granted the BSOD doesn't occur every time I insert a USB drive when Acronis is installed but it occurs after no more than 2 or 3 inserts. Once I uninstalled Acronis I tried 15 times (I kept a record of which ports and drives I was inserting so I could include it on my support request) and it didn't BSOD.

    I honestly can't see how this could be caused by anything other than the Acronis software. I didn't have this problem once in several months with the previous build. Sadly I didn't keep the previous download as it would have rounded out my testing on this "plain install" nicely.
     
  16. fishmaster

    fishmaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    42.25N -89W
    Yah it's not a consistent thing. I figured about a 3 insert cycle. Meaning every 3rd one.
    Clearly an acronis driver bug. Pretty much renders the functionality of having thumbdrives obsolete while using ATI aye.
    -sweet-
     
  17. CAOgdin

    CAOgdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    87
    What specific TrueImage edition and build are you using (i.e., Home or Workstation, version/year number, build number from Help/About)?
     
  18. tommyt

    tommyt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Acronis True Image Home 2009 Build 9796.

    I posted in this thread because I am having the same issue, with the exact same version of the software, as the other posters in this thread.
     
  19. CAOgdin

    CAOgdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    87
    Have you tried build 9709? I've had no problems with it. However, all the systems I manage use XP Pro, not Vista; could that be an issue?

    When new builds are released by Acronis (and Microsoft, for that matter), I tend to wait 30-60 days before downloading and testing. That saves me much angst, while others (affectionately known as the "Pioneers") find out the inherent problems. (I've seen updates-to-updates within a week or so of the new-build release)

    Have you checked here for any suggestions or guidance: http://kb.acronis.com/search/luceneapi_node/usb
    I find it rather helpful, but there's no entry with "vista usb bsod" I could find.
     
  20. tommyt

    tommyt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Unfortunately I deleted the previous build (I assume I was on 9709 before). I had been using it for about 3 months and never experienced the issue with any USB drives.

    I couldn't see where to download the old build from the website. However, I copied the link to 9796 and simply replaced it with 9709 - success! I'll put the old build back on in the meantime. I think I'll implement your idea of waiting a month or two before upgrading to a new Acronis build.

    I did look through the knowledgebase but didn't find anything which seemed to relate to the BSOD I'm receiving.

    Edit: Since installing version 9709 I haven't been able to replicate the problem either on my "clean" Windows install or on my day to day desktop. My day to day desktop still runs Windows XP and I had the issue with 9796 but not 9709 so it doesn't appear to be Vista specific. As such it seems the issue specifically relates to build 9796.
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2009
  21. CAOgdin

    CAOgdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    87
    Good for you! That ability to be flexible is usually the harbinger of success :)

    If rolling back to the prior release DOES solve the USB BSOD problem, then I recommend you document the situation in hopes that Acronis Support and/or Development will take note.

    (Frankly, they're not very willing to admit their errors, as I've recently experienced with trying to get them to fix a broken part of their website. There's no way to buy an UPGRADE to ABR Universal Restore on their website. Support always says, "Hey, that feature is now built into the product." Yeah, but you need a license to enable it. They don't understand that, so they try to provide me with a license...not willing to address the root issue: The inability to buy an upgrade to the feature on their website.)
     
  22. fishmaster

    fishmaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    42.25N -89W
    I concur that there are not any issues with the 9709 build in relation to the BSOD's caused by tdrpm228.sys on Vista
     
  23. fishmaster

    fishmaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    42.25N -89W
    :doubt: I have a sneaky feeling this is going to be one of those times this issue doesn't get fixed until the 'Next' paid upgrade...:mad:
     
  24. CAOgdin

    CAOgdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    87
    That would be consistent, <fishmaster>, with the past five years of experience with Acronis. Of course, we've already heard that ATI Home 2010 is coming soon.

    However, rolling back is always a good option, instead.

    "I wanna get of this pay-for-bug-fixes upgrade treadmill!"
     
  25. fishmaster

    fishmaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    42.25N -89W
    You and me both...

    Just to note (again) that ATI still on occasion, gets stuck on stupid analyzing my secondary drive. Its not a hard drive issue as the scripted answer kiddies may lead one to believe. It happens on both my computers with different OS's and of course...hello... different hard drives.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.