Acronis backup...

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by curious george, Sep 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. curious george

    curious george Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    218
    Well, i was just wondering for those back up fanatics just how much space does a image back up take? Im considering getting acronis, rather try it first, but eventually might purchase it. So, how big is the back up image file?
     
  2. chris2busy

    chris2busy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    compression options
    none(0%)
    normal(50%)
    highest(65%)
    of original disk size....iirc.
     
  3. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Isn't the size of the image (mostly) based on the part of your harddrive that is used (and compression) ?

    At least, that's my impression, but I use on older version of Acronis.

    Actually, back up ?

    I was referring to a 'plain' image of the entire harddrive.
     
  4. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    My current system drive is about 14gb. Using true image 11 with default settings my backup image size is about 8gb. If i set compression to the max my backup image is 7gb in size.
     
  5. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    I'm curious.

    If you don't mind me asking (I use an older version of Acronis): how much of those 14 Gb is actually in use (programs, data, etc.) ?
     
  6. nb47

    nb47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    183
    It should be everyting used by you on HD-obviously it wouldn't backup unused space. Mine's about 5.7 G but compressed to about 4 G or so.
     
  7. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    It is usually about 60% to 65% of the used space on your hard drive. But if you have a lot of pictures, videos and mp3 files, these are already in a compressed format so you will not realize as much compression.
     
  8. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    14gb is the total space used by windows vista plus the other programs i have installed. The partition in which its installed is 35gb in size.
     
  9. QUADGRAM

    QUADGRAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    :thumbd: :thumbd: I just purchased the Acronis back up software a couple of weeks ago and installed it for the first time tonight but I wanted some help or check the Faqs on their web page only to find out that the Acronis web site is completely gone. All the links are gone and apparently the whole web site it gone so I can only guess they have gone out of business.:blink:
     
  10. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Yeah, that´s about the way it seems to work for me.
     
  11. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    I think you´re jumping the gun.

    I just Googled for Acronis, and I could access their website !
     
  12. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    QUADGRAM,
    Check line 2 of my signature below. Line 3 may be of interest also.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.