Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Workstation not ready for prime time

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by needleseye, Jul 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. needleseye

    needleseye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I have had nothing but problems with this software. First of all the installation documentation is TERRIBLE. I had trouble installing, and submitted a support email to Acronis. I have YET to hear a reply after a week of waiting.

    I also submitted a post here on the forum.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=1505531#post1505531

    The problem that I was having was answered, but I should NOT have had to post on an obscure forum to get software that I purchased to install. Now that I have the software installed, I continue to receive an error every time that I launch the management console. I haven't been able to use the software I paid for yet. Why should I even bother sending in another bug report when my first has not been answered?

    Whenever I launch the management console I get an immediate error that asks me to submit a bug report to Microsoft. This software is buggy, and I would not recommend purchasing it until Acronis get their stuff together. Why did they even bother releasing it when they don't have proper documentation and support set up?
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2009
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    What OS are you using and is this the full or trial version of ABR10?

    Which version of ABR10 are you using?

    Are you positive you've downloaded all the component parts that you need for your version?
     
  3. gejfay

    gejfay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Posts:
    35
    You are right. At least there should be a manual.

    B&R10 from installation, to use, is much more complicated than any previous Acronis product.
     
  4. schrader

    schrader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    +1 I agree with you folks

    I have used acronis for years and this version is utter poop
    WAY too over complicated and after running some simulations
    WAY to unreliable ( one simple backup / restore run and ended up with an unbootable system)
     
  5. CAOgdin

    CAOgdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    87
    Obviously, in architecture and execution, ABR 10 (especially Advanced) is Acronis' effort to become as complex as Veritas' BackupExec. Both are really designed for the corporate environment, where one can afford small armies of full-time backup/restore technicians monitoring dozens of user's computers. The User Interface is poorly designed (boot from the Rescue Media, and the restore Agent screen you end up working with has all the GUI in the upper-left corner of the screen, with most of the screen blank, forcing you to use a magnifying glass to read the buttons and icons. The architectural flow (e.g., separating "vaults" from "plans", calling Backup descriptions "plans", the excessive need to keep clicking parts of a form to open it up for required information, the modularization into a bunch of separate installables) is complex beyond all reason...it's "Computer Science" run amok, without any attention paid to how people who buy Acronis products might want to do their jobs.

    And, the product is buggier than an entymologist's laboratory.
     
  6. needleseye

    needleseye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I am using the full registered version. I still have yet to get a response regarding my first issue from acronis support. I can't believe how awful their support is.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis Software!

    Thank you for your input regarding installation process. I would forward your comments to the responsible person.

    needleseye - could you please provide me with the case number of your support request? I would check it, find the reasons of delay and make sure that it handled as soon as possible.

    Thank you,
    Michael Levchenko
     
  8. BrianSNJ

    BrianSNJ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Posts:
    21

    I have never been so frustrated and peeved! Another great slap to the face by Acronis! I love Acronis products, but hate knowing that every 6 months or so a nasty development surprise awaits me.

    I say this with compassion Acronis - I love you guys but sometimes :gack:
     
  9. BrianSNJ

    BrianSNJ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    Ditto. I have a problem with Corsair memory, I post to the website requesting a call, I get a CALL from a real LIVE person within the day!!!!

    I don't expect that from everyone but when it comes to RECOVERY and BACKUP, I expect hustle.
     
  10. CAOgdin

    CAOgdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    87
    I sent in two specific program reports via eMail, and got one phone call from someone who can barely speak English; all I could decipher was "Acronis" and a phone number.

    I'm sorry, it's not in my contract with Acronis that I have to talk to people who can't actually speak my language!

    Acronis' ONE FATAL FLAW: They DO NOT CARE what customers think about them; they think they're superior to their customers, and that customers have no business telling them anything about how they could be producing and supporting better products.

    I'm actively testing three other products that compete with Acronis. If I am able to satisfy my needs with one of those, you'll never see me here again. Except for exchanging ideas with you other customers, this Forum is a time-sink!
     
  11. gejfay

    gejfay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Posts:
    35
    Which programs are you testing?
     
  12. CAOgdin

    CAOgdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    87
    gejfay: What part of "Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Workstation" do you not understand?
     
  13. gejfay

    gejfay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Posts:
    35
    What don't I understand.

    Licensing does not work as it should. I frequently get prompted that the license is not valid and have to reboot the computer.

    Why when I have created a backup plan and I want to "run it" now does it want to know if I want Full, Incremental or Differential when I created the backup as a Full backup?

    How come you cannot run a task (now backup plan) from the command line as before?

    I can keep going......
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.