Acronis backup image

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by rmagdalo, Aug 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rmagdalo

    rmagdalo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Hi guys,

    I'm a newbie here.. so please be gentle :)

    I've created images of 3 servers and found that the image size vary.

    I've used a normal compression to backup the servers. I choose normal options so i did not change any settings.

    Server 1
    Total Actual size - 168GB (C,D,E and F partitions)
    Acronis image size - 50.9GB

    Server 2
    Total Actual Size - 142 GB (C,D,E partitions with dynamic disk)
    Acronis Image Size - 8.9GB (quite scary why the image size is too small)

    Server 3
    Total Actual size - 13 GB (C and D Partitions)
    Acronis image size - 4.9GB

    I've verify the data and the result was ok. How come the size of the image is really small?

    Do i really need to be scared that if i recover the image all are corrupted?

    Please assist.

    Thanks.
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Are the numbers you are quoting the total size of the partitions? For normal images, TI only backs up the "in-use" sectors not the entire partition. If you had a 150GB C partition with 100GB used, a typical size for a normally compressed archive would be roughly 70GB. The actual value depends the types of files contained in the partition. Jpg, zip, mpeg, rar etc don't compress at all whereas some other types may compress a lot.
     
  3. rmagdalo

    rmagdalo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    The size that I quoted are the in-use size already.

    The total disk space are 300GB, 250GB and 60GB respectively.

    They are application servers running cognos and SQL.

    Please advise.

    Thanks.
     
  4. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    If possible, why not repeat the test but boot from the TI Rescue CD and perform the test within the CD.
     
  5. rmagdalo

    rmagdalo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    will try that method and let you know.

    But is it really possible that the image size for a 200GB will reduce to 8GB?

    I've tried twice and with the same results.

    Thanks again.
     
  6. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Which TI product are you running including version number and build number? If it is TI2009 Home it doesn't support dynamic disks. Since you mention servers then I assumed you were running a more sophisticated version of TI.

    I would say that reduction in size is very, very unusual unless you had a lot of files that contained the exact same value over and over and over which would very highly compress.
     
  7. rmagdalo

    rmagdalo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Acronis®*True*Image*Echo*Enterprise*Server® with Acronis Universal Restore® (build*8,163)

    That's the version i'm using.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.