Acronis 2009 True Image and External Drives On/Off Alert?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by fcastro, Feb 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fcastro

    fcastro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Hi all,

    I was wondering if True Image 2009 alerts you when it can't detect your external Hard Drive after you make a schedule to backup onto it? The reason I ask is if you have an external drive as a back you probably don't want to have it on all the time.
     
  2. Xygen

    Xygen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Yes it does alert you somehow.
     
  3. Antifreeze

    Antifreeze Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Posts:
    67
  4. fcastro

    fcastro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Antifreeze, Yup I got the same deal yesterday. I setup a schedule to back up onto my external hard drive. To test my theory I shut off the drive and sure enough acronis gave me an IE error saying drive can't be found. So I turned it on and hit retry within Acronis and it continued to say IO Error.

    My drive is brand new completely checked so I know the drive is not the issue. It has something to do with Acronis.

    After rebooting with the drive on Acronis reran the backup since I set it to rerun if it fails and it worked fine.

    So while Acronis does warn you, it fails to function correctly until you reboot. This is confirmed on an XP x86 system and and XP x64 system as well.
     
  5. Antifreeze

    Antifreeze Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Posts:
    67
    Thanks for confirming that.

    JFYI, in one of those threads posted above, another user has said that this I/O error stuff was not the behaviour of his version/build. He stated that ATI quietly saved to a 'default directory' on the main drive if the external was disconnected. However, that's not really the behaviour I'm looking for either!
     
  6. fcastro

    fcastro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Right, common sense we aren't going to have our external hard drives on 24/7. I am little disappointed by this. I am running the latest version of TrueImage btw.

    Also my external is SATA drive don't think I mention that ealier. Is yours the same?
     
  7. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    If the external drive is USB, the drive harware format shouldn't make a difference, as there will be a chip + firmware at the drive end to convert USB bulk communications to the S-ata info required. eS-ata might be different, but I would expect that to only be apparent using th eLinux rescue CD envirnment, as within the MS environment, it'll probably be Microsoft API's that are being used to access drives etc.

    It is possible that my installation is behaving different to yours due to having had two previous versions of TI 2009 installed. In theory this shouldn't make a difference, but in practice.......

    Colin
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image Home 2009!

    Thank you for your input. I've forwarded this issue to our Development Team, so they can test and fix it.

    Thank you,
    Michael Levchenko
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.