Acronis 2009 Killing my home network

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Bill M, Nov 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bill M

    Bill M Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    After installing Acronis 2009 on my main desktop computer, I cannot access any of my shared files using client computers on network to my server computer. I 'm using XP SP2 on all computers. Even on main desktop, when I try to access shared folders, I keep getting access is denied. Once I remove Acronis 2009, I can communicate between all computers on network.

    Please help, Inever had this issue before.

    Bill M o_O
     
  2. VolkerNadolski

    VolkerNadolski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Posts:
    165
    Error Message?? Can you attach a picture please..

    Regards,

    Volker
     
  3. Bill M

    Bill M Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    No, I had to remove Acronis off my computer in order to reconnect to my shared folders. I get the message access is denied.

    Bill M
     
  4. Bill M

    Bill M Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Here is attach Pic
     

    Attached Files:

  5. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
  6. Bill M

    Bill M Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Posts:
    16
  7. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
  8. Bill M

    Bill M Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Well I tried all the above solutions and nothing seems to work other than removing Acronis off my system. Somethings got change because I never had this problem before.


    Bill Mo_O
     
  9. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    If you did the irpstacksize increase, be sure you do it on all machines on the network to be certain it is/isn't the problem.
     
  10. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    And reboot the machines after the changes for them to take effect.
     
  11. Bill M

    Bill M Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Those solutions are not working for me. Is the resgistry tweak for XP pro or XP homeo_O Because the irpstacksize is not inmy resgistry.



    Bill M
     
  12. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
  13. Bill M

    Bill M Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Thanks again. Also I want to add some more info. My drive C and D are sata raid 0 arrays. Those are the drives that I can't access with Acronis installed. My other drives which are single sata drive, I can access over my network. When I had Acronis 11 installed this problem didn't exsist. When I updated to lastest version something happened.

    Bill M
     
  14. Bill M

    Bill M Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Just installed MS registry tweak on all my computers with value of "5". Still no network comm error. Anymore suggestionso_O

    Bill M :cool:
     
  15. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    If its "5" Decimal you need to go much higher. I had to use 21 decimal to get it to work on my machines. MS says the range is 15 to 50 decimal.
     
  16. Bill M

    Bill M Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Well Well Well, I tried 21 decimal and i'm finally able to connect to my network. I'm sooo happy.

    Thaks so much for your help


    Bill M :D
     
  17. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Glad to help. :thumb: BTW this problem is not unique to TI.
     
  18. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    That was a nice job you did fixing Bill's problem.
     
  19. Razzputin

    Razzputin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    55
    well I had ATI 11 on a vista laptop and an XP desktop. after I install 11 or 12 on the desktop I am unable to access my external HD from the Laptop. remove ATI and all is well. I tried the regedit fix and set it to 40 and it still did not work? any other suggestions? I am wearing everything out installing and un-installing .
     
  20. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    You need to change the irpstacksize value on both laptop and desktop.
     
  21. Razzputin

    Razzputin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    55
    Sorry just spotted this reply I will try it out and get back to you.

    the laptop has vista on it and the desktop is xp will there be a difference in the irpstacksize? I did not see vista supported in the link.
     
  22. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Can't answer your Vista question, I don't have it.
     
  23. Razzputin

    Razzputin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    55
    thanks anyhow.:)
     
  24. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    It isn't real clear about Vista but I don't think it would upset it to enter the key and value if it isn't there; if it doesn't want it it probably won't use the registry entry. It often isn't there in XP either. I'd also go with a value near the maximum and do it on all machines on the network with reboots after doing the entry.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.