Access Violation in loading Mozilla Firefox Protection

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by fbord2, Apr 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fbord2

    fbord2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    On one computer, SpywareBlaster works fine. However, on my laptop, the Internet Explorer "Protection Enabled" and Restricted Sites "Protection Enabled" went through in good fashion. However, when I went to Mozilla Firefox -- the last guy of the three -- I received the following error message upon clicking the Cookie Protection check box:

    "Error: Access violation at 0x005F71C (tried to read from 0x064D038C), program terminated."

    I did a clean uninstall of SpywareBlaster, including eliminating it in the windows registry. Then I did a clean re-install after rebooting. No success. The access violation error message still apears when trying to enable the Mozilla Firefox protection. Any ideas?
     
  2. fbord2

    fbord2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    The thread before me is correct!! -- THE LATEST SPYBOT UPDATES DOWNLOAD FOLLOWED BY THE IMMUNIZATION STEP BOMBED OUT MY SPYWAREBLASTER ON THE COMPUTER THAT NEVER HAD ANY TROUBLE!!!
     
  3. dbones369

    dbones369 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Same problem. Recieve "Error: access violation at 0x005F71FC (tried to open- different code each time), program terminated" Can't seem to get protection on Firefox.
     
  4. Tonto

    Tonto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    Very same thing happened to me.I had just did a S+D update went to spywareblaster to update i think it did.Then was making sure all protection was enabled and got to Fireox and got this error Acess violation at 0x00571FC [tried to read from 0x050E0284],Program Terminated OK.Then it shut down.Uninstalled it but could not disable protection before hand.Kept shutting down.

    Got a fresh copy and am getting exactly the same problem and came here.Was surprised to see others same problem but then not surprised what's up anybodyo_O
     
  5. Tonto

    Tonto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Canada

    Exactly
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
  7. Tonto

    Tonto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    Ronjor ya i caught that thanks...by the way nice avatar :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.