About Try&Decide optionin v. 2009

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by naap, Oct 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. naap

    naap Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Posts:
    14
    Hi, i would like to know if TI 2009 inculdes the feature of rebooting during Try&decide. i mean, can i restart the pc keeping t&d activated, and then, if something goes wrong, reverting back? it's useful with antivirus programs and others. I searched in the forum, but found nothing specificallly about it.

    Bye
     
  2. martymonster

    martymonster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    The manual says you can.
    Just yesterday I gave it a try.
    Disabled the defragger
    Turned on Try/Decide
    Used windows update to update stuff
    Windows had to reboot
    Upon starting, Acronis gives you the option to continue Try/Decide or revert
    I said continue
    PC rebooted.
    I said Continue again, did this 4 times
    Then I said revert and the PC booted without the Windows update changes

    So, in this instance, it did not work.
     
  3. Joe60

    Joe60 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    23
    If you had gone in to acronis and then to T&D,and turned T&D off you would have got Two options,to revert or to save changes.if you would have chose to save changes the updates would not have been discarded.So it actually did work.:)
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2008
  4. martymonster

    martymonster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    NO, Read the post correctly.
    When it rebooted, Acronis starts before Windows and gives you the option to either continue rebooting with Try&Decide or to Revert (lose changes and reboot).
    Thus, in this instance, it would NOT allow me to reboot into Try&Decide mode.
    I tried this as the Docs say it will work. Below is from the Docs for V2009

    You can leave the Try&Decide mode turned on as long as you like (may be days on end), since this mode "survives" across reboots of your operating system.
    If you use Windows Vista, please, be aware that in the Try&Decide mode the program may use the free space in Acronis Secure Zone quite intensively even when your computer is idle.
    This is due to Windows Vista's housekeeping activities such as indexing that run in the background.
    When your computer reboots for whatever reason while working in the Try&Decide mode, before booting of the operating system starts you will be shown a dialog offering you two choices – stop the mode and discard changes or continue working in the mode. This will allow discarding the changes that have resulted in a system crash. On the other hand, if you
    reboot, for example, after installing an application, you can continue working in the Try&Decide mode after starting Windows.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.