About to undertake the acid test

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by It'sme, Oct 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. It'sme

    It'sme Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    Middle Earth, NZ
    I have reverted to my previous TI7 b638 version after experiencing the 'E00070020 the archive is corrupt' error like many others with TI9. Figure I'll sit and wait until those issues are sorted out.

    TI7 has never let me down when I needed it.

    Having re-installed TI7 I thought I'd take the opportunity to experiment with something I'd always wanted to do but been too afraid - that is reformat my hard drive and restore the full drive image to it stored on my second drive.

    I believe this should work but thought I'd check with others for advice / re-assurance before I start.

    (don't worry, I won't hold anybody to it if it fails ;)

    Thanks for any advice
     
  2. Felica R

    Felica R Guest

    This is your post from 9-29-2004. You have done this before. Comming back for a stand up? Your post follows: :

    "Sorry for the rant - anyone would think I'm the first one to have done this - but am feeling quite proud of myself (read relieved!) having just cloned my primary master hard-drive, successfully booted up with it and everything's there and functioning as though nothing's changed.

    I know this is the way it should be but there's always a niggle in the back of your mind that something could go wrong - right?

    Thought I'd share the experience for those interested, so here's a brief summary of what I did:

    My system is running XP Pro and I'm using Acronis TI7 b634. My primary master harddrive was 120GB 2 partition (too big for me) which I wanted to down-size to an 80GB 2 partitions one.

    ......."
     
  3. noonie

    noonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    Isn't the internet a wonderfully anonymous place.
    It makes you wonder how some people fulfilled their dreams before.
     
  4. It'sme

    It'sme Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    Middle Earth, NZ
    What a funny lot.. this was a genuine request for advice and a bit of moral support. It's not every day you consciously re-format your hard-drive.

    There's obviously a lot of odd people frequenting this forum who have nothing better to do than add flippant remarks to members posts.

    Perhaps I'll wait for the grown-ups to come on-line.

    Hey thanks getalife and noonie - nice to know there's some sanity out there.
     
  5. fastjeff

    fastjeff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    I tried the same thing with TI8, which had worked flawlessly for me before TI9. Now it is giving me the same corrupt archive errors that TI9 gives. I don't know why, and Acronis support is trying to help me figure it out. But in all seriousness, you might consider the suggestion of a second backup, just in case. Or at least use your existing TI7 rescue disc ( if you still have one) to test before you wipe your drive.
     
  6. It'sme

    It'sme Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    Middle Earth, NZ
    I had a fairly recent full drive Image that I had taken under TI7 (before TI9 even touched my system). I was able to restore that image successfully overtop of my current drive and all is ok. Pleased about that.
    btw. I always restore by booting to the recovery media boot disk.

    I know it's probably the same thing but I would still like to format my drive and test out the restore process but can't figure a way to format it when it's up and in use o_O Maybe there is some way I can cripple it - haven't figured that out yet.

    All this for the sake of knowing the product is gonna work when I really need it. There's a lot of people come unstuck lately because they cannot restore from their images.

    Thanks and good luck with resoving your issue fastjeff.
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi It'sme,

    You probably know that it's not necessary to format the destination drive, be it the original or a replacement, prior to restoring an image. You will also probably know that the image must have been created of the whole drive (tick checkbox next to the drive number) in order to include the MBR in the image, thereby ensuring the restored drive is bootable.

    However, if you still wish to satisfy some inner need :))) to format the destination drive prior to restoring then I would proceed along the following lines:

    - Boot from the TI rescue CD, create an image of your whole system drive to a separate drive and then verify the image via the TI's Check Image Wizard.
    - Use your Windows XP installation CD (remembering to load any necessary drivers for your hard disk controller(s) by pressing "F6" when prompted) to boot into the Windows Recovery Console (press "R" when prompted).
    - Once in the Recovery Console (just hit "Enter" when asked for a password), issue the command format C: /fs:ntfs (assuming you're using the NTFS file system) to format your C: drive.
    - Load the TI boot rescue CD, reboot your computer and restore the complete image back to the C: drive.

    Regards
     
  8. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Several off-topic posts have been removed. Let's try to keep things on the original poster's topic.
     
  9. It'sme

    It'sme Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    Middle Earth, NZ
    Excellent Menorcaman!

    I knew that was the case for cloning but never really thought about how it applied for full disk image - but of course you're right.

    Yep, I'm ok with that one.

    What you say makes total sense, so I no longer have the need to satisfy that inner need :D I would indeed effectively be doing the same thing as formatting my drive before a restore.

    I will store that clever method of yours for formatting my drive away in my files just incase the urge ever returns. ;)

    Kind regards.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.