Aaaaaggghh! Email error codes??

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Cochise, May 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    I can't send or receive mail?.....Error codes...0x800ccc0e....0x800ccc0D...I've been thro' all the reconfiguration routines for my dialup and even gone thro' the Re-registering process...but all I get after clicking on my dialup is 'Connecting' but it doesn't!!....as you can see it gets me on the Net but nowhere with my mail in Outlook express. :'(

    Any clues my dear friends would be appreciated....I'm on Win 98se... :D

    TIA, Cochise, :cool:
     
  2. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  3. FluxGFX

    FluxGFX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Posts:
    667
    Location:
    Ottawa/Canada
  4. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    hi gerardwil,

    Sorry mate don't quite see where Tiscali comes into this? My ISP is Tesco.net...and my SMPTs ingoing and outgoing are 'mail.tesco.net'...so being a bit on the slow side I find it a bit confusing.

    Thanks also Flug mate but I didn't think I would have to change things to MSN etc.,??. Unless I'm missing something which is quite possible..

    Cochise, :cool:
     
  5. SnowGuy

    SnowGuy Guest

    Have you tryed:

    <pop.tesco.net>


    <smtp.tesco.com>
     
  6. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,877
    Location:
    New England
    Hey Cochise,

    Those various links are simply representative examples of that error code and basically are meant to give suggestions as to what may apply in your case.

    Can you post the full text of the error conditions you are seeing, not just the error code? Often there is some sort of explanation available within the context of the error. The two codes noted often mean there are problems at the server more than a problem with your client. How long have these errors been occurring?
     
  7. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thats how social engineering works
     
  8. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Please accept my apologies gentlemen....I wasn't being ungrateful, honest...I should have added that you are trying to help someone who has never quite known what he's doing.... :D

    Just to show you what your up against...I have managed to copy the errors to my Clipboard viewer....so could you tell me how to put them up so that you all can see them please...

    Regards, Cochise, :cool:
     
  9. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Oh! God! It really is awful getting old...the brain turns to mush and the smallest thing becomes a big deal....Just for something to do in one of my more adventurous moods I dumped Agnitum Outposty Firewall and then undumped it....after making sure everything I needed to get on the Web had been informed to outpost....who forgot to check if OE and his ISP was being allowed by my best friend Outpost?? ME!.

    SORRY.....I'm all better now...I Really should get out more

    Cochise, :cool:
     
  10. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Yeah I have found out the little things that pop up when age sneaks up on us and our grey matter starts to calcify. Great fun isnt it. ;)
     
  11. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    :D :D :D Yeah!...I wouldn't have missed it for the World...aren't we just the lucky ones.....The beauty of losing your marbles is the fact that you don't know anything about it....Oh! What fun we're having.

    Tell you what tho' it's amazing how many Error messages you get just trying to access something the old Firewall doesn't approve of.....trouble with that is if you decide to check 'em out on Google you can be taken on an absolutely fantastic flight of fancy.....that give you hours of fun...NOT!

    regards to all, Cochise, :cool:
     
  12. ed calabro

    ed calabro Guest

    I have been experiencing the same problem. Do you have any recommendations for a fix?

    bulledjerent@comcast.net
     
  13. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Hi Ed,

    I'm assuming you read the whole Thread....in which case either don't grow old and lose the ability to think... :D :D .....OR, make sure your Firewall and your Antivirus have been fully briefed and kept upto date as to which thoughtless disaster you may be about to spring on them.. :D :D :D

    Good Luck either way.... ;)

    Best Regards, Cochise, :cool:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.