A what works best for you thread...

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by dan_maran, Mar 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    I decided to start this due to the fact people always ask what is the best AV, and the answer is what works best for you. So I figured why not start a thread with what you use, what platform, and what the hardware specs are. That way when someone wants to know what AV will work with a win98 pII550 with 32mb of ram they might be able to get a good list to start with, without having to ask the same questions over and over.
    **If this has been done before I apologize, I didnt see it, remove if necessary**

    Code:
    [CENTER]All systems running XP Pro SP2[/CENTER] 
    [B][U]System's[/U][/B]                             [U][B]AV's[/B][/U]
    1. Presario v2010 1.4GHZ Cel 512MB  -- KasperskyPersonal 5 & BD 7.2 free
    2. AMD AthlonXP 2000+ 512MB         -- GData AVK 2005 (dual engine)
    3. Presario 2195US AMD2500m 512MB   -- McAfee 8.0i patch 10 & BD 7.2 free
    4. Optiplex P3 800E 128MB SDRAM     -- McAfee 8.0i patch 10 & BD 7.2 free
    
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2005
  2. stefan_c38

    stefan_c38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Posts:
    18
    AMD AthlonXP 1800+;256Mb - Kaspersky Personal 5.0.227+Kerio 2.1.5
     
  3. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Dual P-III, 1GB RAM, Avast, Dual K-8, 1GB Ram also Avast but this time the 64bit version.
     
  4. chia

    chia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Posts:
    89
    AMD AthlonXP 3000+, 1GB RAM, WinXP SP1 -> GData AVK 2005
     
  5. WYBaugh

    WYBaugh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Florida
    AMD AthlonXP 3000+, 1GB RAM, WinXP SP2 with NOD32
     
  6. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    For now I have NOD32, TrojanHunter, and looknstop running on both machines.

    Notebook:
    Fujitsu Lifebook S6210 Series
    1.6 Intel Centrino
    Integrated Intel PRO/wireless 2200BG
    Intel EXTREME graphics chip
    13.3" Crystal View XGA TFT LCD
    512 MB generic
    SigmaTel ST9751T Codec, 6 channels sound support
    40 GB Harddrive
    4 lbs

    Handrolled:
    Intel P4 2.6
    Lian Li pc60 case
    Kingston HyperX PC4000 (1gig) @ 2-6-3-3
    2x Western Digital 80g HD (RAID 0)
    Ati X800Pro
    Enermax 400W PSU
    Abit IC7-G Motherboard
    Creative Audigy2 zs
    NEC 17inch LCD
    Logitech MX510 mouse
    Belkin Wirelless G card
    WINXP Pro SP TWO
     
  7. m.oreilly

    m.oreilly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Posts:
    30
    amd64 3500+ 90nm
    windows xp pro x64
    dfi nf4 ultra
    x850xt pe vivo
    gig ocz plat. rev. 2
    4x raptors raid0
    pc power and cooling 510 express
    lian-li v1000
    WAITING FOR NOD64!!!
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2005
  8. shek

    shek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    342
    Location:
    SE CHINA/NYC USA
    Destop---winxp pro sp2, celeron 700, 256MB RAM
    Laptop---win2000 pro sp4 P3-650 256MB RAM
    AntiVir Personal Edition + EScan toolkit Utility
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2005
  9. CyberMew

    CyberMew Guest

    Zonealarm Security Suite + NOD32 works well on my winxp pro SP2 computer
    all drivers updated

    people say NOD32+Kaspersky works fine but I havent tried it
    I tried NOD32+Kaspersky+ZASS=hangs at startup. maybe it is due to kaspersky+ZASS not being compatible. anyone have a simliar setup?
     
  10. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    i use NOD32 + Avast + Outpost on both my WinXP Pro SP2 computers. 1) Athlon XP 2000, 512MB ram 2) Athlon 64 3200, 512mb ram.
     
  11. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Guest

    Avast home edition, Sygate, AMD 2400, 512 MB, XP SP2
     
  12. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    I use NOD32 on a custom built machine running WIn2k. It has an AMD 3200+ and 1028 MB of PC3200 RAM and a 40 gig 7200 rpm Hitachi which has nothing but the OS installed on it. It has 2 120 gig WD 7200 RPM drives as well - one for applications and one for data storage. Nod has never had any problem whatsoever on this machine but has only been run on it for 2-3 years. The first year or so that I used NOD32 the RAM was 1028 MB of PC2100 and the CPU was an ADM 2000+ - the 2 120 gig drivers were also the only drives installed and were striped.
     
  13. Chris12923

    Chris12923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    MSI K8T Neo-Fis2r
    AMD Athlon 64 3000+
    256 Megs Memory
    2 WD 120 Gig. RAID 0

    I switch between NOD32 and ArcaVir_2005 anti-vir and Trojan Hunter 4 and Ewido anti-trojan.

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
  14. Howard

    Howard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    313
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Pentium 4 2.66 GHz 1.5 GB RAM I switch between NOD32, VirusScan 8 and GDATA AVK 2005

    Leaning toward AVK at present as it scans IMAP email and much of my mail is via IMAP and I like the feeling of security this gives me.
     
  15. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    AMD Athlon64 3000+, 1GB DDR400 RAM, dual OS - ArcaVir 2005+McAfee Internet Security 2005

    I'd say that ArcaVir works best on my rig :)
     
  16. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Damn me jalous at your system :p ;)
     
  17. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Epox EP-8RDA+ (nForce 2 SSP/400)
    AMD Athlon XP 2200+ (Thoroughbred-A)
    Samsung DDR3200 256MB
    Infineon DDR3200 256MB
    Hitachi Deskstar 7K250 (160GB)
    IBM Deskstar 120GXP (40GB)
    Gigabyte ATi Radeon 9800 Pro (128MB)

    Running both Windows XP Professional SP2 US and Debian GNU/Linux
    F-Secure Anti-Virus Client Security v5.55.11080 remains the king here, avast! is on-demand scanner :)
     
  18. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Oh yeah...Here's the full config:

    AMD Athlon64 3000+
    1GB DDR400 (Kingmax 'Hard-core')
    Asus K8V-X Motherboard
    Maxtor 6Y120P0+Samsung SP4002H
    Asus V9950 GeForce FX 5900 128MB
    SoundMAX AD1980+5.1 speakers

    So how do you feel now?

    :p:)
     
  19. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Well, you can't beat my graphics card yet :p :D
     
  20. viking313

    viking313 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    USA, Pennsylvania
    MSI KT7 AMD 2200+ 768 PC3200 ATI Radeon 9800 Pro w/ 2 WD80 gig Memorex 52x CDR-CDW Win XP Home SP2.Trend Micro 2005,BOClean and Spywareblaster
     
  21. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Intel Centrino Mobile 1.7GHz, Cache L2 1MB, DDR 166MHz 512MB, Hard Disk 60GB on WinXP SP2 Pro

    On-Access: ProcessGuard | Outpost Firewall Pro | NOD32 | WinPatrol | Ad Muncher
    (sometimes I use avast! Home Edition on-access to test it...)

    Others: avast! Home Edition | ewido security suite plus | a² Personal | Spybot - Search & Destroy | Ad-Aware SE | Hosts File Manager | IE-SPYAD | SpywareBlaster | Safe XP | xp-AntiSpy
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2005
  22. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    Amd Athlon XP 1800+ 512 Mb Ram
    Windows XP Pro + Sp2
    Behind Draytek Vigor 2200 E Router

    Dr. Web AV
    For me best combination so far.....I've tried the lot, but Dr.Web is the one for me!

    - Spywareguard
    - Spywareblaster
    - Ad-aware SE Personal
    - Spybot Search & Destroy

    ;)
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2005
  23. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Well, sometimes I can and sometimes I cant (Doom 3 and Half-Life 2 are classic examples) :'(
     
  24. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    would a GeForce 6600GT PCI-E beat it? cuz thats wut i have on my Athlon 64 rig
     
  25. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    No, most of the time the 6600GT is on par with it and sometimes it beats it thouroughly :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.