A what works best for you thread...

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by dan_maran, Mar 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    I decided to start this due to the fact people always ask what is the best AV, and the answer is what works best for you. So I figured why not start a thread with what you use, what platform, and what the hardware specs are. That way when someone wants to know what AV will work with a win98 pII550 with 32mb of ram they might be able to get a good list to start with, without having to ask the same questions over and over.
    **If this has been done before I apologize, I didnt see it, remove if necessary**

    Code:
    [CENTER]All systems running XP Pro SP2[/CENTER] 
    [B][U]System's[/U][/B]                             [U][B]AV's[/B][/U]
    1. Presario v2010 1.4GHZ Cel 512MB  -- KasperskyPersonal 5 & BD 7.2 free
    2. AMD AthlonXP 2000+ 512MB         -- GData AVK 2005 (dual engine)
    3. Presario 2195US AMD2500m 512MB   -- McAfee 8.0i patch 10 & BD 7.2 free
    4. Optiplex P3 800E 128MB SDRAM     -- McAfee 8.0i patch 10 & BD 7.2 free
    
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2005
  2. stefan_c38

    stefan_c38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Posts:
    18
    AMD AthlonXP 1800+;256Mb - Kaspersky Personal 5.0.227+Kerio 2.1.5
     
  3. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Dual P-III, 1GB RAM, Avast, Dual K-8, 1GB Ram also Avast but this time the 64bit version.
     
  4. chia

    chia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Posts:
    89
    AMD AthlonXP 3000+, 1GB RAM, WinXP SP1 -> GData AVK 2005
     
  5. WYBaugh

    WYBaugh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Florida
    AMD AthlonXP 3000+, 1GB RAM, WinXP SP2 with NOD32
     
  6. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,528
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    For now I have NOD32, TrojanHunter, and looknstop running on both machines.

    Notebook:
    Fujitsu Lifebook S6210 Series
    1.6 Intel Centrino
    Integrated Intel PRO/wireless 2200BG
    Intel EXTREME graphics chip
    13.3" Crystal View XGA TFT LCD
    512 MB generic
    SigmaTel ST9751T Codec, 6 channels sound support
    40 GB Harddrive
    4 lbs

    Handrolled:
    Intel P4 2.6
    Lian Li pc60 case
    Kingston HyperX PC4000 (1gig) @ 2-6-3-3
    2x Western Digital 80g HD (RAID 0)
    Ati X800Pro
    Enermax 400W PSU
    Abit IC7-G Motherboard
    Creative Audigy2 zs
    NEC 17inch LCD
    Logitech MX510 mouse
    Belkin Wirelless G card
    WINXP Pro SP TWO
     
  7. m.oreilly

    m.oreilly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Posts:
    30
    amd64 3500+ 90nm
    windows xp pro x64
    dfi nf4 ultra
    x850xt pe vivo
    gig ocz plat. rev. 2
    4x raptors raid0
    pc power and cooling 510 express
    lian-li v1000
    WAITING FOR NOD64!!!
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2005
  8. shek

    shek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    342
    Location:
    SE CHINA/NYC USA
    Destop---winxp pro sp2, celeron 700, 256MB RAM
    Laptop---win2000 pro sp4 P3-650 256MB RAM
    AntiVir Personal Edition + EScan toolkit Utility
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2005
  9. CyberMew

    CyberMew Guest

    Zonealarm Security Suite + NOD32 works well on my winxp pro SP2 computer
    all drivers updated

    people say NOD32+Kaspersky works fine but I havent tried it
    I tried NOD32+Kaspersky+ZASS=hangs at startup. maybe it is due to kaspersky+ZASS not being compatible. anyone have a simliar setup?
     
  10. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    i use NOD32 + Avast + Outpost on both my WinXP Pro SP2 computers. 1) Athlon XP 2000, 512MB ram 2) Athlon 64 3200, 512mb ram.
     
  11. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Guest

    Avast home edition, Sygate, AMD 2400, 512 MB, XP SP2
     
  12. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    I use NOD32 on a custom built machine running WIn2k. It has an AMD 3200+ and 1028 MB of PC3200 RAM and a 40 gig 7200 rpm Hitachi which has nothing but the OS installed on it. It has 2 120 gig WD 7200 RPM drives as well - one for applications and one for data storage. Nod has never had any problem whatsoever on this machine but has only been run on it for 2-3 years. The first year or so that I used NOD32 the RAM was 1028 MB of PC2100 and the CPU was an ADM 2000+ - the 2 120 gig drivers were also the only drives installed and were striped.
     
  13. Chris12923

    Chris12923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    MSI K8T Neo-Fis2r
    AMD Athlon 64 3000+
    256 Megs Memory
    2 WD 120 Gig. RAID 0

    I switch between NOD32 and ArcaVir_2005 anti-vir and Trojan Hunter 4 and Ewido anti-trojan.

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
  14. Howard

    Howard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    313
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Pentium 4 2.66 GHz 1.5 GB RAM I switch between NOD32, VirusScan 8 and GDATA AVK 2005

    Leaning toward AVK at present as it scans IMAP email and much of my mail is via IMAP and I like the feeling of security this gives me.
     
  15. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,086
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    AMD Athlon64 3000+, 1GB DDR400 RAM, dual OS - ArcaVir 2005+McAfee Internet Security 2005

    I'd say that ArcaVir works best on my rig :)
     
  16. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Damn me jalous at your system :p ;)
     
  17. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Epox EP-8RDA+ (nForce 2 SSP/400)
    AMD Athlon XP 2200+ (Thoroughbred-A)
    Samsung DDR3200 256MB
    Infineon DDR3200 256MB
    Hitachi Deskstar 7K250 (160GB)
    IBM Deskstar 120GXP (40GB)
    Gigabyte ATi Radeon 9800 Pro (128MB)

    Running both Windows XP Professional SP2 US and Debian GNU/Linux
    F-Secure Anti-Virus Client Security v5.55.11080 remains the king here, avast! is on-demand scanner :)
     
  18. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,086
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Oh yeah...Here's the full config:

    AMD Athlon64 3000+
    1GB DDR400 (Kingmax 'Hard-core')
    Asus K8V-X Motherboard
    Maxtor 6Y120P0+Samsung SP4002H
    Asus V9950 GeForce FX 5900 128MB
    SoundMAX AD1980+5.1 speakers

    So how do you feel now?

    :p:)
     
  19. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Well, you can't beat my graphics card yet :p :D
     
  20. viking313

    viking313 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    USA, Pennsylvania
    MSI KT7 AMD 2200+ 768 PC3200 ATI Radeon 9800 Pro w/ 2 WD80 gig Memorex 52x CDR-CDW Win XP Home SP2.Trend Micro 2005,BOClean and Spywareblaster
     
  21. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,533
    Intel Centrino Mobile 1.7GHz, Cache L2 1MB, DDR 166MHz 512MB, Hard Disk 60GB on WinXP SP2 Pro

    On-Access: ProcessGuard | Outpost Firewall Pro | NOD32 | WinPatrol | Ad Muncher
    (sometimes I use avast! Home Edition on-access to test it...)

    Others: avast! Home Edition | ewido security suite plus | a² Personal | Spybot - Search & Destroy | Ad-Aware SE | Hosts File Manager | IE-SPYAD | SpywareBlaster | Safe XP | xp-AntiSpy
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2005
  22. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    Amd Athlon XP 1800+ 512 Mb Ram
    Windows XP Pro + Sp2
    Behind Draytek Vigor 2200 E Router

    Dr. Web AV
    For me best combination so far.....I've tried the lot, but Dr.Web is the one for me!

    - Spywareguard
    - Spywareblaster
    - Ad-aware SE Personal
    - Spybot Search & Destroy

    ;)
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2005
  23. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,086
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Well, sometimes I can and sometimes I cant (Doom 3 and Half-Life 2 are classic examples) :'(
     
  24. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    would a GeForce 6600GT PCI-E beat it? cuz thats wut i have on my Athlon 64 rig
     
  25. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,086
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    No, most of the time the 6600GT is on par with it and sometimes it beats it thouroughly :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.