A vLite Question

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by sosaiso, Aug 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    When I bought my new laptop, there was no Vista CD, but there was a recovery cd. I believe I also have the Windows Anytime Upgrade inherent on my harddrive.

    I was wondering what the process would be to create a Vista DVD, without all of my manufacturer's "add-ons". I also would like to have this DVD just in case my harddrive were to fail or if I were to do a complete format. Would this be possible with vLite?
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hello sosaiso,
    it should be possible with vlite
    just start vlite and follow the instuctions.
    you probaly want to intergrate service pack 1
    im sure you want an unattended installation, you can set the users,input regional settings,computer name,network settings etc.
    i used vlite about a week ago to make a intergrate service pack 1 and unattended installation.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2008
  3. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    Hello lodore,

    I don't think I would want to do anything too fancy like the unintended installation you speak of, but I would like to have a copy of Vista (with SP1 I suppose) that would allow me to completely reformat and reinstall the OS.

    I guess I will try the vLite application later today.

    One other question, once I make the DVD, do I ever need to install vLite again if I do not want to slipstream any new programs onto the DVD?
     
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hello,
    if you do not want to slipstream vista again you do not need to reinstall vlite.
    make sure you download v1.1.6 Final
    btw the unattended install is very easy. btw if you tick the box start now at the end of the install it may say cannot lanch due to needing admin rights, ignore that click ok and lanch it from program files.
    stick in your vista dvd
    it will ask you where the sourse is. wait until the dvd drive is ready, cancel the autorun. click on browse and click on your dvd drive.
    it will then ask you where you want to store the files. i sergest creating a folder on C: and calling it vlite.
    it will then copy the files to that folder. at this point i surgest you make a cup of tea or something since it can take awhile.
    once its done select the version of vista and click on next.
    on the main window on the right there should be a section called intergrate.
    click on service pack. the red circle on the left should change to green.
    next to create at the bottom click on bootable iso. red circle on left should turn to green.
    download service pack one from here
    press next.
    you should now be on the service pack wizard. click on the select button. locate the service pack hilight it and click on open.
    click on next. it will now start intergrating it.
    once done click next.
    on the next window you should insert a blank dvd and burn it to disc.
    you will now have a bootable windows dvd with service pack 1.

    you can run the wizard again and intergrate hotfixes,drivers and create unatended installations.

    unatended installations are very easy with vlite. its just a wizard with around 10 different tabs. you can input product key,regional settings and keyboard settings so once the installation starts you can walk away and when you come back it will be at the login screen ready to use.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2008
  5. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    Hi lodore,

    Thank you for all the details. I will definitely look into this later today.

    May I ask, did you do this with a Retail or OEM version of Vista? Would that matter at all?
     
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hey,
    i used an oem vista dvd.
    it shouldnt matter.
     
  7. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    So I've finally dug around my laptop and all of the software that it's come with. Unfortunately, I only have recovery CDs and really no way I can think of to create a Vista DVD.

    I guess my only option is to put this project on hold and my reformat on hold until I can find a legal way to obtain a "Windows Anytime Upgrade" DVD or something of that nature. I've looked everywhere in C:/Windows to no avail. of finding a WAU folder.

    Thanks for the help again lodore.
     
  8. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hello,
    what make and model is your laptop?
    does it have a recovery partition?
    sometimes for a small fee the manafacurer of the laptop will send you a windows dvd.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2008
  9. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    Hi lodore,

    My computer is a Toshiba Satellite A215. It has a recovery partition, but it is the exact same as the recovery DVDs that do not allow me to create any OEM DVD with vLite. ):

    I am not sure about the Toshiba, but I will see if they offer anything like that. It's painful working with the 70+ processes that Toshiba has graciously installed on my computer.
     
  10. clansman77

    clansman77 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    kochi,kerala,india
    hi sosaiso,
    checkout this link.i think this may help you.it also discuss about creating a vista dvd.;)
     
  11. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    Hi clansman77,

    Thanks for the informative link. I see that I still have no way of creating a clean Vista DVD with Toshiba's Recovery DVDs or anywhere to buy a Anytime Upgrade Disc or a Vista DVD. (I am not looking for a full license but just a disc I can do a reinstall with my OEM key.) But very informative step by step guide. Thanks!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.