A-squared

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by SG1, Jul 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SG1

    SG1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Posts:
    430
    I have full, pd. ver. of this program. I've updated the program, but have not run scans with it for a few weeks, as it seemed to always bring down the house every time, during a scan. I have run a scan with usual tray full of security apps running in bkgrd., and I have scanned with virtually everything off/killed... same results, either way. A sudden reboot.

    Is it "safe to go back in the water," with this app, OR is it maybe just something particular to our PC, that may cause an A-squared rude reboot (as I call it) during scans?

    Thanks, for info, SG1 (Pat)
     
  2. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Which version were you or are you running, the older version 1.6 or the newest version 2.0? I have the new version running on my work laptop and while it is a little heavy it is running fine. Once the debugging code is taken out in the next few weeks they say memory use will improve quite a bit. Scans seem a bit slow but not as bad as on the older version. If you were having problems did you take it up in their forums?...o_O :)
     
  3. Andreas Haak

    Andreas Haak Software Specialist

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Posts:
    86
    What Windows version do you use? This behaviour is often caused by an active anti-virus monitor under Windows 9x/ME systems. Deactivating the anti-virus monitor solves the problem (and highly improves the scan time).
     
  4. SG1

    SG1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Posts:
    430
    Andreas;

    Most kind of you to do a "drive-by" reply, thanks. ;-)

    I run XP PRO, SP2, all current patches up to date, (Athlon 1.8GHz chip and 1 GB system RAM).

    When I tried scanning, with all app/processes killed as much as possible I think NOD32 kernel still runs: so, guess I'd have to try a really clean boot, all security apps off & then try an A-Squared scan again & see how that goes.

    Thanks, SG1 (Pat)
     
  5. Andreas Haak

    Andreas Haak Software Specialist

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Posts:
    86
    In normal cases a blue screen or a reset/reboot can't be caused by user mode applications under Windows NT based systems. In allmost all cases a driver causes the problem. Can you take a look inside your minidump folder if any minidumps were created? Minidumps are located within c:\windows\minidump if you haven't changed the paths :).
     
  6. SG1

    SG1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Posts:
    430
    Andreas;

    When I have time, I'll fire up with as clean a boot as I can, start scanner and see what happens and then check minidump DIR if anything ill happens again as it almost always has thus far. {But, again, I've not tried a scan for a week or so, as there was always a sudden reboot when running A-squared scanner}.

    And then too, none of this means your program is cause of crash, as I've had my share of oddities occur on this PC, so... hard to say

    Btw, judging from updates screen, you're either rewriting program every other day or we're getting same download/s of components. (?)

    Regards, and thanks for help/info, SG1 (Pat)
     
  7. Andreas Haak

    Andreas Haak Software Specialist

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Posts:
    86
    Well, we are still working on a-squared version 2 so its normal that you get new builds of most a-squared components nearly every day. As far as I know there are only 2 or 3 known bugs left so the daily program updates will stop soon and we can continue to finish a-squared free version 2 that might be released as beta within the next days.
     
  8. SG1

    SG1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Posts:
    430
    Andreas;

    Got (88k) minidump saved from crash the other day, while running scanner; where shall I send it?

    Dunno' if this is a "fair" picture of what happened, tho', as I have been using Startup Guru (a startup controller) and while all apps were "off" as far as not being in SysTray it seems all the security apps still had attendant processes running, however, & I think you said one should shut off the AV/other programs, etc., while scanning?

    Thanks, SG1 (Pat)
     
  9. Andreas Haak

    Andreas Haak Software Specialist

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Posts:
    86
  10. Andreas Haak

    Andreas Haak Software Specialist

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Posts:
    86
    Ok, I got your memory dump. The bug you experienced can be caused by bugged software or damaged hardware. Its easier to find the defect hardware so it would be great if you could test your hard disk and your RAM for errors.

    To test your hard disk open a console (Start, Run, cmd, Ok) and run the command "chkdsk c: /R". Replace c: with the drive you scanned.

    Unfortunatly there is no easy way to test your RAM modules. One of the easier ways is to use MemTest+. You will need a blank CD and a CD burner. Download the CD image of MemTest+ here:

    http://www.memtest.org/download/1.65/memtest86 -1.65.iso.zip

    Unpack the file and burn the ISO file using your burning software. In normal cases you will find an option like "Burn image to disk" or something like that. Do NOT burn the file to the CD. Burning the file to a CD won't work. After you created your MemTest CD boot from it. To boot from your CD you might have to adjust your BIOS settings. If you don't know how to boot from a CD take a look into your mainboard manual.

    Looking forward to your feedback :).
     
  11. SG1

    SG1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Posts:
    430
    Andreas;

    Well, well... thanks for help/quick reply/info, and I guess that will give me a bit to do/chew on. Will check on this, and let you know what's up.

    Many thanks, again. SG1 (Pat)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.