A-Squared, updates (?)

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by SG1, Dec 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SG1

    SG1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Posts:
    430
    Could be just our PC, but has anyone else had/noticed really absurd, long periods of time, for an update to be downloaded to the system?

    Do I have some setting wrong, perhaps, in the app?

    Thanks, for ideas/opinions, on this.
     
  2. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Yes very slow on the latest update,its a very big update,apparently there are new versions of a-squared Anti-Malware and a-squared Free 3.1,and the servers are stretched.
     
  3. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    You are right, as if this wasn't enough, they uploaded incorrect files for a-squared Anti-Malware to their servers :blink:

    They didn' t recognize it for about seven hours o_O

    The files are correct now, but the servers are still slow.

    Cheers
     
  4. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Ironically, I've found the large updates and program updates have a much higher download speed than the incremental def updates. But they are generally a fair bit slower to download than other applications.
    Think it also depends on where in the world you are.
     
  5. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    A² is located in Austria, I think the update servers are in Germany.
    So for you, Tarq57, it's just round the corner :D

    Cheers
     
  6. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    The updates for me were around 18-19 megs. It took a long time on DSL. Not sure what would be done in such a large "update."

    Jerry
     
  7. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Hmmm. Germany, yeah, um, it's quicker to go direct but it gets a bit hot in the middle. :cool:
     
  8. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    OT, this new version is supposed to use 50% less RAM. Can anyone confirm this? I have the full version, but don't use it all the time.

    innerpeace
     
  9. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    Well, not really for me.
    a-squared Anti-Malware 3.1, full version
    Process_______Working Set___Private Bytes___Virtual Size
    a2guard.exe____8.540 K______10.544 K_______65.960 K
    a2service.exe__42.972 K______47.252 K_______87.348 K

    Christian Mairoll, CEO Emsi, told me in the german section of the support forum:
    "41 MB sind für den Dienst völlig normal."
    Which means: "41 MB are completely normal for the service"
    This was related to the RAM consumption of a2service.exe o_O

    Some call it normal, others an resource hog...

    Cheers
     
  10. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    Thanks subset, Maybe the info I read on another forum was wrong. I wasn't able to find the 50% mentioned anywhere on the Emsisoft site. I was sorta hoping they would trim it down some like they did earlier this year.

    innerpeace
     
  11. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    I got the large update too.Took a while with DSL,but an improvement over dialup!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.