A-squared Anti-Malware for Free!

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Someone, Jul 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Hi Chris, I've given up on checking for conflicts really. The only apps that have ever gotten along with absolutely no conflict have been Returnil, SandBoxie, and Threatfire. Anything else added to those 3 end up causing me a bunch of issues (as far as real-time goes), especially anything HIPS. The only reason Threatfire problems haven't been a real issue this go 'round with it is because this time it's keeping it's mouth shut since I ran all my updaters for my on-demand stuff and my AV when I first stuck Threatfire back on.
     
  2. joffy

    joffy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Posts:
    85
    Re-downloaded and installed again, still same as before...
     

    Attached Files:

  3. ChrisP

    ChrisP Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Posts:
    447
    Location:
    UK
    Spooky - I dont understand why you are missing tabs. I had installed a2 a couple of months back and run it for a month but did not buy it when the trial was up - possibly thats why my one has extra tabs.

    I will ask in the a2 support forums for you. This seems most odd
     
  4. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Hey, I justed noticed that the tabs your missing are alerts and malware-IDS which are the in between tabs.That is very strange indeed.
     
  5. joffy

    joffy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Posts:
    85
    Thanks, be interesting to find out why :)
     
  6. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,316
    Location:
    Earth
    I dont think unticking the 2 boxes lessons the defence, perhaps someone can clear it up, think it just stops the pop ups happening all the time. But if that's the case and we end up say getting a trojan how do we know? Without the community alerts does it still alert?
     
  7. kr4ey

    kr4ey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Florida USA

    Yes it will still alert you. There are Malware (AV and Spyware) databases installed on your machine that will pick anything up.


    http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/antimalware/


    There is also a malware database in the knowledgebase section.


    Are you sure you downloaded from the above link, and download everything during installation?
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2008
  8. joffy

    joffy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Posts:
    85
    Yep. o_O
     
  9. ChrisP

    ChrisP Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Posts:
    447
    Location:
    UK
    @ JOFFY

    This is the reply I had on the a2 forum:

    ______________________________________

    If the user installed the latest version most likely the differences could be in permissions.

    Are you both running as Admin or the user running under Limited Account?
    Admin can reduce rights for other user so they cannot change some settings in Guard.
    Can you (rather the user with missing Tabs) check those settings (check-boxes) in Coniguration.
    ______________________________________

    Does this apply?

    Chris
     
  10. ChrisP

    ChrisP Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Posts:
    447
    Location:
    UK
    On another note......

    I have enabled the option to install beta updates on my one and it upgraded to V4 smoothly. V4 has an Ikarus scan engine which works with the a2 engine.

    I did a full scan of my system and it found a whole bunch of nasties that F-Secure and SAS did not find. Some may be FPs so I have submitted them.

    I did a scan at jotti and several AVs picked up the nasties - see below.

    Im have all the files zipped up and happy to share with anyone who wants a look.

    If these are not FPs, then the new a2 is just stunning!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 20, 2008
  11. joffy

    joffy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Posts:
    85
    Many thanks Chris. I looked at the permissions settings in A2 and I only have guest in the user selection and all boxes ticked.

    o_O

    UPDATE: Installed beta updates and now have all the tabs/options!
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2008
  12. emsisoft

    emsisoft Security Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    320
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Regarding missing tabs:

    The a-squared Anti-Malware Scanner and the onExecution guard run on Vista x64, but the Malware-IDS does not work on x64 at all. Therefore all dialogs and tabs for the Malware-IDS are hidden when it is running on x64.

    I'm afraid, version 4.0 will not support x64 too, but we're working on that for the next release.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.