a-squared Anti-Malware 4.0.0.50 Released

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by QBgreen, Oct 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. guest

    guest Guest

    its good combination
     
  2. webster

    webster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    285
    Location:
    Denmark
    Very good app indeed, but they need to get rid of all those fp`s. Uploaded a truckload yesterday :rolleyes:
     
  3. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Took a2's scanner for a spin with malware gleaned from the internet over the last month. I also scanned my user partition for f/ps. With everything on except cookies a2 got 270 out of 278 with 1 f/p - CommView. Some of the samples were not necessary malware but hacktools.

    some of the samples...
     

    Attached Files:

    • def.PNG
      def.PNG
      File size:
      100.7 KB
      Views:
      14
    • ghi.PNG
      ghi.PNG
      File size:
      101.4 KB
      Views:
      8
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2008
  4. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    this one goes direct to emsisoft guy.... why on earth should i create account in order the run this software?? i dont wana give noone i dont know my email:mad:

    very odd and oldfashion approach :thumbd:

    cheers
     
  5. lordpake

    lordpake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    563
    Location:
    Helsinki ~ European Union
    Just a random netizen here. Not really that odd, many vendors do that :)

    Ever heard of creating another email account, say using free webmail? :) Give that when you don't want to give out your real email.

    I have several 'spam'-accounts myself.
     
  6. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    lol , welp i can count on one hand the number of vendor stand this aproach... maybe half hand....:D
    they should gave creating account as an option ..not a term
     
  7. emsisoft

    emsisoft Security Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    320
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
    The licenses are stored on the a-squared server to avoid cracks. That's the simple reason for the account requirement.

    You need the user account to login at the update server. Without a valid license stored on your user account, you can't get updates via the online updater.

    Well, you can create a crack to avoid the unlocking, but then you would not get any updates and that makes the software useless as it requires daily updates for protection.
     
  8. egghead

    egghead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Very nice proggie indeed. Beautiful GUI. :cool:

    Fast correction of false positives :thumb:

    Wunderbar
     
  9. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Jetable.org is your friend.... Cheers.

    http://www.jetable.org/en/index
     
  10. Hiker

    Hiker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Posts:
    268

    Does this mean you don't need a separate AV anymore? If you have a real time AV scanner, will they conflict? I don't see where one can check separately for spyware or virus.
     
  11. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,321
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    I understood that Asquared+ikarus doesn't have on-acces scan to avoid conflicts with AV programs.
    If you scan with Asquared, your AV will also start because Asquared accesses those files so a complete scan of your HD will take some time.
    If you download a trojan in a setup file, Asquared won't react, only on execution of the file.
    An AV like Avira will stop the download if I understand correctly.
    Can anyone confirm that Asquared works this way?
     
  12. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    will A-Squared antimalaware 4.0 free come out soon?
     
  13. emsisoft

    emsisoft Security Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    320
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Yes, confirmed.

    We decided to not implement an OnAccess scan guard. Downloaded Malware can not be dangerous as long as it is not started. E.g. on my machine I have stored many thousands of Malware files, but the system is not 'infected'.

    Once started, the file is scanned and blocked if malicious.

    OnAccess scans usually slow down the system too much. Try to run Sysinternals DiskMon to see that hundreds of files are read/written every second. An unnecessary waste of ressources when they are scanned all the time, even with advanced caching.

    @chaos16: We're already working on a-squared Free 4.0. You can expect a first beta soon.
     
  14. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,321
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    Thanks for your reaction, Christian.
    I'm eager to check out the upcoming free version.
    Cheers
     
  15. rainbow1112

    rainbow1112 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    77
    Add or Remove program still display i have v3.5 install when i have v4 install. Bug?

    untitled.JPG
     
  16. emsisoft

    emsisoft Security Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    320
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Not a bug, just normal Windows behavior. You installed the v3.5 setup (that creates the entry in Add/Remove programs, but updated to v4.0 via the built-in online update of a-squared. Windows does not refresh the version number.

    If you uninstall and download the latest 4.0 setup, you'll see v4.0 there.
     
  17. rainbow1112

    rainbow1112 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    77
    ok thanks
     
  18. Balatsokas

    Balatsokas Former Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Land of NoWhere
    1) The spinning Trojar Horse that explodes into a red exclamation mark (i.e. !)
    during the 1st Malware Detection is for Decorative purposes.
    Elapsed Time and
    a Percentage Progress bar -which exists But Only when you Minimize the Scan Window-
    would be more useful.
    Besides, many AV/AS products show
    the Elapsed Time and
    a Percentage Progress bar.

    2) For a moment I thought that A-Squared 4.0 Free (when it comes)
    would be the only On-Demand scanner needed.
    However, the False Positives have been a major problem.
    Last time, A-Squared 4.0 Paid detected some Microsoft Excel setup files as Viruses!

    That's it! Back to SAS Free, MBAM, and Dr.Web CureIt!
     
  19. Balatsokas

    Balatsokas Former Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Land of NoWhere
    This is what INITIALLY thought...
    BUT Now,
    No more A-Squared 4.0 for me!
    I had enough False Positives for...my entire life...
     
  20. BrendanK.

    BrendanK. Guest

    It's been darn accurate for me so far...
     
  21. Balatsokas

    Balatsokas Former Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Land of NoWhere
    Lucky you...
     
  22. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,201
    Questions:

    How good is this product really ?

    I've tried the a-squared online scan a few times, and it never found anything but tracking cookies. It even said if it found three or more items, one should purchase <whatever, I don't remember>. More than once, it found three 'tracking cookies', although they seemed more like false positives to me.

    What about this Ikarus AV ? I've never heard of it. Is it still maintained ? Good, bad, or in the middle ?
    How intrusive is the behaviour blocker on Windows XP Home Edition IE 7 ?
     
  23. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
  24. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    The main problem I have with this one is that it is a real resource bugger...
     
  25. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,135
    i installed it to try it but it gave a false trojan alarm about a file that i was sure it was safe because it was in my laptop for a long time. i scanned it with various antiviruses and all was clean . It wasted two good hours and i removed it away. No more a sqware
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.